A community response to Steemit trolls, at the individual level

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I ran afoul of our resident troll this morning, and I called him out for his behavior. I'm not going to name him. Either you already know of whom I speak, or you can check out my posts and see who it is rather easily.

Not surprisingly, he then went back to flag all my posts and comments. (I'm not too worried about that, over time I think I will earn votes and comments from the community).

I have been reading a few posts that discuss this kind of problem in general:
https://steemit.com/steem/@sean-king/don-t-be-a-downvoting-dunce
https://steemit.com/steemitabuse/@derekareith/steemit-idea-flagging-abusive-malicious-users

As noted in these discussions, this kind of activity has driven off new users . This will, over time, kill the platform. However, I don't think it requires a dev response as much as it requires some action by the whales and dolphins of Steemit on an individual basis, in particular those whose votes' outweigh the troll's.

Spend an hour a day "anti-trolling", by which I mean tracking down the trolls flags and upvoting those posts. If two or three big hitters use their voting power in this fashion, it is using Steemit judo on the troll, and making his effort to impoverish the platform enrich it instead.

If every downvote or attempt to silence a newbie to the platform results in that user being rewarded by the community instead, sooner or later he will stop doing that, because it will be counter to his intent.

And as for the troll, here is some advice that might bring you back into the community's grace, if you are man enough to do so:
Stop attacking random people
Acknowledge the disagreements you have had with your own downvoters
Attempt reconciliation with them
Apologize to the innocent people you have attacked in your hissy fit
Remove the negative votes from the innocent

Sort:  

I couldn't have said it better, I kinda just cussed him out in a few posts and went on about my day and posted a few new articles, despite him taking time to flag every single post I have made including comments and replies.

If you don't have enough weight to counter a flag, visit #steemitabuse-classic for help. There are usually users there that will help upvote as long as the post doesn't contain abuse. If not you can find me. @patrice

Thanks for the support!

I am quite new here and you are correct. There are some other reasons that drive me off this site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42