I did not quit Steemmonsters due to a lack of faith in Steemit

in #steemit5 years ago

Looking at my last two posts, I could see where that could be deduced.

However, I quit Steemmonsters...ahem, Splinterlands ;)...because I was spending too much time on it.

I also quit, at the same time:
Forge of Empires
Some other tablet game

I was spending up to 4 hours a day wasting my time on these games.

I do have a gaming problem, just like I used to drink too much.

For example, I played World of Warcraft from 2009 to 2016; a game add-on made me aware that I spent ONE THIRD of my life in that time playing WOW.

This was fun


But I didn't control how much time I spent on it

I did make a profit on SteemMonsters, a few bucks.

How many multi-thousand dollar posts could I have written on Steemit in the time I spent on SM?

Well, probably none ;> But it would have been more profitable than playing the game...which is why I started playing it in the first place.

Too fun, tho.

Dopamine rushes can be addictive:
Booze, Sex, Video Games

However, other items produce dopamine which is more constructive:
Learning, Exercising, Winning

And of the last three, I have been lagging a bit lately.

Having said that, I'm still standing by my last post. I didn't put a lot of work into this post (hell, I got a doctor appointment that is setting the timeframe for the amount of effort I put into this post ;> ). I don't have faith in the devs or the community to take advantage of the great potential this platform has. And like I said, I'm not quitting, but I will put in easywork. And that's time, folks! Have a great day!

Sort:  

I have been focusing on my health and playing Red Dead Redemption 2. That game is awesome. So many things to it, a great story, interesting characters and cut scenes. Exactly what I needed.

But when I get in the mood for some FPS games I will rock that out too.

For me it depends on what game is out at what time. I don't really like re-playing games much. I played Battlefield 5 for like 3 or 4 months straight and then I just quit completely. Once I master something I fall out of interest with it...

For example... When you are so good at something stuff like this is just normal and doesn't feel epic anymore.

https://xboxclips.com/Crypto%20S117/d5e953d9-a765-42f3-8503-e46a9eacc0a5

I think that is what you might be going through. That epic feeling of leveling up and getting more skilled goes away once you are in the top top top 1%.

for me right now it's a matter of gaming interfering with RL accomplishments...I'm not leveling my money, effectiveness, or happiness levels LOL

I know the dopamine cycle you are talking about, but that's nae the problem ;>

Time you have enjoyed is never wasted. I spent (and still spend) many hours a week playing computer games. Mostly WoW and Dota2. And I don't regret anything. I had a lot of fun, build up social contacts where some are still active after many years.
As long as you don't harm yourself or others, it's just time used for things you like. Nothing more, nothing less.

Posted using Partiko Android

it's just time used for things you like

that is a good way to look at it; for me, though, I know I'm going to leave life with a long list of "not dones". There would be no way for me to have accomplished nailing that list, but I do regret not knocking off as much as possible.

In addition, I can point to specific examples of times where my "bad three" have taken my attention past things I wanted to do.

As long as you don't harm yourself or others

bingo; it's a matter of balance that I personally don't manage well

cheers!

Hi @stevescoins!

  • you have 117 units and 6 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 4730315833059 or 2.879 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.576 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 46.14 % has come from your subscription level
  • 13.79 % has come from your bonus units
  • 40.06 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.00 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    To reduce blockchain clutter, you can also check your status in our Discord server!
    https://discord.gg/VpghTRz

Hi, @stevescoins!

You just got a 0.29% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82