Open Letter to @ned and all Steemians - Stop the wars and the abuse of steem power, we are only damaging Steemit!

in #steemit6 years ago

hope.png

Dear @ned I write this letter addressed to you and all Steemians, I do not know if you will ever read it, but I feel the duty to do so to raise awareness on the issue and that we can work together to make Steemit a better place.

I want to tell what happened to me about 10 days ago, but not to point out my incident, but because I'm sure I'm talking on behalf of many and I fear for the good future of this platform if the things continue to go in this way.

A few days ago, after voting for a post of @berniesanders, I was flagged with no valid reason by these 3 accounts @done @bcc and @btu, just because I voted for Bernie Sanders I received 6 downvotes in two my posts. The fact that the reason is this is obvious, these 3 accounts are in war with Bernie Sanders and they wanted to punish me for supporting him. I have no interest in meddling in wars that I can not fight and I would not, I gave my little support to Bernie just because he was one of the few that support my start here on Steemit. But as I said it is not for the loss of this money that I write, but for the fact that there was not a valid reason for this action and that I am only one of the many victims of these injustices.

My posts that were flagged were posts that had nothing to do with anyone, 100% original and they talked about my project to invest in Steemit. Invest in Steemit to support more people and bring new value to the platform. I am a small fish and as a person I am not rich, but I wanted to invest the same and share my idea because I believed in a better future and I believed in other people. Steemit on a personal level has given me a lot and my main idea is sharing, there are users who use their steem power only on themselves and there are users like me who use it for others. You all know that Steemit is an open book and you all can control what I say, you will see that more than 90% of my upvotes are divided among many users that in my little I try to help.

After always behaving respecting everyone and everyone's ideas and dedicating myself to other people, sensitizing them to the proper use of Steemit, be massacred just because I once gave my support to Bernie Sanders I do not find it right, for fear of receiving further repercussions I also removed my upvote from his post... Do you understand the fact? We are talking about PSCYCHOLOGICAL TERRORISM here on Steemit. Now people are no longer free to vote for someone for fear of being slaughtered.

Screenshot-2018-3-13 stea90 Steem.png

What they do not understand is that acting like these 3 accounts did, they are not only hurting me, but Steemit itself. So they should understand that even their investments of a lot of steem power will be lost if steemit continue in this direction. Already the situation of cryptocurrencies is experiencing difficult times, if the damage is created even from within then it will be difficult to think of a rose future.

In addition to economic damage, the worst thing of all was the great indifference. I did not react by accusing anyone, in fact I kindly asked @done @bcc and @btu to remove their flag from my posts, which had no reason to be destroyed so, but I did not receive any response and the flags were not removed. I asked for help from some big users and even at the top of the group to which I belong, I was simply ignored by everyone, for indifference or fear nobody was available to help me. Only a few friends tried to help me and I am very grateful to them.

As you can see today I'm not here to accuse anyone, I just ask a bit of honesty in this platform and that a user can not be targeted so without reason. The flag should be given only for the right causes, users with so much steem power should be more aware of their actions. It should not be allowed to deliberately damage someone just to terrorize and deprive him of his freedom.

Steemit has become like the Far West, where are the users with more steem power to dictate the law, no one can afford to express their opinion otherwise it is massacred with flags. In these days where I thought about my future on this platform, I had the opportunity to talk to different users in chat and I noticed something in common among all... Everyone would like to invest in steem power, but they are scared in doing this, because are continually allowed these situations and all are doubtful about the future of Steemit.

@ned I understand that you are a businessman and you have much more interest on users who have invested large capital rather than poor people like me. But I want you to think about something, Steemit is like an empire where you are the king, the whales your generals and the little fish your people. Remember that every great empire in history has always been supported by the people, there can not be strong growth if your people are not supported and live in fear. There are tens of thousands of users who have left Steemit for one reason or another, when it is certainly one of the most important projects in the world of the blockchain, and yet it not able to record increases like other coins. The reasons may be many, but one of the main reasons is that things are not going well here, spam, poolreward abuse, psychological terrorism, big users who dictate their law, all of this is slowing Steemit and its growth and removes people's desire to invest their money here.

But I'm still confident, that's why I'm here to write this letter today, with the risk of being again massacred for no reason. It would have been easier to give up everything, make power down and cash out, instead I'm here to fight for a better Steemit, to give voice to my thoughts and to share it with others.

