Dear Steemit.com, I am feeling uncomfortable with some of the ads you are showing!

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit.com! I know that you need to make money, and that does not offend me in any way. You are a business and whether people like it or not, businesses need more income than expenses. I get it!

Honestly, I really enjoyed all of the white space that existed before the ads started, but I would prefer that you be healthy and financially stable with the ads versus drowning in debt without them.

writing-1149962_640.jpg
Image Source

But ...


Some of the ads I have seen today verge on NSFW (at least in my opinion). Spicy lingerie? What is that about?

Again, ads can be annoying, but I mentally block ads about Microsoft, credit cards, cryptocurrency, and other services that I may actually be interested in.

But when you start showing scantily clad women on my screen, you have gone too far in my opinion.

Because ...


You have not given me a way to object to the ads. Sell your ad space. Sell to whomever you want, but if you do, please give me a way to opt-out of the ads that I shouldn't see (don't want to see).

If ...


Ads are going to an ongoing part of Steemit.com (which they are), then please execute the strategy well.

When I browse your site from work, I want to make sure that a network administrator does not come knocking at my work cube with a million questions.

When I browse your site from home, I want to make sure what I am viewing is something I would not be ashamed for my wife and kiddos to see.

So ...


If this keeps happening (without a way to opt-out), then I will finally have to move on to another Steem condenser.

Due to the fact that I don't like change, I have stuck around. I don't mind your simplicity. I have stuck around despite the ads, but spicy lingerie is pushing me to the edge and if you don't do something, then I will make a leap to another frontend, and my advertising revenue will be coming with me.

Please, oh please, give me a way to opt-out of ads that do not match my shopping interests and values.

Sincerely,
@SumatraNate

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.493 which ranks you at #2150 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2154).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 164 contributions, your post is ranked at #149.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50