You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Check Out My Not-Chat With Starr O'Hara!

in #steemit7 years ago

"Free and Stressed"
I agree; it's hard to have a routine while traveling. It is stressful.
And I just wanted to go home, after traveling around for 6 months (25,000 miles). It was too much in 6 months..

It's nice to have a home base. After, I just wanted to buy a house, and plant a garden, make real life for myself, be a member of a community.

After 6 months, I was tired, stressed and sick. I needed to rest. I was lucky I didn't catch malaria probably.

I liked at that time, to travel alone. I enjoyed the autonomy. Nobody else to have to agree with; and traveling alone, I met so many new people.

That is the beauty of traveling alone. But it gets lonely too. For the next 10 years, I only wanted to take vacations here and there; globe trotting no longer carried the glamor I had once attached to it.

That said, I can see living in different places for a long while, instead of having a home base. That makes more sense to me as well, and then there is routine, and a sense of belonging to a community.

Sort:  

@surfyogi I want BOTH of the realities you described: a homebase (which is currently Acapulco), and regular global excursions throughout the year (in addition to Latin and Central America, am also very drawn to Bali, Thailand, Greece, Morocco, Japan.)

I'd love to host meditative writing retreats around the world. <--- That's the first time I've ever said that out loud, lol Feels great!

Fantastic, how the process of writing, peels the onion of our awareness and desires..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58