STEEM Price Drop: What Does it Mean for New Users?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

STEEM Price Drop: What Does it Mean for New Users?


If you have been following my posts, then you know that when Steem's price started climbing I wrote a post titled:

Well, today the post is the reverse, and we're going to approach what does the current state of the market means to new users, how you should take advantage of it and how to play the market.
We'll also go over how the market will behave in the future, and approach the difference between now and the last time in which the price was at $5, before the initial climb.


from: Pixabay

What Are Your Options? Taking Advantage of the Current Steem Price:

Let me be clear:
I think the price drop is a natural correction and nothing more. Make no mistake, STEEM prices are going to rise, and this is just a normal market fluctuation.
So, here are my pointers on what you should do right now:

  • [ ] Keep Investing Into Steem Power
  • [ ] If you have FIAT, Buy Steem
  • [ ] Don't cash out, HODL
  • [ ] Keep Your SBD if you don't want to Buy Steem
  • [ ] Don't Power Down

Now, explaining each piece of advice at a time.
You should use this time to invest into Steem Power - you should always invest into Steem Power unless you're thinking about cashing out. Cashing out relates to the third tip, you want to cash out when the STEEM price is high, not when it's low, so don't cash out.
On the other hand, if you have FIAT (regular money) available, this is the time to buy STEEM. Grab a bunch of it, as it will rise in the close future.
Finally, if you don't want to buy STEEM, don't cash out your SBDs to other currencies, as SBD prices are accompanying STEEM on the fall.
Finally, don't power down, keep your Steem Power intact because the STEEM price will rise and your voting power will be increased in the short-term.


from: Pixabay

What's The Difference? Thinking About a Week Ago:

If you are a newbie older than a week old, you still remember a time when the STEEM price was at $5 like it is today - I certainly do.
On the other hand, SBD was higher that time around. So, what's the difference?
The difference lies on how fast you could power up.
A week ago, you could get 2 STEEM units per SBD earned. Now you can only get 1.2 STEEm units per SBD earned (value fluctuates, but at the time of this writing it was like this).
This means you'll have a harder time powering up, but I don't think you should wait, you should power up constantly and as soon as you can, because STEEM is an asset that will go up, and SBD isn't so easy to climb as the other token.
People buy steem and they use it to power up. SBDs are units people sell to buy steem, and the platform gives users incentive to keep STEEM and Steem Power, not SBDs.
Bear this in mind when planning on the future.

Sort:  

I think you are correct, it made me think again. hmmm...

Glad it gave you food for thought :)

Long long term the ratio of SBD and STEEM will be like 1SBD=0.01 STEEM (or worse), depending on how high steem reaches. So enh. Price anchoring in volatile times making people's heads spin.

It's how I think anyway. I'd elaborate but it's a logical consequence from an earlier post of mine.. But again, that's real long term. For now we can just enjoy the ride.

And I agree with you... holding SBD makes no sense in my book as well.
Glad to have you as your comments are always great and contribute to the discussion Eon.
See you around!

dips like this are great time to get more steem!

I agree mate... I'm focusing on earning it though :)

I still don't quite understand the behavior of SBD price in relation to Steem price, but your article has helped me come away with the important point @spiritualmax... powering up maximum Steem and selling SBD for Steem is a good move right now.

Yes JB... let me tell you the following:

  • If people sell SBD to power up or to cash out;
  • If people want Steem to power up
  • If people have incentives to keep Steem in their accounts....
    ... you have to agree that there are a lot of incentives to keep STEEM while SBDs are usually just spent. That means Steem will rise in relation to SBD in time. So better power up while SBD is higher than Steem... you'll thank me later :)

I have just done as you said, thanks @spiritualmax!

You're welcome mate, whenever you need anything you know where to find me.

Steem should be treated as a long term digital asset and not a get rich quick crypto.

the best thing to have right now is steem power :)

Indeed... I'm building it since I came here, and it is finally starting to add up.

It will always continue to be a wait and see approach. Great read and thank you.

Thank you for stopping by @jr11
Cheers!

Did you write this before or after you got drunk? :)

One thing is for sure though, I won't be powering down anytime soon.

I wrote it during Dawny, during! :D

My bad lol. ^^

The volatility of the steem price would make a lot of people panic...a wise investment needs to be made.

Agree Sean, glad to see you around.

Thanks for the great advice. i hope steem actually sees a dip so that we can power up

You and me both

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64156.67
ETH 3169.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53