I'm giving out 100 Steem as Tips to struggling users...anyone want to match me?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

First I want to tell you a little story about what happened to me many months ago on Steemit.

Like so many others, I was brand new, figuring things out over time and starting to feel that my content was pretty good. After a couple months of working hard on my posts, I was getting a little rattled by the lackluster response. Just by happenstance, I ended up chatting a little bit with @knozaki2015 who gave me some supportive words, a few suggestions and a five dollar 'tip'. THIS BLEW ME AWAY and was an instant boost.

I received a 5 Steem Dollar tip for what I had already been doing. I was elated for days after this, reinvigorated to continue putting in that time and effort. This is something that has stuck with me during my time here and can't forget. (Thank you again @knozaki2015!)

I found a post later on where I found how this had been a coordinated initiative (I forget the name) to seek out and reward people who were just in my spot....been here for a while, persistent, with lots of effort. Knowing the effect it had on me, imagine that happening to dozens or hundreds other others that were in my same spot.

What I Propose and what I need Help with

  • I want to give out 100-200 Steem (or SD's) starting tomorrow, over the week (ends following Sunday.)

  • Each person giving prizes is allocated five 5-Steem tips. We reach more categories with more independent searches than just my own. I plan on 4-8 (often smaller, maybe struggling users) helpers to give these out.

  • I'm donating 100 Steem(or SD's) to get things started this week. I believe distributing 200 Steem (or SD) is obtainable over the week, IF ANYONE WOULD LIKE TO MATCH ME.

  • Any further donations can be used to fund future weeks to continue this project. This is something that when funded (up to 200 Steem/SD a week) we'll get those tips out to reinvigorate struggling but good users, helping to retain them.

  • 100% Steem Dollars from this post will also be used towards funding this same pool.

  • When unfunded, it can just sit idle and be ok. It's quick and easy to pick up again on a smaller scale like this.

I will keep track of who gets what (through wallet memos) and from who to make sure it is fully transparent. I plan for 100% of donated funds to be given away as 'tips.'

[UPDATE: I've already given two users 25 Steem each to begin giving out the tips to those who have been putting in the work, but haven't reaped the rewards. I'll get the remainder handed out over the next two days.]


Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
Shut up and take my Money

Sort:  

I can contribute $10 to a pool. I will send it you now. Do what you think is best. Make em count, i know you will.

Very much appreciated! It'll definitely find a good home. :)

It is really a very good work

Congrats, after a nomination by @buzzbeergeek you have been selected as Author of the Day by the Steemvoter (SV) Guild, keep up the good work and helping make Steem great!

Note: You should receive many guild votes shortly, enjoy!

SteemImg

I am sending you 15 Steem Dollars to contribute to the pool.
The community needs this kind of support @sykochica.
@knozaki also helped me a lot. He is an awesome guy.

That's awesome! Thank you!
I'll definitely make sure they find a good, appreciative home. :)

Yea..his small acts had huge impacts. Talk about an phenomenal return on investment! Lol

Indeed. This is after all what makes us a great community.

Wow, you're the best! I've only earned 5 steem so far, but this is a great idea. Hope it helps!

Thank you! It's a great gesture. But aww, you really don't have to do that!

Awesome, I'm excited by all of the recent progress steem has made from its inception. The idea of a "masterclass" is a stroke of genius; encouragement has its own rewards. Excellent post, I look forward to reading about your successes. Upvoted and followed!!

It has been a long crazy ride over the last year on here! It's gonna be super exciting to where things go from here. For those of us here early on it should be a HUGE benefit. :)

But yea, it does take a while to just about anyone to get built up on here. Having been in that struggle myself for months, I wanted to be able to give some back to other newbies.

I appreciate the vote and the follow.

I'm new here as well and I've given the gift of 'Steem' to a few random people that have interacted with my post. It really makes a difference to them it seems, and I think it would have made the difference to me as well if I didn't have the ability to build up my rank ever so slightly.

It would be awesome if you can share some suggestions too which helped you improve and learn along the way at steem!
Cheers.

A couple things that helped me...hrm. I'll think on this some more. But I'll get something together to answer that.

In the mean time here's an old post that covers more into marketing posts and this old FAQ that covers a wider array of topics.

I agree, suggestions would be appreciated.

Great suggestion. I'd like to know that as well.

This is an awesome initiative @sykochica. Giving back to the community, such a great thing. I applaud this effort and best of success to everyone on this wonderful platform :)

Could someone get me a list of people that I could send Steem to? Have thought about entertaining sending Steem to a whole bunch of people to spread the wealth. Am also going to have to make a post to match you on this. :)

I'll have the list after the fact of people the tips were given to. But that's something I'll just re-engineer from the wallet memos. I'm giving it all to other people to distribute.

However, I did want to go through the people that were subtly asking in comments of this post. See who might be a good candidate.

We can tough base on this during the week though. :)

Sounds good.

I don't have a spreadsheet together just yet, but this post has all people receiving tips so far. :)

Great!, Will leave a reply. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52