Steemit Decline.

in #steemit6 years ago

Of all the cryptocurrency's I've invested in Steem is the poorest performer. I own BTC, ETH, POWR, XRP, XMR, ETN, XDN, and STEEM.
Screenshot_20181030-194526.png
I read a lot of enthusiastic comments of how Steemit is doing all these wonderful things to help the platform grow, but 6 months worth of declining price doesn't bode well. While all my other crypto's have had hills and valleys and most are still low, Steem has been a steady decline for months now. I scratch my head and wonder why I even take the time to type the letters.
I've saw a lot of graphs and images showing a good portion of users have powered down recently and just as many have powered up but somehow it feels like the shine is gone, hell even the greed is lacking.
I don't even take the time anymore to look at the trending feed, nothing of any real value seems to be there unless you like fish or want to have a bunch of drama over whether or not a person should or should not be allowed to vote for their own post or not.
I've read a lot of interesting ways you can go about claiming accounts if and only if you have over 4500 or so in Steem Power. Funny though I got 3 friends that tried and tried to sign up for a new account and after a month of no resolve they quit trying. I guess that what they call "user friendly ".
The sad thing in all this is, so many of my favorite friends on Steemit are simply not here any more. They, have just quit, only to log in once every other month or so just to look around, say hi, then go and not come back at all.
So go ahead. Call me Debbie Downer. But do be kind enough to comment or better still a nice invite for this "good" content. I mean really, you read this far, there must have been something in these words you found favor in - perhaps not.
Perhaps I'll just hit the power down button and take my $100 worth of SP and convert it to BNB and use it to cover future trades while fading to the distant memory of so many other Steemians who simply got tired and left with the thought of empty promises from a vacated digital realm.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. I do hope things turn around in the near future for everyone involved. I followed you and look forward to seeing something new from you in my feed. Good luck and God bless you too.

@atmosblack @spozone @gillianpearce Couldn't agree more!

Our wallet opened with around $35 dollars. Over the past 6-8 months, it's now TANKED 2 a mere ONE TENTH of a fraction! Hopefully they do manage to eventually turn their game around.

In the meantime, #MINDS.com is DEFINITELY the place to be, with #GAB.ai coming in a distant second.

If any of you are not yet active, but do decide to come on board, be sure to use the following "referral" link

https://www.minds.com/register;referrer=JaphyRyder

All the best! JR

I'm still waiting for a social media running on TRON, since I'm now fully invested in the TRON ecosystem and trade tokens there on the DEX. So I have become independent of the old BTC and its moods. The highly anticipated SMTs on STEEM are already a reality there, so why wait...

I totally understand. I was invested a lot more than you and the price decline is actually not the worst thing for me. Other mechanics I wrote about some days ago here https://busy.org/@atmosblack/whati-learned-over-the-past-months-on-steemit-1540727613873 are making the whole picture even worse.
There are not really better alternatives atm, but this will change 2019 for sure and then we'll have other options.

The sad thing in all this is, so many of my favorite friends on Steemit are simply not here any more.

This has been my experience too @spozone and I, as a result, I am spending less and less time here.

I may soon become one of those who only visits once a month.

I hope not. I for one would miss you. I'm also hoping that this is just a temporary trend of sorts and vibrancy will return to this space.
I don't have a facebook, a twitter, a reddit, an instagram, or any other social thing so here is it for me lest I go back to Second Life and pretend to be real. Secondlife is a real time suck though. So many days just walking around looking at artificial everything..

Aw. That's sweet of you @spozone.

I don't hold out much hope myself as the decline seems every downward.

I didn't know Secondlife still existed. I thought it's time had also come and gone! 😱

I once met someone who did a doctorate on how much secondlife avatars matched their owners in real life. I think she discovered that no matter how different people tried to make themselves, after about three months, they reverted to their first life behaviours.

Hmmmmm. I definitely don't look like this in real life but I logged on just to take a selfie for you.
Screenshot_20181031-214155.png
BtW I made all of the jewelry and the eyeglasses I'm wearing. I do miss making trinkets there.

Ha, ha, ha. That's hilarious @spozone. So that'a you ideal woman is it?

I think the study conclusions were more to do with personality than what they actually looked like!

Is it possible to be there without an avatar? I don't remember creating one.

Did you resist "walking" around while you were there?

Ideal woman? IDK. That's the other me. The me I'd be if I were ...well I am her. It's still a little confusing at times. I needed a model for the work I was making so I made her. Then I whored her out to pay for uploading textures and 3D models. After awhile, I stopped using original me and just used her. Secondlife is perfect if you have multiple personalities or gender identity issues.
Yes you can get a chat app but it logs your avatar in to a simulator somewhere and you're just standing there with your shoes on your head and your pants for a shirt and don't know it.
In the end I was getting pretty good at making stuff there and was teaching myself how to make 3D fitted mesh clothing and shoes. Girls love shoes and will buy lots of them if they look real and fit nicely.
I still use Lumiya - Android app and log in to chat with old friends. Every now and again I'll even go visit them and hang out or go dancing at an inworld club , but Lord, I'm an ancient on there now.

but Lord, I'm an ancient on there now.

But isn't that the point. Second Life where nobody knows your name age. 😂

I'm old and so is my avatar. What does that mean. A few weeks ago I was walking around a sim and this girl messages me saying "OMG, you'rethe oldest avatar I've ever seen on this game", to which I replied "gee thanks you really know how to make a guy feel good about herself" and just logged off
...guy -->herself.. I crack myself up

🥂Cheers to having identity issues ^.~💕

Have you @gillianpearce and @spozone checked out Decentraland (Mana) I hear it's like Second Life but Ether is the currency?

I've never heard of Decentraland not and I've haven't been on Second Lie for years so not likely to check it out. 😁

Aww.. -hugs-
If you do leave steemit we have to stay in touch some how.
Supposedly there's a steemit 2.0 coming to EOS. It'll be exciting to have I thinks. There's many dapps I want to explore in steem. Some seem useful and some seem entertaining. After HF20 my friends also got discouraged with the new user experience. I hope they'll reconsider how it is for new users and users with low steem power. I would like things to be more fair. But I still it better than Reddit and Facebook. I tease my coworkers for being on those platforms and they admit they get karma worth nothing and negative time.

You could hold your steem for the long term hold or delegate it out for passive earnings for x amount of time.

Congratulations @spozone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55