HOW TO CHANGE STEEMIT USERNAME?

in #steemit7 years ago

Firstly why i want to change my username from steemcollator to steemgames?

When i first came in here on steemit my intention was to collect more steem for the future, that why my username is @steemcollator, but now i realize that my username has nothing to do with the service that i provide in the steemit community. I usually post games if you have been on steemit for while i'm sure you have notice my games. Guess the celebrity and win steem. and Guess the word and win steem. i post them almost everyday

I was just wondering if it possible for me to change my username from @steemcollator to @steemgames so that my blog would have straight content and the meaning of what i do on steemit. if my username can be steemgames i will stick to games and produce more game for the community and for my followers.

If you know how to change steemit username please feel free to leave a comment.

Sort:  

Saying you can't change your name "because blockchain" is really closed minded. It makes no sense. Sure the blockchain is immutable. But then all that means is there's a record of the name change. Don't be daft! The feature should be enabled. Steem is holding itself down.
I just edited this post, blockchain that!

This is the blockchain way my friend. Once done something... is forever! ;)

That means i cannot change it?

Ohh...yesss :)

lol that bad for a social media, if they want steemit to blow they need to make this feature

I disagree, but that's neither here nor there.

This made my day, lol!

you mean... like a record of a namechange would be forever? sure, that makes perfect sense.

You don't.

Maybe you need to read how blockchain works. Once you put something it in you can't change or delete it. Isn't it so liberating for a social media knowing no one can delete or modify what you put on it? Also, don't lose your password, you can't​ retrieve it, no one can.

Thanks for explaining. I'm a complete newbie when come to blockchain,

You don't need to be a technical genius to understand its basic functions. Just as you don't need to know how your computer parts are working together to use it.
All I ever needed to understand how it works was in a 13-minute​ video on TED

Thanks this video outline everything to me

Steem on!

This is a very informative video i was lucky enough to stumble across because of your post. Thanks for sharing it. It has helped me a lot

I came here because I wanted to change my user name. I ended up learning an important lesson. Thanks for sharing

This guy is one of the lead developers behind Ethereum and Cardano (ADA).

This fact proves that blockchain might not really be good fit for social media.

sorry mate, but in blockchain, nothing is changed, for security reasons.

I didn't know man, but I got it now thanks.

You'd think it could be "updated" later down the line. Though im assuming steemit treats the name as a raw address, instead of having a numerical address that can be appended with a set name (much like burstcoin names for a wallet address)

Secondly, it would be easier to just make another account, but AFAIK it takes forever to do so now.

Edit: i know you can change display names on the blockchain, but it doesnt change the @ address

They finally approved it. lul.

If the username were a pointer to a unique userid kept in the blockchain, the username could be changed while preserving the blockchain.

My question is that: if I change my username, will only the new name appear in the next posts?

This would be interesting, because you can list your old work using this: https://steemit.com/static/search.html?q=YourOldName

But I still don't know if the content with the new name will not appear in the mentioned search.

You could try to make a new account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79