Quick Update Regarding New User Sign-Ups On Steemit/The Recent Un-delegation From New Accounts/How To Accrue More Steem Power As A New Steemian..

in #steemit7 years ago

I responded to an important question that many have had here regarding steemit (especially here in the Philippines and developing nations in general) as to whether it is Ponzi etc and my answer was a quick impromptu free-write as seen the screenshot below:

I wanted it so, so that there is highlight to the fact that my answered was fully-felt. 

Then, there were several who commented and mentioned that they have attempted to sign-up and can't get to the step involving generating their steemit password and completing sign-up. They also got a message related to "limited bandwidth exceeded" as seen in this screenshot:


So i tried to see what can be done about this and i contacted @timcliff who has been a great and caring steemit witness and he explained that steemit was working on a fix and have completed the fix.

So here is the advice:

  • Please share this post to other steemians.
  • If you have a friend who has had their steemit account approved and who experiences a challenge with completing sign-up still, please tell them to "try again at a later time and it will end up working as steemit is aware of the issue and have worked on it".
  • Guide new sign-ups that you invite as a one major reason that they should want to join us here, is also because of you and your being here.
  • You can also bring these issues to me so we can work on a fix. You can do so by leaving me a comment.


Quick Update On Un-delegation With Newer Accounts

Speaking with @timcliff, we also discussed this aspect as i felt it may be tied to the above challenge with new sign-ups. 

Note that in the past, steemit used to give away free SP to new accounts to start them up with their steemit journey but this became less feasible as many new accounts were created simply to get this free SP. 

At the time, completing sign-ups on https://steemit.com was almost instant.

Steemit then evolved into making sign-ups a manual process to curb on lost steem and then further evolved into delegating power to new accounts, so that this accounts can interact with the steem blockchain. 

The essence of the delegation though, is simply so that new steemians can use this delegated SP to accomplish transactions on steem e.g posts, commenting, resteems, transfers etc until they can accrue enough Steem Power to continue on their own.

The recent un-delegation from new accounts thus, applies to accounts that have accrued enough SP to now continue on their own. 

According to @timcliff, the un-delegation applied to new accounts that have already accrued greater than or equal to 15 SP. 

Note that the more SP allows you more bandwidth as a protective measure (as well) to prevent things like DDOS attacks that can cause congestion on steem. Thus, for newer steemians, a nice primary aim would be to try to accrue steem power as this gives you more bandwidth allowance and allows to you to have a say in the "reward distribution".

We all have a stake in steem by virtue of our Steem Power!

Helpful Posts To Read


Vote for @timcliff

Click here and look for @timcliff among the top ten witness. You can vote for as many as 30 witnesses.



 My community effort and steemit growth is a major part of my "steemgigs" witness, thus, my use of #witness-category

@tojukaka @purepinay @eurogee @ejemai@sunnylife@artaddict@samic@sunnylife @antonette @themanualbot@jaderpogi @ankarlie @jon24jon24 @deveerei @nairadaddy@destinysaid @ogochukwu @ewuoso @samstickkz @daudimitch@ehiboss @oluwoleolaide @ogoowinner @iwrite @gbenga@julstamban @ceepee@fisteganos @steemitph @rahulstan@ugetfunded etc kindly share this post with your massively growing steemit groups   

If you are new steemian and want to gain more knowledge and help related to steemit/steem, please join Here and in general chat look for @artaddict @samic @sunnylife @dandalion @ankarlie @ewuoso @honourmaus @tehoshei @eastmael @oluwoleolaide @gbenga @destinysaid @rahul.stan etc. You can tell them you are from me. I am also on there!

I do need strength

Dedicating My Entire Steem/Steemit Journey To My Mum

If you want to support an extra witness and you support mine "steemgigs", it will be really helpful. I run a full public RPC 256 GB node as well to balance the steem ecosystem on "wss://steemd.steemgigs.org".

To vote my witness, simply visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" into the first search box for witnesses or simply click Here to do it on one click!

If you want me to make witness voting decisions on your behalf, simply visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box for proxy. 

Let's Go!!!

Offer a service under hashtag "steemgigs". Attempt out-of-the-boxness on hashtag (untalented).

Join the Steemgigs Community on discord: https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

"Everyone has something to offer!" Why not?

