I kind of enjoy the bear market

in #steemit6 years ago

When the price is low all the fair weather posters are gone and it’s more of the hardcore steemit crowd. You don’t see that Rolling Stone dude posting right now to milk the reward pool while not supporting the community.

It also lets me see which new people I want to continue to support when the price goes up. Plus from a personal benefit side of things it gives me a larger portion of the reward pool :)

Crypto was always a long term play for me so any ups and downs are kind of meh. I still like seeing what the people I follow post and it even keeps the bidbots down for a bit. I always sort of enjoyed communities/games etc when they are small. I like the charm of the places before they go mainstream and turn into the typical cesspools. I bask in the now because in 5 years I get the feeling it won’t be the same type of place. It will be more polished, gamified, streamlined and perhaps more mainstream.

To those of you still here posting and growing and working, I salute you! Glad to have you on board unlike those who when the price goes back up will be posting “had a lot going on but glad to be back” posts. :)

Slow and steady wins the race.

Sort:  

I love when prices are down more steem is earned when they're down

Yea I really think many don’t get that, oh well lol

Maybe a few will learn something new today.

I’ve been posting regularly but I’m only a few months in so this “lull” is kinda new to me. It seems that a chunk of the regular folks I typically interact with is MIA which kinda stinks. I keep chugging along though, hoping to make a difference here. Steemit definitely has its share of fair weather fans....that’s for sure!!

I was feeling things that words couldn't capture. Since I am no artist, I tried a poem:

              I see the pits of hell
             Yet I hodl and not sell

    I opened the door and it was bathed in red 
    'Sell! sell!' was all that the crowd said

    Those around me call my sanity in question
     I look at them blankly and no inflection

          My madness was always my friend
      It was she, that brought me to this end

           Where others saw this as an end
           Was an opportunity in the mend

          I post not for dollars but steem
   This is the difference between froth and cream

You are becoming one of my fave posters...nice work. Go put this in your own post and post it!

After I saw this reply I did exactly that.........I modified it a bit to suit another project that I am pursuing (It's a big steem giveaway). The original content is still there:

https://steemit.com/steem/@hashcash/being-alive-on-steemit

I hope you like it :-)

PS: Sorry for the late reply

awesome, go for the cream!!!

I am finding it weird that I am working harder than I was in December. Gathering more steem than I have been since I came here :)

In fact it is nice for many who see this as an opportunity to invest and maximize profits when prices stabilize, I think it is the most ideal

Well I sure things improve on here. I really miss the 2017 Steemit bliss...

Low prices are frustrating to me
But I expect prices to rise during the coming period
Thank you for supporting us. You are a wonderful and successful person

Probably frustrating for you since you are powering down to use it.

This is my first down swing and it's so awesome! The getting steem rewards is awesome :) I'm glad I could stay to meet all the hardcore steemians!

I had just been thinking about the same thing too that how this place will look when/if the mainstream hits. Communities will come, but will they just be the same like with Reddit? Will the actual sense of community increase as a result as I've experienced it here, getting me to meet people in real life?! That certainly would've not happened for me in any other mainstream social media. That's why Steemit has a special place for me already despite not cashing out a single dime, on the contrary: I have invested some fiat myself into this place. But even if that was lost, I'm ok with it because I'm planning my life (or the near foreseeable future) so that I don't have to rely on crypto gains.

Upon realizing that I can live my life regardless what happens to my crypto, I've gotten a huge sense of liberty. That regardless the $ sign in front of Steem's value, I can do whatever I like. Not being dependent on it financially – and even more importantly, mentally – gets my focus back on track to the things that matter and where the real meaning of writing, or one's any given craft, is found. This is also why I refuse to check coinmarketcap because it'll only distract me from the things I should be doing. I know there's a bloodbath, I don't need to see the numbers, because like said, they don't actually matter to me.

I actually posted 4 times yesterday, on Sunday, I didn't even realize that until after I clicked 'post' on my free flow thoughts of the evening.

"Really? 4 times in a single day... hm, that happened."

Well, they were all relatively "small things" but still something I would've shared anyway.


This is a great time to see the true motivation of people.

Oh yes @steemitadventure. We rocking this party whether the music is on or not. It is kind of quiet but it's nice. I get to see people who take their art serious.

A great and positive outlook and I feel the same @steemitadventure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35