Would you buy items for Steem/SBD @ a Online SteemIt StoresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

So behind the scenes I've been working on a eCommerce store for Steem / SteemDollars. I never even asked if this is something people would be interested. So that is my question is there any interest?

If so, what sort of items / or categories would you like to see have items for you to purchase in Steem/SBD ? Do you think you can help me reach a certain amount of volumn to cover the sites costs?

Any other features would you like to see ? I have some creative ideas for this that I believe people would like.

Thanks for reading! :)

Sort:  

Can you do vouchers (amazon, etc) like Gyft?

I second that.

The challenge is in the exchange.. I can technically use Steem now as long as I convert it to something people accept.. To have a store you will eventually need to buy items in a standard currency like USD. The challenge as a shop owner would be reconciling the cost of the item with the current value of Steem.

Love the idea - I hope you are the first one to really create a store that sells items in Stewm - not a store that sells items in Steem hedged to the USD. :)

Good luck!

Thanks for the response @rgeddes. There is a plugin already that does the conversion to USD. I have the system already built and everything is calculated perefectly :) I was more curious what do people want to buy mostly.

Good luck with the store. What plugin are you talking about that 'does the conversion to USD'?

Right now with the holidays I was looking for gift items. But also sneakers would be cool. High quality cotton T shirts with crypto logos and themes. Billabong hoodies.

Hello! yes, I need to bring this back for sure. Check out my store at Steemporium.

I don't know if it would be feasible but I was thinking game downloads.

Yes, this can be added also. Good thinking also.

Yes I would and am curious to what others have to say having been a second hand dealer for many years. Also...

Included in Steemprentice Spotlight :)
Tweeted by SteemLand

I wouldn't mind seeing a books section with the works of alternative researchers and financial folks. My biggest problem shopping online is shipping rates to Hong Kong. So I'd also like to see cheap-as-possible international shipping. Royal Post from UK is the best I've seen so far.

Well done you. In fact, the only way for Steem to become a bone fide currency is for people to use it directly to buy goods and services. If people simply exchange Steem for dollars, the value of Steem will continue to drop as the pool of new investors and speculators dries up.
Bitcoin is the only truly successful crypto, so far, for the very reason that people use it for direct purchases. Steem may be the second because of people like you and because of the community spirit as a whole, which should keep this thing going after the price plummets to cents: people will stop trading their Steem, when it is virtually worthless, but rather than sit on it, they may have the foresight to spend it in shops, like yours, which ultimately should push the value back up.
Like many people, I have very little Steem to spend, so your shop will also need some everyday basic cheap stuff.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89