For me, a solution would be to remove the flag and that can only be used by a team of serious and selected users who act as moderators on the contents. The flag is not like a do not like of Facebook or Youbube, a flag here can do a lot of damage both economically and psychologically, it can not be allowed to use it so lightly and without valid reasons. I think you need to think about a solution, it's clear that things can not go on like this.

The same applies to users who abuse their power on poolreward, I think selfvote should be limited, I will not say eliminated, but certainly limited, I have seen people use almost 100% on themselves, for me it is a shocking thing. Even the use of voting bots should be limited, it is not fair to see ridiculous posts on top of the trending list just because pumped by upvotes bought. These bots I used them too, but with awareness, even having the possibilities I pumped only a few posts strongly, but only because I thought that for the good of the community had to be shared among more people possible and not to seek further gains. I would also like to help this post, in order to give more visibility to this message, so that as many people as possible can read it, and in the hope that you can do it too. But I fear in further repercussions and I would not want to be again massacred and lose again what I got with a lot of effort.

I think that if there were similar measures to those mentioned above, then users would no longer serve the flag and things would start to go better, at the top of the trending list you would find only posts really deserving to stay there, so finally Steemit will enjoy of the trust it deserves!

Yes, there is a lot of work to do, but it can possible, there are lots of competent people, ready to work to make Steemit better, we know how many fantastic projects have been created around this platform, we do not let these difficulties ruin everything good that has been created.

There is still much to talk about, but I do not want to bore you too much, let's start from here, stop with damaging others and in turn Steemit itself, let's work together for a better future!

@ned, I do not know if you will never read this post, I know you can not intervene directly on these situations and surely you already know all these problems, but then I ask me why? Why if instead of thinking only about future development, you stop a moment and try to raise awareness of a conscious use of steemit who is suffering much due to of these careless uses of steem power, surely your word would not be ignored, as it will probably be mine.

I wanted to write this letter with an open heart, my intent is not to criticize, but to seek solutions to a situation that is damaging everyone directly or indirectly and is certainly slowing down the growth of Steemit. I only ask you all not to be indifferent to these injustices, not to be afraid of repercussions and to be united for the good of all, without creating any wars that never bring anything good.

Steemit continues to have my trust, I hope I do not regret, because the money can always recover but all the time I am dedicated to this platform will never come back. I believe that things can change, so I decided to continue. I apologize for my bad English, I hope it's all understandable, a hug to everyone from your @stea90.

separatore finale.png

No matter that you vote for this post, no metter that I recovering what I lost, I would just like to understand if people agree that there will not be a future in this way and that they are aware that we must change. I still hope in this platform, share this post if you can and leave a comment, I would like to understand what will be our future here.

Remember that united in honest use we will win, but with the wars we have all already lost.

Sort:  

My friend, I hope that your message is read. Steemit needs more people like you and less people who abuse this beautiful project. I always wish you the best, continue for all of us and never give up, ok?

I made resteem too, I hope I can help!

Of course I continue my friend, I do not give up just for this! Indeed now I am even more determined. Thank you so much for your support and nice words :).

I really hope that @ned will pay attention to your post! I, on my part, did everything possible to draw the attention of my followers. It is very sad to see the ignorance from the strong world of Steemit ... I would like to see the assistance and solution of the problem.

We hope dear Inna. Because these things do not harm only those directly involved, but they are hurting all over steemit... Thank you so much for your support!

thank you for your words.
You´re right.

Exactly if the flag system will be changed, so that it could be used with more awareness, things could improve.

I agree! The flag needs to be taken away or limited to rules or not attached to the monetary gain of a post. Its only going to hurt the platform if this is how it already is without that many users.
Following you! Upvoted and Resteemed!

Political warfare in a time where financial interest controls political acting without any ethical consideration, on a platform that basically hands them the discourse on a silver platter through an API with no checks at all?

Sono indignata ma non stupita, purtroppo. L’aspirazione a un sistema che si autoregoli, a mio parere, è ancora utopica. Gli esseri umani fanno fatica a convivere in presenza di regole condivise, figuriamoci senza. I bulli, i prepotenti, i disonesti sono ovunque e Steemit non può certo fare eccezione: qualcuno di noi è stato sottoposto a colloqui di selezione per entrare? C’è di tutto, come nel mondo reale, comprese certe dinamiche che nel mondo reale ci fanno orrore, come la piaggeria, il servilismo e le guerre di religione. Sarebbe un ottimo materiale per tesi di laurea di sociologia, in verità.
Per quanto posso, ti appoggio e condivido il tuo sconforto.

