PUYP Part 1 UH-OH I'm Gonna Cause Offence With This One! Speling Annd Grammarz What The F...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

So your post is written and primed to go live... You hit that button ugh!

Let's wind back. I'm gonna hit you with some basic tips to PUYP!

Pimp Up Ya Post.

Some curators are super picky...Not me. I look for passion, fun, emotion or knowledge from the posts I read. In a word I'm constantly looking for value and quality. I am happy to overlook all sorts of misdemeanors of the written variety to get to the juice of a post.

I understand that everyone here does not speak English as their first language and some who do, just paid no attention in school...Are we here to judge? I think not! I myself have pretty appalling grammar and punctuation. it is something I do not remember from school and something that has not gone in to my head correctly since. I will be damned if I am gonna let that stop me from havin' a blast here and writing for fun and pleasure. If the occasional reward comes my way, that is awesome but I am no Charles Dickens and I am probably never gonna be.

I just wanna share a hand full of tips that anyone can utilise to write better looking, more appealing posts.

The basics...Make that the basic basics ;)

Today is gonna be simple...We are only gonna cover the trickiest of the tricky and the single biggest mistake that people make globally.

There, Their and They're. These words are called homophones. This just means that they sound the same but they are very different.

  • There
    There, just like Where refers to a place, this is easy to remember because it contains the word here. Where is the place? It is there.
    Where is the car? Oh there it is.
    There is the opposite of here. I am here, you are there.
    There is my house.
    Got it? Coolio. ;)

  • Their.
    Their tells us that something belongs to someone...It is theirs. It is their possession.
    Their house is over there.
    Who does the cat belong to? It is their cat, the people from number 64.
    They're getting another cat for their Son.

This leads us nicely on to

  • They're
    They're is a shortened and more informal way of saying they are.
    So. They are buying a new car, becomes, They're buying a new car.
    Ready for this, ok, let's shoot...
    "They're buying a new car for their Son who lives over there in that house with the red door"

I realise I haven't gone too deep with this but as I said at the start I don't want to over-complicate this important subject for those for whom this information can make a real difference. I have actually gone back through and self edited in order to re-simplify the core-message several times to keep it simple :D

I sincerely hope that nobody felt patronised whilst reading this. Not at all my intention.
Feel free to offer me grammatical tips in the comments, i will take them on-board gratefully. It is my intention to actively seek out posts that can help me with grammar and punctuation as I want to become a better writer too.

I will be making more of theses PUYP posts to help those starting out with English or who just wanna tighten up their work.

May your days be fun and your load be light my friends. have an amazing journey :)

Image courtesy of the AWESOMETASTICAL Pixabay
Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

** It is their posession.
It should be possession instead of posession.

Thanks @grammarnazi
I suspected you may appear on this post haha
Some people are annoyed by you. I think you are cute lil Bot who wants us all to improve incrementally.

Your intention is to encourage, right?
Haha.

I will be damned if I am gonna let that stop me from havin' a blast here and writing for fun and pleasure. If the occasional reward comes my way, that is awesome but I am no Charles Dickens and I am probably never gonna be.

A-freakin-men! I think sometimes people try to get so technical that they forget that this is supposed to be fun! If youre not enjoying what youre doing, youre doing something wrong! Great post! :)

Well I gotta say that your comments quite categorically ROCK!

Thankyou so much for taking time to leave a smile shaped imprint on my post it is waaay more than merely appreciated. Many have latched onto the concept of rewards here and expanded their consciousness no further than that. This is a terrible shame really as the community, friendships and fun that is on offer is truly amazing.

Do I like rewards?...Hell yeah! But that is just one part of the blockchain experience, there is oh-so-much more to it than just that.

Thank you so much again, may your journey be Epic :D

Well I am just going to tail along on this one.Because I am lazy, and tired, and it is the end of a long weekend, and because that is such a super good point. It's a pretty unique combination of elements that make up Steemit. I would be willing to bet a lot of people start out thinking about rewards but stay for the sheer magic of the platform.
I came looking for an easy way to learn about cryptos. Somewhere along the line I got sidetracked. Now I have all these people who I am interested in reading. Mostly because they have interesting lives and I want to see what happens next.
As far as rewards go it is fun to watch the account grow, but I am starting to think the real rewards may go far beyond that.
P.S. One of your I's should be a capitol lol

I absolutely LOVE this post! I'm the 'run-on sentence' queen and '...' abuser! LOL

I like your perspective, @stevenwood. I enjoy a lot of posts that are not 'perfect' grammatically just because the writer's energy comes through in their writing. Sometimes 'perfect' makes a piece too dry and yet other times, I find beautiful, perfect writing inspiring. Depends on the author and the piece.

You may be the Queen...however...I don't like the lowly comma so I just like to dot dot dot a lot, cause dot rhymes with lot, and we all gotta have fun...cause they're not gonna let us if we dirty their crypto coins to much. had to do like headchange...and play tag-a-long. Hive bombed.

I love it. Wordsmiths unite! I guess I can't really call this a spelling error because I know you folks over there in the Mother Land spell and say things differently than we do in the States (eg: schedule pronunciation of shed-yul versus sked-yul) but patroniSe really stood out to me as I spell it with a z. Like this... patronize.

p.s. I am still waiting for someone to give me feedback on my consistent and probable overuse of the ellipsis. Man, I love those 3 little dots.

Bloody good post chap!

I have often found myself tripping over past and passed lol. Silly, I know. French has been my first language and now that I am living in a more english community, I have started losing some of my french, getting better at english but still struggle with some things.

As I am back in school at this moment for a bit (german language school) I realise again how difficult it is to write decent in a different language.

Grammar is unfortunately essential but also a bitch in this one ;)

( quit, quiet, quite was also horror back in the days... and though, through and tough)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99