My milestone is a comment, not a number

in #steemit8 years ago

If this is a community, then this metric matters.

Yesterday I passed one hundred followers, and my reputation is up to 45.5. My numbers had stalled for a bit because nobody knew me (I wasn’t doing promotion at all) and I had stopped blogging while I figured out the site. My earnings are abysmal, but slightly less abysmal than they were. At the same time, I’ve struggled with illness for weeks and weeks and have debated what to do about the fact that I live in a wonderful place that seems to be making me sick.

Tonight, though, I found the Steemit metric that matters, in this comment by @bmwrider53 (emphasis added):

I am a huge Genesis fan (particularly of the Ant/Steve era) and know Chris' work. What a fantastic comment, you have made my evening. Thank you. You are right, sometimes there are more important things we need to do.

His comment was in response to my comment on this blog of his. His blog talked about failing early on as a musician after dropping out of school, and the hungry days after that before he joined the Coast Guard, earned a college degree, and taught in an inner city school. He defends his dissertation tomorrow (good luck, @bmwrider) and will soon release a CD.

I had read @bmwrider’s intro and his series about teaching, so the response I made tonight concerned the gifts that might have resulted from that early failure:

I'm glad you're giving yourself a second chance with your music, but your blog made me start thinking about Field of Dreams. If you had succeeded at music when you were young, you might not have become a teacher when you did--or ever--and therefore wouldn't have changed the lives you've changed.

Chris Stewart had a very short-lived career as a drummer with Genesis, an effort that had started with high school friends playing together. He wasn't considered good enough for the band to keep him on. He eventually bought a farm in a remote part of Spain and wrote a series of hilarious memoirs beginning with Driving Over Lemons. I selfishly am so glad he failed as a young musician. If he had succeeded back then, the trajectory of his life would have changed, and Driving Over Lemons and the books that followed wouldn't exist. Even if he had written books, they would be different books.

I hope that all your life experiences that resulted from that early failure will enrich your music.

My comment made his night, and his reply made my night, and that, my friends, is the metric that matters to me.

Sort:  

Earnings are good, especially when you really need them, but NOTHING beats the feeling when you know something you created made a difference in somebody's life. Especially a difference that contributes to happiness. I hope you feel better soon.

Thank you so much, @onetree. Among my many jobs, I worked for corporate attorneys and later for a legal aid clinic providing services to poor people, including the undocumented immigrants a certain politician reviles (if you had a choice of never seeing your children again or crossing a border illegally, which would you choose?--and yes, that is a true story). The second job paid less but meant so much more. I have been living on bonus time for a long time, so basically I want to spend my life in meaningful moments, and I juggle an inadequate income the best I can. Thank you for the good wishes for my health.

That's really cool. I believe everything happens for a reason, and the universe is always conspiring to push us in the direction of our greater good. The way you point out how people went on to do awesome, amazing things even though they didn't accomplish their original goals is spot on, and very insightful. I believe the universe had other plans for them, and gave them the circumstances they needed to change direction. And the things they DID accomplish are still pretty darn wonderful. Excellent post.

Thank you. I really appreciate your comment.

Leaving here in a few minutes to travel to the University, I want to thank you very much. I get pre-presentation jitters and your blog entry is very affirming. Again thank you for your positivity and kind words.

Thank you. Good luck!

And I am so sorry I forgot to upvote your comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Well said my friend, positive in all things...

Blessings..

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51