Steemit sounds awesome..but overwhelming and complicated to understand, is it just me ?

in #steemit8 years ago

Hello !

This is my first post, so hey everybody.

I must admit the concept of Steemit is simply awesome, so unique and I was very excited when I heard about it.

I have been reading some about Steem, Steem power, and Steem dollars, but to be completely honest, I'm still confused.

It's hard to figure it out, there are still so many question, and so much reading I must do, the learning curve is slow, at least to me, perhaps I'm a slow learner !

What is your experience with Steemit, how long have you been using it, and how long did it take for you to fully grasp how it works and how it's economy works ?

I know there are tons of guides out there, but I feel like there should be some quick start guide that lay down everything in a concise manner to help newbies like me to get started, rather than to hunt for guides and tutorials :), this is not a rant, just constructive criticism !

I just read a post about how important it is to have a very secure owner password, and there, I got overwhelmed with information again, and I'm now quite confused about what to do, is the main password generated when registering really not enough ?

Also the post seemed out of date (from 5 months ago) and I was not able to post a comment.

I would be curious what other people feel like.

Peace !

Sort:  

Hey and welcome!

I've been involved for around 6 months now and been trying to help out newcomers get started. I recommend reading @thecryptofiend's latest article about:

but I feel like there should be some quick start guide that lay down everything in a concise manner to help newbies like me to get started,

If you have further questions, etc, feel free to drop by on steemit.chat and I'm sure someone might be able to assist you. :)

I'll throw you a follow and check out your future content for a while :)

Ah yea cool thanks, I just discovered there was a chat earlier, cool feature !

Cool profile pic, goku? :P

Welcome to steemit!
Everyone who is new to crypto goes through this when they join steemit. The good news is you don't need to understand how it works to use it, so there is no rush to learn it all.
So take a deep breath, bookmark this beginners FAQ and take it one step at a time.

Yea aha thanks, that's what I figured when I posted this, I thought, well so why not just go ahead and make a post lol

there is a great group that can help you when it comes to improving your posts, it's called steemprentice, they have a channel on steem chat (use the drop down menu to the right of your profile picture to get to chat).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47