You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curious Case Of The Destitute YouTubers

in #steemit8 years ago

An encouraging and informative read. I've thought a lot about the parallels between YouTube and Steemit (probably prompted by memories of taking my daughter to VidCon... and nudging her to get on here because... well, Pewdiepie).

Sort:  

Pewdiepie surprised me and a lot of other people. I would have never imagined that people would want to watch others play video games like that. Hopefully your daughter sees the value in gettin on this early. Every platform ended up having rising stars. There are people who are famous on Vine, people who are famous on YouTube....etc. There are already Steemit celebs developing.

Her favorites were Pewdiepie, Smosh, and Jack's Films (and others I don't remember). She still hasn't gotten onboard, but maybe if I show her this post... you know, because I didn't write it!

Kids have a hard time listening to their parents. LOL. Smosh got on YouTube early and just never stopped. They were interesting. Jack Vale Films surprised me in a lot of ways because him and Edbassmaster were two of the older pranksters that actually made it and they became friends before either one of them was big which was cool.
It is really hard to tell what it takes for people to kick into action on any of these platforms. Steemit to me is really a no brainer but I have personally seen 4 people I know outside of here quit right away. Then there have been probably 3 or 4 people who thought it looked like a good idea but they are always getting ready to get ready. Scared of the potential of rejection when it boils down to it. It isn't fun when a post doesn't get paid out much. Like right now this post is sitting at a low payout even though it is well liked and informative. But I just keep pimping it and hopefully a whales sees it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43