You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Open Letter to the Steemit Powers that Be

in #steemit8 years ago

I think you made some valid points, and I also thank you for showcasing overlooked material. It is discouraging to see certain people getting huge rewards day after day while most get crumbs. Good writing is not enough, and supplying original photography is not enough. I haven't written enough blogs to give up yet, but if I write and write without getting more than pennies, then I'm likely to conclude that Steemit is just a variation on a corporation where the people at the top get compensation that's drastically higher than the low-wage workers who keep the company going.

On the other hand, 12 hours aren't very long when you consider that this is a site serving the whole world and people have such varying work schedules.

Sort:  

Thanks for taking the time to read through it and comment. I appreciate it.

Regarding the 12 hour rule and lack of eyeballs seeing the content, I believe if the content receives sufficient upvotes, the time is extended and more people can view it. If Steemit does not reduce the voting time, it inversely correlates with user engagement (longer voting periods = less engagement). Why search for content, when I can automate a bot and receive a sure payment? I don't even have to curate I can just dogpile for easy rewards. That is the biggest way this system is killing itself. I think that one change can make a noticeable difference.

My hope is that someone a whale who understands the implications or @dantheman or @ned will see this and consider the implications. The numbers are telling a better story than I could ever. The hard truth is it will most likely be buried at the bottom of the pile. It's a bit disheartening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50