QUESTION: If there was a Third Party Platform that Bid on Ebay Items on your behalf, accepted STEEM as payment and paid the Ebay Seller in their local currency, would you use it?

in #steemit7 years ago

STEEM to EBAY



I just wanted to put out a quick question.

"If there was a Third Party Platform that Bid on Ebay Items on your behalf, accepted STEEM as payment and paid the Ebay Seller in their local currency, would you use it?"

Sure there would be some details to address as to how the exchange rate would work and deliver details etc etc, but I just wanted to put it out there and see what response I got.

PURCHASE & SALES AGREEMENT

The Third Party Platform (website) would be a STEEMIT ACCOUNT USER and act purely as an intermediary with the Purchase and Sales Agreement sat on the STEEM BLOCKCHAIN as proof of Sale/Transaction.

STEEMIT Bidders wishing to place a Bid would be measured on reputation to try and eliminate any false or ghost Bids.

I am sure there are plenty of other technicalities that would need addressing but this is purely a Conceptual Idea put out to see whether people would use it.


Thanks for reading and I look forward to any comments you may have.

Stephen

Sort:  

STEEMIT Bidders wishing to place a Bid would be measured on reputation to try and eliminate any false or ghost Bids.

I like the feature. That could be a sticky point if you have new users that don't have the reputation yet.

Since you are asking the question I imagine you have something in the works to make this third party application work.

I am all for it! Excited to see what you are able to create Stephen.

I was thinking about this earlier and was scribbling down a sliding scale. Something like a New User upto $30, and a User with over 70 Rep $500. Something along those lines. On other words let's say a New User has been STEEMIT for 3 weeks, has earned $25 and wants to bid on a second-hand Mountain Bike upto $25, that would be ok..!! Stephen

Already working on this - why am I not surprised?

That scale sounds reasonable - encourages the active people to participate.

Let'a see what the community comes up with.

That sounds great to me, especially when online shopping is so common nowadays (making me rare to go out for real shopping lol) , if sbd can be directly used in daily life, that would be awesome ! of coz, security and transparency would be a concern though.

"That sounds great to me, especially when online shopping is so common nowadays." That was the whole idea. It would work with ANY online Seller. The platform is essentially a trading facilitator. Thanks for your comment. Stephen

Shared on LinkedIn. Stephen

Shared on twitter. Stephen

Yes, I would use it; especially if Amazon accepted this 3rd party method.

That was the idea. If we could get it to work for Ebay, we could apply it across ANY "Selling Platform". Stephen

Is it supposed to be like how purse.io lets you do BTC transactions on amazon?
If so I'd love to see this concept become a reality!

Sort of yes. The Third Party Platform is in essence the middleman between the STEEMIT Buyer and the Online Portal Seller such as Ebay. In reality it would buy on-behalf of the STEEMIT buyer who would pay in STEEM/SBD. Stephen

In my opinion this idea will make steem more usable in open market. This is going to be real in near future.

"In my opinion this idea will make steem more usable in open market." EXACTLY the point..!! Stephen

I would definitely use something like that. I would be a good way to directly spend the SBD from the 50/50 posts without having to go through bitcoin or whatever.

The more things I can purchase directly with Steem or SBD, the better.

Thank you. Thanks for the Comment. I appreciate it. Stephen

I would use it, because it would make it easier for me since I'll cut out many procedures for obtaining fiat money, and use Steem or SBD directly. The issue of transparency is obviously dealt with by design (bless this platform). :)

The service could probably get very popular because many people here probably use eBay. It could even expand to include other marketplaces, if possible. Pardon my answer if it's shallow, I'm relatively new to cryptocurrency.

Just a side note: I think there's potential for many such services, especially since Steemit is getting more and more popular by the day

"...because it would make it easier for me since I'll cut out many procedures for obtaining fiat money, and use Steem or SBD directly". Exactly the point. the example I have used in another comment is simply lets say you wanted to buy a cheap second-hand bike on Ebay for $25. This would cut out any exchanging back to Fiat. Stephen

I'm just curious: what would happen in the case of a refund? How would that be handled?

I would definitely use something like this. eBay still has a lock down on payment types accepted don't they? They only accept Paypal?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53