Sort:  

Note: All the people who had issues completing sign-up on steemit in relation to my post above, have successfully signed up now

Hello @surpassinggoogle. you are really a blessing for us in Steemit.

These problems facing a lot of people here on steemit specially new commers. one of my.friend is not signing up, the other two have problem with bandwith & about undelegate the sp given by steemit. after reading your in detail article about these issue, nowi know much about these issues. now i brief better to my friends on those issues.

Thanks a lot for these infos and guideline.

Steem On..!

@rabeel. Of a truth one should just say the platform is getting better. Very soon all this delay will be settled and a lasting solution will be proffered. That is the reason why we are all here. With post like this lot of new guys will want to give it another try.
thank to @surpassinggoogle and the #steemgigs family.

Of course @surpassinggoogle is amazing and a blessing to the steemit community. He is always there to guide people.

awesome, i had some people signing up but they are waiting for the approval and some got error when they click the last link with password. Thanks @surpassinggoogle

Enjoy the vote and reward!

@bobiecayao. Exactly what happened to one the people i introduced but with this mail we should be able to solve the issue. The post actually at a very good time.

Thank you for the information @surpassinggoogle.. It's very helpful.. Thank you for helping us always...

This is a great service and concern for the growth and stability of the platform, So I say Bravo!!

Wow, that's a great way to go, thanks for sharing this information, informing my friends right away

I have a question on undelegation of SP. The delegated SP I received was halved 2 days ago even though I have not received my first payout. Would love to know your thoughts on that.

Also, I see that the earnings on this post is striken through, I have seen this on some other posts as well. What does this mean?

hello bro. Payouts will come after 7days. Starting from the minute you made the post on Steemit. If after 7days you don't get the payout in your wallet, that means you have not claimed it. Just click on your profile, click on wallet then you see redeem rewards.

And for the cancelled payout it means the author does not want to receive reward for the post he has made. Any other questions please feel free to ask

Thanks for letting me know about these factors as it was happening with me especially Bandwidth issue was occurring severly. Thanks for highliting this important point, you made my confusions clear by saying

Note that the more SP allows you more bandwidth as a protective measure (as well) to prevent things like DDOS attacks that can cause congestion on steem. Thus, for newer steemians, a nice primary aim would be to try to accrue steem power as this gives you more bandwidth allowance and allows to you to have a say in the "reward distribution".

Means more hard work= More Sp

Let me tell my friends too about it @surpassinggoogle

Wow!!! What a good news Sir! I have so many friends and relatives who are keep on waiting for the approval and they keep nagging me why their application did not approved and I was like? Nah I don't know because when I sign up then it gets me approved in the night. Now I can tell them that they can now try to sign up again because there is only error on the site but now already fixed.Thank you so much Sir for always giving a time to us, for always supporting to us.You really rock Sir !!! I salute u!!!

THANK YOU FOR THE INFORMATION SIR, A FRIEND OF THAT ONE TOO, THE SIGN UP PROCESS HAS BEEN TAKING LONGER NOW I HOPE TODAY WILL OK.

GREAT KIND OF YOU!

I can vouch for that. My officemates whom I invited got their accounts this morning. I'm very excited for them.

Wow, that is a good news. Thanks for always been there. You are the best

Wow!!
Thanks for helping us again.
You really have a big heart to people who are in need.
Please don't change @ surpassinggoogle.
Keep on doing what is right..
Thanks again.

This info is timely. I have some guys already who have asked questions in this regard but I told then I will get back to then. But this right here,speaks volumes.

Thanks @surpassinggoogle a lot you are a blessing to all steemians im so greatful that i am part of community.God bless you thankd also for upvote everytime i post.Thanks for sharing this post.

Wow, that's a huge relief.

Thanks for this post Sir Terry! I have also a friend who is complaining to me for she cannot sign up. Now I can tell her to try again. thanks so much.

no wonder, this happened to four upcoming steemians i earlier introduced to the platform, and they complained about same thing, i thought they were just pulling my legs, i will have to go to the group and tell them the signup has been rectified, thanks for this useful info sire, bless

My account is new and I also experience that but I let a day pass and I try to continue to create my account and its been approved. But I just don't know what happen. @surpassinggoogle I want to enjoy here in steemit and I really want to have a little advice from you. Thank you. :)

Well you know I promote you on every post :)

I should probably do a post in the near future of some of the things I've been able to do via steem currency, such as help pay for some recent things to help out my mom and brother with difficult arrangements. Ponzi my butt, not when i have tangible liquid assets in my hands.

