STEEMIT Secrets: 5 Things I Wish I Knew as a Newbie

in #steemit7 years ago

STEEMIT Secrets: 5 Things I Wish I Knew as a Newbie


So, these are not secrets per se, but are some of the things 99% of the newbies don't know about, and I can personally tell you that throughout my journey promoting STEEM, most guys who enroll suffer from the lack of knowledge on these facts.

I wish I knew these things when I signed-up, so here is a post that I'm writing for you to show the guys who onboard on this beautifully rich platform.

 

Voting Isn't Unlimited: Look at your Voting Power

First things first, this is what happens with nearly everyone who joins - they vote their power to oblivion.

This one happened to me, it happened to everyone who joined that I know of, and it happened to a lot of guys that are veterans by this point.

There's no mention of the "voting power bar" anywhere on the platform.

When you join, you don't know about Steem Supply, Steem Reports, Steem Now, Steem World and all those nifty platforms you can use in order to check tons of metrics you never even knew about.

Having that in mind, know that you do have voting power and that it goes from 0% to 100%.

This power is spent, but it regenerates 20% per 24 hours. So, you can spend 20% per day, but what is 20%?

20% is the equivalent to 10 x 100% votes.

On the other hand, know that if you're a newbie, if you have under 500 Steem Power, all of your votes are worth 100%. Only those who have more than 500 SP have a bar so they can choose the percentage of vote they want to give out.

So if 10 x 100% Votes represent 20% vote, if you vote with 50% power you can vote 20 times per day.

So, before your friend who is new on STEEMIT starts voting until his power and bandwidth expires, show him this.

 

Comments Matter More Than Posts Early On:

I already mentioned the importance of commenting in one of my previous post. When you have no followers and when your posts still only make you cents, then you have to go fetch your audience, you can't wait for it to find you among all of the noise in the blockchain.

Having said that, commenting is the way to go. Comment on posts that are similar to yours and try to participate in communities that make sense.

 

Check Your Metrics with Steem Supply:

By typing "steem.supply/@username" you get access to a report that tells you not only about your rewards, but also when the payout is.

At first, many people don't know when the payout happens, this is a way to know that. On the other hand, you can run other accounts through this platform so you can see what the secrets of growth to some accounts are.

For instances, when I was a newbie I saw a newbie like me growing faster, so I ran him on this page and saw that he was making over 50+ comments per day and I was at roughly half.

I pumped up those numbers and experienced a lot of success.

 

How Many Posts Per Day?

There are a lot of new users that worry about the amount of posts they are publishing. They fear they are posting too much and that they'll get banned or something.

Now, most users that experience this resort to searching for how many posts are too much and they wind up reading posts from a year ago where everyone is talking about the 4 posts limit per day.

Know this limit doesn't exist any more, and that you can publish as much as you want, BUT I can't imagine anyone can make quality posts more than 4 times a day, so be careful about what you put out, you don't want to look like one of the most infamous STEEMIT users.

 

Don't Use the 100% Power Up Feature:

This feature was useful for when the SBD price and Steem Power was the same. Know that SBD is much higher than Steem nowadays and as such you are wasting a lot of power by putting all rewards on SP.

By placing the option at 50/50 you get roughly the equivalent of 75/25 because SBD is worth roughly the double of Steem Power.

So, if you're starting out and you want to invest in Steem Power, you get more bang for your buck by picking 50/50 and converting the SBDs you get to Steem Power.

So, what other things would you love to know when you were a Dust Account holder or a newborn on Steemit?

Share those things in the comments below, and if you liked this article, don't forget to give it a vote and a resteem.

Cheers!

All Images Copyrights Free From Pixabay.

Sort:  

One other "secret" I have seen occurring is the Levels Jump. I first started here and did not do a whole lot of anything as I recall, a first. I read more than posting or commenting. Plus voted. I was a bit more active in the latter part of my first week? But here's the "secret" that I have observed. If one hits the ground running, you jump several levels. I was a 25 (as everyone is) and moved up one or two fairly quickly. Then all of a sudden I was a 42 rep level, and I was motivated to do more, learn more and yes, even INVEST in some SP of my own. Cannot remember when I hot my 500 SP and the attendant "slider", but then it was off to the races! I bought my SP, never had more than 27 on a delegation. I'm happy for that, it made me transfer some BTC/ETH gains over here ;)

I see that you have discovered (prolly long before you were a steemer!) that helping others helps you grow as well, Max. Not just in the steem/sbd sense, but in the 'spiritual' sense too, I am using my drive to EARN so I can LEARN. Making friends/money/contacts etc on steemit really does illustrate the spiritual journey of life, and it is very accurate IMO.

Again, even though I hate voting you up, your comment is golden and I agree with everything stated. So, here you go! :p
Cheers mate, as far as level skipping, the progression is logarithmic and each level costs 10 times more than the previous to unlock.

I need to see this "LOGARITHMIC" policy in writing. I was level 52 a lot less time than 51, and 53 was also a cake-walk. But Steem values were going up, and I was cashing in that SBD as fast as it came in too. Level 54 was really quick, but 55 is taking about twice as long, but not 10x... although I am relating it to TIME, and you seem to be tying it to steem costs.

Link Please ;)

No link, but the rep level rises with upvotes you get.. upvotes with more weight more climbing. It is around here somewhere... Ill never find it again with this awful search bar though.

If somebody with a very high reputation upvotes, that gives the lower rep individual a huge boost. Those with lower reputations don't increase the reputation of somebody with a higher score. @spiritualmax is right, the higher you go, the more work it takes to reach the next level. it is logarithmic.