Hai Pienamente ragione Paola! Effettivamente mi sento un po' ingenuo con tutte le mie belle speranze, come dici giustamente è impossibile credere che qui ci possa essere totale libertà e onesta, alla fine si rispecchia la natura umana che si trova ovunque con tutti i suoi aspetti buoni e cattivi. Però è anche giusto lottare per sensibilizzare ad un utilizzo più consapevole, non si può sperare di cambiare tutti, ma più comprenderanno meglio sarà per tutti e sarà comunque una vittoria. Grazie per il tuo supporto.

Basta usare un po' di buon senso, e capire le iniziative di un utente che non aveva nessuna intenzione di danneggiare nessuno, bastonare dei post solamente perché ha espresso una preferenza mi sembra assurdo, vuol dire che su Steemit c'è veramente da stare attenti alla propria ombra

Purtroppo si, dovrebbe esserci totale libertà di pensiero, invece è tutto l'opposto. I potenti dettano legge come gli pare e piace. Ok che anche nella vita reale è così, perchè una delle più grandi cavolate è il detto "la legge è uguale per tutti"...

Sono solidale con te. Le belle parole su decentralizzazione, eliminazione la censura, ecc, ecc, ecc possono avere senso solo in un sistema dove nessun individuo ha il potere di bullizzare gli altri...oppure se ci sono dei garanti credibili.

Grazie Claudio. Si è vero, come ho detto qui è tipoFarwest, chi ha potere detta legge e gli altri o gli va bene così o vengono massacrati e basta senza opzione... Io penso che sia giusto che uno possa flaggare i commenti maligni su propri post, come per esempio quelli che provano a rubare le chiavi. Ma per il flag nei post altrui dovrebbe esserci un sistema diverso, è che non vedo come sia possibile attuarlo qui, richiederebbe un team che operi costantemente e penso che invece l'idea di Ned e Dan sia di aver lanciato una piattaforma che cammini da sola, tranne per gli appositi aggiornamenti di sistema.

Ciao @stea90, è giunto il momento per noi pesciolini di andare a prendere a calci nel culo le balene cattive. Possiamo delegare il nostro Steem Power per schiacciare le balene cattive. #flagawhale #flagthedonkey
@hendrix22 si sta occupando di questo insieme ad altri utenti di Steemit.

Da una parte è giusto non stare fermi a guardare, ma dall'altra tutte queste guerre sono molto dannose per il buon nome di Steemit. Dovrebbero essere gli amministratori ad intervenire, almeno con degli avvisi, non dico di bloccare certi utenti, ma perlomeno avvisare che se continuano ad abusare del sistema ci saranno conseguenze, sempre che sia possibile.

Ci vorrebbe una sorta di Polizia su Steemit. :)
Gli essere umani non riescono a vivere senza scannarsi tra di loro.
Lo so che @ned potrebbe schiacciare con un dito qualsiasi balena su Steemit visto che lui ha il 51% degli Steem, ma penso che lui vuole che la community si autoregoli da sola.
Comunque visto che la community di Steemit è riuscita a creare il team di @steemcleaners che riesce a fare un buon lavoro contro spam, plagio e furto d'identità, sicuramente la community riuscirà a risolvere anche quest'altro problema. :)

Si sono state create molte cose positive e io ci spero che venga risolta anche questa. Oggi c'è stato un bel segnale, coloro che mi hanno flaggato hanno votato questo post. Questa volta il dialogo ha battuto la guerra!

Adesso sono andato a vedere, dimmi che sto sognando. :)

No, è tutto vero :). Ci sono rimasto anch'io, però mi ha fatto molto piacere, non quanto per il fatto economico ma proprio per il buon sengale che ha dato.