I'm glad you mentioned @timcliffe, I have a question/slight concern, maybe he'll be able to answer me. Though i will pose it in chat to you first and you can tell me if I should go to him or to whom I should go.

on another note, I miss talking to you Terry, then again, I miss talking on steemit in general as it's been difficult lately. I put up a post today, you are in my dedication and I know you will be touched by the song my close friend sent me.
love you my sweet friend.

Thank you so much for this timely information. It is so much appreciated.

Right information at the right time. @surpassinggoogle is really a boss

Thank you Terry for clearing the air. There was a kind of panic when people discovered that their SP had disappeared. So from this post ,we now know what actually happened.

Yeah, truth be told, my delegated steem-power reduced drastically from 28 to 11.54 once, I was a bit confused and then some moments later I had a message saying bandwidth exceeded. But thanks to Bro. Terry for explaining the situation, I'm really glad what caused it I guess was that I actually bought steem and powered up and immediately the delegated one got reduced, but I now know the importance of having steem-power, thank you very much. I do really appreciate it.

Yes, there was a panic. I receive so many questions in the past week. Thank God the air has been cleared

Lol, for me, my rep reduced from 47 to 25. I thought I was flagged o, was kinda scared, the fear of starting again, hmmm. So, I refreshed my browser and saw my 47 back. 😁

The information you just passed across has put to rest panic in the heart of many. Thank you so much sir

You are welcome

Here are some imaginary @teardrops tokens

New users from Nepal having the same problems. Use your voting and posting wisely when in a start up. Gather some SP is your first task and quality content for more exposure and earning.
Best of luck to all new commers

So on point there

You are right, but it looks like days of free SP is over, this is evident in this post which is timely. I signed up some members of CryptoSteem family and they all complained of this restriction.

I think the bitter truth is to tell them that they shoulf spend at least $50 on steem power, this will give them some kind of comfort, then reduce the glitch.

When I joined steemit, i hate the fact that i cannot give as little as 5 cents to authors that write good contents, so i had to buy $200 worth of steem and powered up.

I was lucky because steem was sold for $0.93.

I think we should inform intending users about this earlier, so they won't form a bad impression of this great platform when the glitch appear.

Thank you for telling us all the updates and Your permanent help for All steemians specially the new thanks @surpassinggoogle..... Resteem

He gives strength to everyone.

this explains things, i tried signing a friend up today and he got this error message, i thought there was something wrong so i made him try to sign up with another email address, he is still waiting for the approval email for the second sign up but alas i guess that wasnt neccessary. thanks for sharing this.

Likely that it's not needed

Here are some imaginary @teardrops tokens

Please give him my handkerchief, it will sure come in handy.

Dear Terry Thank you for providing more details about steemit login details to newbies and compare with past steemit login details. I resteemed this post for see my followers. Steem.it is a blockchain-based social media platform where anyone can earn rewards by posting relevant content, curating quality content by upvoting and by holding Steem based currencies in a vest fund, which generates interest. I have only 04 month experience here in steemit. I've got steem power when my account registered. You gave great instructions to new users how to stay here and how to get more rewards, Appreciated work by you.
Waiting your next task and steem on...
Thank you for the support.
Stay blessed.

I'm just 3 weeks old here, my Steem power is a meagre 15 but I think I'll start powering up more often from now. Thanks to this great write ups.

Still do the post 50/50 but buy steem with sbd to get more sp

Here are some imaginary @teardrops tokens

That's great idea to increase sp. 50/50 posting better task. Thanks to the advice.

Thank you very much @surpassinggoogle I'll continue doing that. I actually thought buying was not advisable, since anytime I powered up, my delegated steem-power reduced. Thanks for your tips. I'll continue doing this. Keep being an awesome human. God bless

Exactly, I have high hopes on steem.

Hey Terry, you can look at my profile :) You are good @surpassinggoogle

Yeah, you should try to increase steem power.

Great job sir, for always being there for your people, a friend of mine I introduced had similar issue of generating password, we where registering on phone, but the noment we tried PC it worked just fine.

Glad to hear. Keep up the effort

Here are some imaginary @teardrops tokens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66