You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TRUMP Executive Orders and a great first week..!!

in #steemit8 years ago

Honestly I cannot find anything great in the decision to generally prohibit immigration of Muslim. That´s pure racism. Imagine any other country decided on stopping immigration of American people, simple because they are American.

I totally agree on the fact that Trump seems to be quite decisive. The question is who is going to pay for all these ideas. Mexico not! :-D

Sort:  

There are millions of peacefully living Islamic communities on Earth. The fact that somebody is Muslim doesn´t make him a bad person. I absolutely not agree on disqualifying people due to their belief system. I go with Marc D. Stern here: "it is settled that in a liberal democracy citizens enjoy the freedom to express their religious views, and to form institutions consistent with those views, without fear of punishment or civic disability."

citizens

immigrants are not citizens
immigrants are invited, or not invited to become citizens
we, the citizens, are deciding that we do not want to invite want a regionally selected group of people who ID's can not be verified, and who belong to a religion that specifically calls for the murder, enslavement, or conversion of unbelievers.
while I understand that most Muslims are not murderous savages, I also recognize that some are are indeed
and until there is a sure method of telling the difference, we the citizens don't want to bring any potential threats into our homes.

They are not verifying IDs. They are refusing people who come from a certain territory - independently if they can show their ID or not. All of them. During the past hours there have been already several cases of people who have been working for the USA during years (e.g. an Iraqi translater and his family who worked for the government during 6 years). Now - after the famous President´s decision - they are not able to get there anymore, even if they could show a valid visa. The European airlines don´t even allow them to get on board of their airlines. They already had their invitation (as you call it), but now due to their nationality they are not welcome anymore. That´s hard stuff!

exactly, they are not verifying IDs because there are no valid IDs, which is WHY we are refusing people who come from a certain territory.

Let the Oil Shieks, who have a religious duty to their co-religionsists, and who are partially funding the wars disrupting the area, provide support for them.

We have no duty to them, other than specific individuals who we agreed to help in return for their service to us.

Let the Oil Shieks, who have a religious duty to their co-religionsists, and who are partially funding the wars disrupting the area, provide support for them.

Someone else flagged your comment so I don't need to reply anymore.

I dont sweat flagging from people that cant provide rational argument ;>

Not talking about you.

I quoted a phrase from a Muslim that I believe is true... that is it.

What I did not say:
X "Islamic communities can't be found peacefully living." < I did not say that...
X "The fact that somebody is Muslim does make him a bad person." < Just quoted one so, I could not agree with this either...
X "Disqualify people due to their belief system." < you think this is implied by Trumps executive orders...

My real opinion:
"If so much authority had not been handed to the presidency, this would not be happening."

I'm sorry @surfermarly, that was not very "Republican" of me...
You wanted a "Republican" stance to rebuttal, I think I got one up in my... shelf somewhere.

Marc D. Stern is totally cool with "religious views", until such "religious views" stop you from baking a cake for a gay couple.

^Honestly, I would like to see a good rebuttal to that.

No problem, I don´t feel offended. Political discussions seldom lead to anything but anger. I always try to keep cool but I comprehend that others don´t :)

I haven´t read any single statement published by Mr. Stern, but in one of his articles (published on CNN I think) about same-sex couples he said that they should not be denied the right to civil marriage. The only thing they couldn´t expect is that religious organizations that don´t agree on same-sex marriage recognize or facilitate their marriages. I think that´s quite fair.

Anyway, we could talk a lot more about marriage and other beautiful things, but I won´t ever support someone who judges people according to their belief system or origin. That he justifies his decisions by financial interests makes it even worse to me.

"I think that´s quite fair."
Awsome!
I'm glad, we can openly talk and thus think about all this...
I agree Trump may over-extend. But, the left should have known the lash-back was coming particularly after forcing "healthcare" onto all the citizens. (Who defines what "healthcare" is in the first place?) That is about as bad as the creation of the IRS, it took a war to justify that.

This is not a democracy.

From a pure Financial stand point it is a stroke of genius..!! The US is broke. Most people are so focused on the $20 trillion National Debt when they totally ignore the $350 trillion unfunded future liabilities that have been committed and no way of paying off. Effectively they are banktrupt 5 times over..!! This is more serious then who they let in. This Debt is Trumps number priority and he knows it. Without tackling this first if you thought there were problems for this generation to deal with wait until the next generation has to sort it out. Thanks for comment though. Stephen

I second the disagreement to prohibit immigration of someone based on religion.

And... decisive, or a steamroller?

Islam is not a race. Mexican is not a race. The rest is sort of incoherent, refuting incoherence is problematic.

A US judge has issued a temporary halt to the deportation of visa holders or refugees stranded at airports following President Trump's executive order. The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) filed a case in response to the order issued on Friday.

That's super coherent! ;-))

I seem to remember that the ACLU is one of the organizations that gets a lot of funding from George Soros. It's not surprising that they would be standing in the way of progress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28