You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Content discovery! Steemit vs Reddit. (just a rant)

in #steemit7 years ago

Hey again @transisto

One of the things I find the most lacking here on Steemit is the search function. Taking you to a completely different page branded by Google just can't be.

You see, I'm a college professor, I teach Marketing at a University and I promote Steemit to my students, who jump at the opportunity to work here and share the community with the rest of us.

One of the first things they ask is: Professor, how do we find each other?

I explain that it is easilly done through the search function.

Do you know what most of them come asking?

Professor, that sends us to a Google page.

I mean, they don't even bother to check the results because the page changed so abruptly.

Not only that but we all know, as we are Internet Users, that usually searches with that kind of bar SUCK TONS!!

Huge turnoff, not intuitive, marketing fail and something that just has to be worked upon.

Anyway, I almost wrote a post here myself, in fact I think I will approach this topic on my blog soon, it annoys me a lot.

Cheers! Keep up the good work.
Upvoted.

Sort:  

I am new on steem world. Please guide me follow me and upvote me.@cristi

try steemsearch.com. It's pretty new and im working hard on it so if you have any feature requests or ideas then let me know in steem chat #steemsearch

I am with you @spiritualmax.

Plus even when you do it, the results do not come up.

Half the time I will put in a @username and get something totally off the wall especially if the person is relatively new.

I end up digging through my following list to find the people.

Finding new content on here is mostly chance. There's no good method to find something new unless you know what you're looking for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60951.51
ETH 3381.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48