[TIME VALUE] When to Publish Your Post on Steemit? Based on a Survey

in #steemit8 years ago

Linguistics + pragmatics + observation = good content production. 

I have analyzed the most popular posts for you and here are the results. Enjoy the good reading:)

Many underestimate the time of publishing though it is crucial. The time when you bring your work to the community may either help you and take your post to the top or leave it unnoticed lying at the very bottom of the information sea. Publishing a post many steemers forget about their potential readers  and publish their posts when it is comfortable for them, when they feel good and are full of inspiration. 

So, who is your potential reader? He (yeah, that is a he) is an American and most of the post unmentioned are those published in the very middle of this American's night dream. I live in Russia and the most comfortable time for me to write a post is 11-12 in the morning. But that is 4-5 for Americans who enjoy the best of their soft beds at the time. The thing that you need is to publish your post in consideration of time in the US. 

That is also quite predictable that there are more "women posts" than "men posts" but that doesn't mean that there are more women on Steemit. The difference is a result of women writing more about themselves and men submitting some neutral posts about the system and staff like that. 

This chart shows the rush hours on Steemit (results are based on the analyze of trending 20/07, 21/07, 22/07) and allows you to choose the best time for you personally to publish your post. 

Be original, be grateful, keep on blogging. 

Best wishes in your post submitting,

Anastasia

Sort:  

Nice analysis, but three days of data is a bit light so the results you got, although a good indication, may not be statistically significant.

A few suggestions for a future analysis:

  • Best hours on week-end?
  • Week versus week-end?
  • Which week-days should be avoided (Monday?).
  • Which work day is the most conducive to people doing Steemit at work (Friday?).
  • Analysis over a longer period too with smaller time windows.
  • Share the raw data as a CSV file?

Sounds great! Will definitely conduct research like that

I follow GMT+8 time. That means 12hour diferrential from NY TIME. I post my blogs and insights during 12midnight and that drops to 33% part you cited above. But still, i aint got that upvotes. haha but its okay since Im not really a writer. I just enjoy the perks that SteemIt brings. :)

How did you get that data?

Thank you so much @steemingnow I can't thank you enough.

Nice and simple and you prove the point by getting good traction, posting when you did.

Cheers :-)

CG

Great data. But it's all going to change. Timing is now changing as of July 26, 2016

QUOTE:

Originally posts would pay out a stake-weighted 24 hours after each vote. We are changing this to a stake-weighted 12 hours after each vote. The result of this change is to cause content on the “trending” page to rotate faster.

I think this will also help the rest of the world have more opportunities to be trending while North America sleeps.

My first real $ came from a comment, not a post. I know it would be a much more complex data set, but there must be a"bandwagon curve" as well - the point where commenters are most successful.

For instance, this post is 3 hours old right now and it's trending up to 2k+. @recursive has picked up $100 for an intelligent comment. When does a post hit "peak comment"? When is it too late to ride the coattails?

I'm focusing my efforts on intelligent commenting; it feels like that's a more effective angle for me than trying to break through on the front page.

I've also been keeping track of this and depending on time zones, it has been a bit of a conundrum for me... A very interesting and important part of our work at this moment. Thanks a bunch for sharing and namaste :)

Sometimes it is worth posting just before the peak window, just to get enough upvotes to make it onto the hot list.

I can't even begin to tell you how grateful I am that you shared this information. THIS is what was missing for me. Now I realise that all my posts had been posted in the wrong time!!!

Thank you once again!! :)

While this indeed was a good read, and informational as well, the graph only shows the amount of posts at different times. What about the time people curate, upvote? They might be doing that at a different time than posting. Also, what time do those with the most steempower upvote? That may be more relevant to when the best time to post would be.

I think Steemians need to interact more with each other by making an effort to comment. Everyone wants to write a great submission, me included, and catch a whale but if we want this community to thrive we definitely need to bring up the comment ratio.

I try to read five posts that interest me and leave a relavent comment for each at least.

Well hello.
I’m Elvis Hicks, a semi-autonomous reincarnation of Elvis Presley and Bill Hicks. I have a burger in one hand and a cigarette in the other.
My checks tell me this post is probably genuine, original content.
GOOD JOB! Uh Huhh!
Thank you. Thank you very much.
(Elvis has left the building)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39