Who Supervises A Witness?

in #steemit7 years ago


I have just made a whole month since joining Steemit and it has been a great first month. In that time I have learned a few things, not only by trying to use what sense I was gifted with, but also by learning from those who take their time to give out great information.

These are things I've learned about:

(1) Posting

(2) Using (or not ) using bots

(3) Up voting

(4)Resteeming

and

(5) Witnesses.

I've learned about other things as well, such as what rooms to join on Discord and other sites like Steemit Chat. The one that I've recently learned something about which I didn't know, is the Witness category. Although I have voted for witnesses, I didn't know that some of them aren't actually active. I found this out from @netuoso who wrote this greatly informative post. In it he directs his readers/followers (not the same thing) to a page where one can check to see if the witnesses we voted for are actually active. I have seen his list and while I did delete one or two, I'm satisfied with my choices. There were two that were inactive a bit but they help the community out a great deal. I kept them. I'll need some more info before I proceed.

Here is the reason for this post. How are witnesses being tracked, or rather by whom? What is done as a general consensus to a witness who isn't actively working or missing blocks? What effect does this have on the blockchain? How does this affect events like the recent low bandwidth issues that we experienced? These are just some of the questions I hope will be addressed, without having to wait for the next Hard Fork. If any of you have answers, be it my buddy @good-karma or @blueorgy or someone else, please let me know below. I'd appreciate your input.


Sort:  

Im new also, but to me I thought this. I thought when you host a blockchain, that you were just another node for the blockchain on the network. And if the percent of missing or invalid blocks are too high, it would discard the blocks in the series, and some other person hosting the blockchain would get that portion to process properly? (I upvoted this is a great post!)

I'm still learning too and researching as much as I can.

You have definitely learned more than me. LOL! Keep digging while I keep chillin! ((Just kidding))) Great post!

me too man, I feel like we will get there tho!

Yes, we'll get there. We'll learn a lot along the way too!

Hi @stonesteem, I see you have mentioned me.
This is automatic bot response so that I may respond to your mention later.
Learn more about this bot...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stonesteem from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65