Thanks for confirming my suspicions @wwf
I think Steemit loses by not having these stuff explained in a streamlined tutorial of sorts.
Newbies often never get out of the onboarding part of the platform.

Hi guys, i am replying here because maybe i have a better chance of being heard and then getting an answer i can understand! I learned of steemd.com today and checked out vests but don't really understand them yet lol, i was just curious about vests. But, back to this post, how can i cgange SBD to steem power? I think that is what I want to do to make my vote worth more? Isn't it!!? Either that, or wait a few days to do any voting..... i think i totally vote myself into oblivian, haha :) ..... can you please help me understand bandwidth, don't have a clue why that's a thing. And, one last thing (for now!) Witnesses, i think it is important to vote for them but how do i understand who is who to vote for?! Awesome post @spiritualmax i always appreciate your offerings @wwf and many thanks @skycae i found this post on your blog as i was looking for your Ancient Mayan write up .... which I will get back to finding (i don't think the links worked in your follow-up post today) now! Talk about rabbit holes! Hahaha :) steem steem more steemit ❤

Hello there... you don't have to worry about Vests. Steem Power is what you're looking at for voting power. Vests are a measure for those who worry about their stratification on the fish scale.
On the other hand, you can buy steem with sbd by clicking buy on steem then it opens blocktrades. In blocktrades you put steem backed dollars and the amount you wish to convert, like 1, then you select steem power on the other end and click get deposit address.
Once you do that you get a name and a memo. Go back to your wallet and click trasnfer on the sbds and then select that amount, like 1, and put the name blocktrades on the account and paste the memo from the page.
And it's done
Witnesses are like the miners of steemit, you can vote on witnesses you think will do a good job verifying transactions and etc.
Cheeers.

The information is out there, people just have to look. Others before you wrote similar articles to help people. I wrote one myself as well. I shared a few other tools that helped me.

Here is my post from a few weeks ago. I hope it helps.

https://steemit.com/steem/@wwf/day-70-on-steemit-what-have-i-learned

Great tips, and good on you for sharing them. One lil tip for the newer folks.. don't resteem everything in sight, it will shoo away a lot of potential followers. Yep, done that at the very beginning, and got the t-shirt.LOL

Have An Awesome Day.

I do not think a resteem garners any curation rewards, but it might kick-start voting again for the OP once it is presented to your followers list. Good Point, 'now'! :D

Good call ;-) Done.

Very true, thanks for the added tip :D

Excellent post! I would like to say that I appreciate you writing this article to help others better understand and make the best decisions on using Steemit. I recently converted my sbd to steem power and am glad I did. I want to increase my sp so letting a few sbd go doesn't bother me at all. I'm fairly new here and am exploring ways to be more productive in my posting and commenting. As far as commenting, I think you're correct! I have earned more from sensible commenting than my posts, honestly and I am glad to have been able to make a few friends along the way. I have my favorites here just as everyone else does and I try to make a point of supporting their work as well as hunting down new faces and content. I'm truly beginning to love it here!

Thank you for chiming in. I'm glad you are investing into SP, that means you're invested into the future of the platform and on the future of the blockchain, and that is always a positive thing.

Yes, indeed! I have a lot of love for Steemit and the decentralized blockchain. I am sincerely doing all I can to support and promote the site locally as well. I try to help people unfamiliar with cryptocurrencies and block chain technology better understand its uses, how it works, and the value. By being a part of this community and posting regularly I am adding to the platform as all of us are, I suppose. I want to see Steemit grow and evolve so I will continue to provide my support and invest long term!

So do I... let's keep it growing.
Cheers!

Great tips, still rather new to the platform, so most definitely am going to be using some of your insights from this post!!

Quick question about upvoting... if you upvote more than your allotted amount per day, does this affect your account balance or anything regarding your acct. in a negative manner??

kind regards from @conradsuperb

It removes some weight from your votes and depletes your voting power bar, that's just about it. SP, Steem and SBD is in no way affected.

thank you for your response, greatly appreciate it. Keep up the quality work here on steemit @spiritualmax

This is very helpful. Thank you.

I've been wondering whether the search for information about how the platform works is intentional, like a rite of passage which wants to know that you are sufficiently interested and worthy. :)

I certainly hope it isn't intentional and something to work on. It would be bad for the platform otherwise.

thanks for sharing.I am a newbie myself and I believe I am doing most of the things you write above but there is always space for improvement and things to do better.Hope to learn much more from you @spiritualmax in the future. Have a great day!

I'll make sure to think about more advanced tactics!

appreciate that!

Nice post...nice finding you today. I love fast, deep thinking and acting people.

Then you'll like me :)

I think a Steemit Glossary? Dolphin, whale, minnow, SBD etc.. My guess is one exists already and I just can;t find it. Seems when I search for any tag that's not trending I get only old results and not by tag, but by content? It's probably me not using the search properly or something lol

The search bar in this site sucks.... can't find anything as well man. Thanks for the suggestion.

Ok so it's not just me then? lol That's a pretty big issue no? It makes it hard to connect with things that are not trending.

Yeap, I've been raging at it since I signed up!

Rukka! You're a gem to the newbies. Good thing I know a friend who started here so she guided me quite well except for saving your voting power. I had to research some of the things myself but for those who have zero/no idea on how everything works, this can be a great help. ^^

Thank you for your kind words Dawnie... so you also spent your voting power like crazy I wager :)
Cheers

Great idea to share some of the basics with us newbies :)
Lets see how it goes!
Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37