You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deleted

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This is an interesting way of looking at the platform's state of affairs. I've been thinking of ways to generate the data for new sign-ups based on locations, but haven't figured out a statistically credible way of extracting such information. You've inspired me to keep thinking.

The countries you've mentioned have some of the finest promoters of Steemit. The influx of new sign-ups is our fault. Our motivation however is far from scamming, my promotion effort for example's been funded from my own pocket, and what I make off of Steemit is locked in Steem Power to support the platform, and the people we bring into Steemit.

Not sure how long you've been in the crypto space, but it may help put things into perspective to read about where the biggest scams in crypto happened.

It is an important to aim at a balance of sign-ups. The platform ought to maintain a symbiotic relationship between content creators, and curators ( those who are willing to put in the time, and those who are willing to bring the cash). As a published author I am sure you can help with that (if you're willing). Start with your family and friends, then your community.

There are people from the UK who are targeting investors for their promotion efforts, the CEO did a tour in Korea where there are crypto whales. Both the UK promo team (non-Steemit Inc. employees), and the CEO are certainly not bothered by the volume of sign-ups from the locations you've mentioned. To some extent, they are supportive of people promoting the platform in those same locations.

Also, you mentioned that you are fairly new in the platform. I suggest reading the white paper at your most convenient time, and do a search for the word "abuse". You will find it interesting, as I have when I've read it for the first time.

The community has developed ways to combat abuse, which by the way is not exclusive for the countries you've mentioned.

I've been in the platform for over 10 months now, and I am still learning new things everyday, so I can certainly understand why the things you've mentioned in your post may come up to be concerning for you.

I wish you all the best in helping the platform strike that balance. If you need any help I am also @steemitph in discord and Steem Chat.

Sort:  

Deleted

Agree. I've written a post about Steemit's NOT being easy money here It will Take Time & You Can't do it Alone after being in the platform for three months. I know what you mean about Nigeria, I was working for PayPal between 2005 to 2011 and oh were some Nigerian scams headaches. Some of the most reputable Steemian like you now know are from there though.

Terry acts like no whale (although his effective SP, and his good heart show him as one), but I am sure you too are whale to him.

I hate reading boring stuff myself, and it is easier to form opinions about how things SHOULD be as I wrote here When You See Only A Portion of the "Truth", You Form an "Opinion".

Deleted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62065.67
ETH 2429.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68