500 Followers - Thank You!!

in #steemit7 years ago

500 Followers.png

Wow!

Almost this time last year I was surfing around Facebook and I noticed a post about someone being censored and having their post hidden from their viewers. It wasn't so much the post, but a little comment under the post that has brought me to where I am today.

I can't remember exactly what it said, but it was something like;

"Facebook is dying anyway. Check out steemit.com where you can post what you want."

This was such a simple thing to say and I had no idea what they were really talking about at the time but I clicked on the link and plunged myself into the world of Steemit and the galaxy of cryptocurrency. This is how my steemit adventure began and it's been a very interesting year learning about all this different blockchain information. If you would have told me last year that I would have 500 people following my blog, I would have thought you were crazy.

Now, some might think that 500 followers isn't a really big deal. Some of the people that joined around the same time as me are well into the thousands now. I'm totally okay with that. I'm not them, and it's a huge deal to me. I don't post every day like others do. And, I post a lot of random stuff from drawings and music to short stories and video's.

I'm a very introverted person. In person and on steemit. There are many times that I find myself reading a good post and I write out a nice comment. But then, as I'm reading it over just before hitting the post button I change my mind and delete the comment. I'm not sure how often this happens but it's a bit. So if you notice a vote from me, I might have wrote a comment out and never hit post. And I'm totally okay with that too. It's just how I've always been. I hold back a lot in real life too in a much similar way.

But, thanks to the steemit community, I've been brought back to my artistic side. Before Steemit, I had stopped drawing for a number of years, my guitar playing was beginning to abate, and most other artistic things that I used to do when I was younger were happening less and less. Steemit has completely rejuvenated that and I am so glad I found this place with all of you here.

Again, thank you to everyone for following me. I'm looking forward to the next year (and beyond) of Steemit with all of you.

And, for anyone that is coming up on 500 Followers themselves, feel free to use the above graphic I drew up last night.

b14rlldlg

stephen-king989

SteemGig Commissions

Buy My Prints
Amazon Merch T-Shirts
RedBubble Merch

Sort:  

500 is something to be proud of. I'm right behind you at 477. If anybody hates on you for not having thousands of followers yet, they're crazy.

It's awesome that Steem has made you more creative, I have noticed the same thing with my own blog here.

It really is amazing how steemit brings out (or brings back) everyone's creativity. It's a weird thing because it's not about the money (at least for me). It's more the way everyone is sharing all this great content they're creating and everyone, for the most part, gets along really well and supports each other with great comments and encouragement. Sharing the same content on other sites doesn't get anywhere near the great comments and support it gets here.

Congratulations Stephen!
I was like you. I would write a comment with like 5-6 sentences and before hitting POST, I would delete everything and just write "nice".
We grow everyday. This community is awesome!

I try not to put simple comments so I usually just delete the comment and move on. I should really try and make an effort to get past it and just hit the post button. I'm not even sure why I do it. It's not like I care too much what people think of my comments, it's just something I notice I do. I'm sure we're not the only ones who do this either.

Totally!

hey ,big day for you ,congrats : )

Like others have said, I think 500 is an impressive accomplishment. I am especially grateful that you told me about steemit last summer because it was the start of my learning curve on blockchain technology. Many people think that someone my age should not know about blockchain and cryptocurrency because it is sort of like watching an animal walk on its hind legs: Interesting, but really, they shouldn't be doing that!

It's the same with all new technology. People that don't want to take the time to understand it will end up putting it down to justify themselves not knowing about it. Everyone will get on board when all their friend have already adopted it. You didn't wait and now, after only a year, I think you would agree it's certainly paid off for you.

It certainly had--I never expected that the introduction to this technology would be so rewarding!

Congratulations!

wahoooo!!! That's a lot of followers, congrats!

Congratulations!
Thanks for starting to follow my blog, that was actually the reason why I found yours.
Best
T.

Your picture of the beach house really cracked me up. Thanks for the comment, and the follow. Welcome to steemit.

Ha! It's been my weapon over years for a reason.
Thanks man! It's appreciated.

Yeah I often rethink a lot of my comments... other times maybe not enough. haha. This place has really reinvigorated me as well. I had so many "todo" lists creatively. Books filled with ideas and they were just sitting on a shelf collecting dust. Now I am finally going back and rereading because I feel I have more purpose creativly here. It is a good feeling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.35
ETH 2676.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90