HF19 ending both my own experiments

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I had been running two "experiments"; although I kind of hesitate to call them that technically speaking.

The first was a power-down run:

  • Mainly, I was seeing if I could restock Steem Power as fast as I could power down ( I couldn't ;> ).
  • The link is The Power Down "Experiment" Starts Now, I started the experiment at 6811 SP, and I'll be ending it at 5000 SP.
  • So, that's 521 SP x 4 weeks, or 2084 that I pulled out. I should have been at 4727 SP in finishing a 4 week pull. I made about 300 SP in that time, which divided by four in no way makes up for what I was taking out.
  • I'm just not that good of a writer ;>

The second experiment was a voting scheme.

  • I was going to upvote myself for everything at 100%, and everyone else at 10%. This was to build up SP.
  • I started this four days ago. A selfish voting strategy
  • It never felt right; I don't mean that I thought I was cheating the community, but rather I had liked being a dolphin, and seeing a difference on a post when I voted.
  • HF 19 has far exceeded how I expected my own voting power to change under it. I will be making SP much faster than any scheme I tried to cook up myself
  • I will hereby be voting at 20% across the board, giving me 50 upvotes a day at a very nice amount...nothing to make anybody rich, but it should still make folks smile. Including myself when I see the post total bounce up.
  • This means that I will no longer be using the vote as a "like" or a "hey I saw you" button. There needs to a second button for simple interactions..a "like" button w/o financial reward.
  • This also means that I should be at full voting power most of the time (we'll see how that turns out*)

"Boss, Dee Fooork...Dee Foork!"


A new and improved Stevevote for anyone who can tell me what my silly ass reference is to!

  • It looks to me like Dolphins are the big winner with this fork
  • No hard data on that, just my own impression, suitably enhanced
  • We are in Beta, so this change might not last...enjoy it while you got it folks!
  • Just a repeat...we are in Beta still
Sort:  

I really like your transparency with your voting. Sure it is all on chain but something about it is always an interesting read.

I too am quite happy with the effects of HF19. I did some math before but I must have dropped a zero somewhere lol.

There are different ways of looking at voting: is it a "like"; is it a reward to someone for creating content you like; is it a return on investment for your VESTs into Steem

All of these views are valid, and I don't have a commitment to any of them, so I play ;>

Let's keep playing brother.

Good analysis, I have continued my pattern of voting at 100%, and now my vote power has suffered from that.

You have the dubious honour of being the first victim of my "20% vote" policy.

tit for tat, buddy, take a 20%er in return LOL

10 votes at 100% isn't a bad policy either, but it's way to easy to lose power after that. the 10 voters are going to be those that put a lot of thought into what they're saying...

or they're going to be vote trading LOL

looks like I got my math wrong, less than 25 votes at 20%, and my 20% vote has gone from 1.14 to 1.03

How do you set your voting power?

Once you get to a certain amount of Steem Power, you'll have a slider pop up when you vote

I don't remember the amount, I'm sorry

What this does is to allow you to "spread" your voting power out. So instead of voting 10 times at 100% (5.71), I will vote 50 times at 20% (1.14).

let's me get around and spread more pollen LOL

Looks like I'll be powering up all those hf19 rewards after all.

might as well. I'm at a point, considering looking at incoming rewards, where I might be able to support myself by Steeming (might), but I have been writing here for a long time. Other folks might want to get their SP up first

Mine is really low. I've spent too much playing around with the crypto tools. I'm still having trouble getting my 15 Steem out of cryptopia.

I've been using polinex despite some bad recommendation; so far so good, but I've been keeping my fingers crossed, too

I'm probably going to stick with blocktrades. Hasn't really had an issue so far.

Good Analysis

it will take a few days before we understand how the fork really affects us...but I was happily surprise at my 100% vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81