An Open Thank You To Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I discovered steemit just over two weeks ago while looking to see of my 7950 GPUs still had any value for mining cryptos. I signed up, somehow received my confirmation within a half hour and commented on a post. The following day I made my Introduction post and woke up to find that it had reached the $30 mark. This excited me to no end and I immediately encouraged my wife @isaria to open an account.

Look how cute we are! 10881530_618469941608423_237957704240337463_n.jpg

She opened her account and waited.. And waited, and waited for that confirmation. It took about a week for it to finally come through. During that time, I was still trying to talk steemit up, but she was starting to lose interest.

Once the confirmation came through, she made her intro post but didn't want to have a picture with the username and date. And I think her introduceyourself post suffered due to that. Since her post didn't do as well as mine did, we were at a point where I was still on board with steemit, but I was starting to lose my argument. Until yesterday.

@isaria is a musician, and a damned good one. She asked if posting some of her videos of playing piano might make for good content, and decided to put one up. https://steemit.com/openmic/@isaria/linus-and-lucy-charlie-brown-song It received its 2 or 3 upvotes, and she was starting to feel like a failure compared to some of the other posts that have made double digits or more.

Last night she returned home from work and logged in to see that she received a reply from @steemitboard congratulating her on the number of upvotes. "What's this?" she asked. We looked at the post, clicked on it to open and saw something that completely changed our view. A large group had decided to upvote her video and just like that, steemit was validated for her! We saw the potential payout and danced like little kids and immediately started making ideas on what we can do for content and to help make steemit a better place!

So this is a thank you to all of the upvoters and the community in general. Not only did you validate the platform for @isaria, but I've instantly snapped into steemit protection mode, where I want to make sure that abuse is limited and that everyone has a chance to feel like we did last night.

I am racking my brain trying to come up with ideas beyond good content to give back, and I'm sure I'll come up with something good, but in the meantime here's a picture of my cat. Because cats are a thing.16179838_1091849187603827_4385682725227051178_o.jpg

Sort:  

Seeing that Steemit Achievement Badge made my day, possibly my month!
And seeing Jeffy the Cat's cute little squish beans just made my morning.
I am thankful for the upvotes on my little video and thankful to Husband for introducing me to Steemit. :)

Glad you're both here

up

Glad to have you both with us and how supportive the community is. :-) Just goes to show you.

It's really quite something

Oops. I did notice her and followed but thought she was more into witchcraft and stuff seeing couple of posts. This music angle makes her quite dynamic and I am sure she's going to rake up more followers soon. Good luck to her.

Thank you :-)

One way to give back besides creating content is to look for underrated posts and users to upvote and resteem. Growing your own following will not only help you earn, it will allow you to help others to, so help those that could use it. I try to use a majority of my upvotes on minnows to help them get on the hot or trending page which makes it easier for whales to find them.

Glad you and your wife stuck around

This is great advice. I've joined a few groups tonight that are focused on getting people noticed.

Which groups? I know of minnow support project and whaleshares

Minnow support group and minnow money are the same group its really just minnow support group i just created that tag for it lol i probably should have kept it all one but either way we are the same and we want to grow!

Thanks, man. Keep up the good work yourself!

Hard work always pays off in the end :)

Darn right cats are a thing! I have one trying to help me type right now...
Steemit open mic will get you noticed pretty fast.
I'm following you both now.

You are a bonus to the organization!

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62802.36
ETH 2462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62