Come già ti ho scritto, trovo questo modo di utilizzare il flag una forma di censura e di "bullismo", ancor più grave perchè utilizzato in una community che ha fatto e fa del decentramento la propria bandiera. Detto questo e preso atto (è sotto gli occhi di tutti) che non siamo "pronti" ad essere veramente e del tutto "decentrati" (sarò pessimista, ma che era una mera utopia era evidente, visto che comunque si tratta anche di soldi e per quanto ci piaccia pensare che siamo qui ANCHE per altro, "senza lilleri 'un si lallera" come si dice dalle mie parti ), trovo perfettamente sensata la riflessione su una sorta di organismo di controllo. Non dico di togliere la possibilità di flaggare al singolo utente, perchè ci sono casi in cui lo trovo non solo utile, ma anche l'unico strumento che abbiamo per contrastare altre "piaghe" (tipo i millemila copiatori seriali, i millemila spammatri seriali, etc), ma un organismo che verifiche se il flag dato sia "motivato" (quando flaggi c'è un esempio dei motivi per cui puoi downvotare, non c'è assolutamente il "lo downvoto perchè lui ha upvotato uno che mi sta sugli zebedei" , magari potrebbe essere stilata una lista precisa dei motivi per cui si può downvotare e sulla base di quella l'eventuale organismo di controllo fa le verifiche.

Esatto! Infatti dico anch'io il flag serve in certi casi, come per tutti quei ladri di chiavi che ci sono ora, gli spammer e tutto il resto. Allora nel proprio post si può rimanere liberi di utilizzare il flag, ma giustamente non si può danneggiare i post altri per motivi futili. Se ci fosse un organo di controllo sarebbe il top, però non so se è una cosa possibile ora come ora, almeno credo non sia nei pensieri di ned e compagnia bella. Vediamo come procederà, però ho visto un buon segno oggi, coloro che mi hanno flaggato hanno votato questo post, allora il dialogo può ancora servire.

if steemit wants to be a long-term project, each of us can invest different resources.
But you khow the idea of ​​having to suffer flag without reason is discouraging.

Little but sure... I do not ask to be voted, I do not care to become a whale, but I would like at least to be respected my freedom and that of all the good Steemians who commit themselves.

Wouldn't we all like to be respected? When you don't get respect though, do you Demand it? do you force it? or do you even want it?

I am already respected by other people, because I respect them. I fight for injustice, against steemit abuse. That's all.

You avoided the question. The question was not "are you respected by the community was it?" I asked specifically something entirely different than your status and the merits of it in the community that offered to give instead of a simple clear answer to the inquiry. Do you need me to rephrase the question I asked first or do you want to explain why you didn't answer it and why you did answer with what you originally did?

It would be discouraging only if :
A; you are here for the money above everything.
B; you are the victim of what other people think about your words.

It would be suffering only if:
A; you cannot see the value in it.
B; you haven't realized the secret above.

Come già ti ho detto qualche giorno fa hai la mia piena solidarietà... ribadisco che non ha alcun senso ciò che hanno fatto è che è una tristezza assoluta... speriamo che in futuro questa cosa dei flag venga rielaborata da chi di dovere...

Finalmente, qualche altro utente della comunity italiana che si fa avanti, è allucinante quello che è successo, se vi fermate un attimo a pensarci, bravo @dexpartacus!!!

Ahahah non ti preoccupare, il buon vecchio dexpartacus è sempre presente :).

Grazie amico lo apprezzo molto! Secondo me dovrebbe essere giusto sui commenti del proprio post, in modo che si possa oscurare tutto lo spam, ma non si dovrebbe poter andare in giro a flaggare così, togliendo libertà senza motivo... Speriamo si, che possano trovare delle soluzioni.

Ci mancherebbe amico mio! Esatto, oscurare lo spam è più che giusto. Dovrebbero trovare un sistema alternativo equilibrato.. speriamo lo facciano al più presto!

The sad fact about this is, that a lot of people just think about their self. They do not understand, that in doing something without having an instant "payment" they create a value for others, for society and therefore also for them self.

It´s a circle. And if everbody thinks about how he can get the most out of everythin, simple things just die.

It´s not about what you get. It´s about what you give and get in return without expecting it.

That´s what gives the most satisfaction.
Getting something without expecting it....

Thank you for your text.

upvoted and resteemed

It would be too beautiful if everyone thought like you! Then Steemit would become the most beautiful place :).

Thanks for your help! We hope that things can improve a bit at a time!

The reason steem works is because people are incentivized to not be as greedy, so dan tried to use the drive of greed to counter greed. If you need to explain to people morality of giving is receiving you might as well run down by the swine and ate for casting pearls in front of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87