Tools That Steemit Is Lacking

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

image.png

Lee este articulo en Español aquí.

Hello Steemians!

Ever since i joined Steemit (and I'm sure it has happened to you too) I've been thinking about things that I would like to have here on Steemit or things that i wish i could do that maybe they would improve my user experience . This is why it occurred to me to create a list . Who knows if somehow maybe this article (or at least the ideas in it) gets to the ears of @ned or one of the developers. (one can only dream)

I should mention that in this list I am only including things that do not exist, inside or outside the platform (through third party websites). We already know that Busy, Steemtracked, Steem.cool help us with tools that the original Steemit platform does not have integrated. For that reason, (because these tools already exist outside the platform, we are not going to talk about them. We will rather talk about things that do not exist yet, in or outsite of Steemit)

So, without further ado, here is a list of thing that would improve Steemit.
image.png

1. Search bar: I am aware that there is currently a search bar in Steemit. But every time you try to look for something there, it always takes you to a general search on the internet and outside of the platform. I would like it if there was a search bar to find Steemit users or specific content referring to a particular topic, the same way the search bar on YouTube works.

google_inboxrebound.gif

2.Content Scheduler: That way, you can create content and schedule it to be published automatically at a particular date and time. I feel it would be great. At the moment the closest thing to that we have (that I am aware) is Busy, where you can write articles and leave them as "drafts" ready to be published as soon as you press the button "post"

It would be much better to be able to have the articles Scheduled , so that no matter what we are doing at the moment. Our articles are self-published at whatever time and date we want.

google_inboxrebound.gif

3. Private Inbox: Wouldn't it be great to be able to have private conversations with your Steemit user friends? Personally, I would love to have conversations outside the comments section of the posts. Maybe you want to say hello to a friend, and have a conversation that maybe other Steemit users would not really care about. So, why not have the option to private messaging?

4. Content Search Bar , Inside a Specific Blog: I feel that it would also be super cool that, when you go to a particular blog, under their profile information there was a search bar that you could use to search within the same content of this user. For example, being at @Luzcypher 's blog and to be able to simply type on his search bar the word "Steemfest" and find his articles referring to this same topic. rather than scrolling down forever and ever.

5. Uploading Videos Directly On The Platform This one is explanatory. I would like to have the option to upload videos directly on the platform without the help of third party websites such as YouTube or Dtube, etc. I wish that on the blog editor there was an "upload" button that not only allows you to upload images, but also videos.

I am also aware that the platform is relatively new. That we are still in Beta and that there is a lot of space for improvement and and growth . This is not criticism, it is rather a contribution, because in the month that I have been part of this community, I have grown to love Steemit and everything in it, and I recognize the potential that it has. If it's that great now, can you imagine what it will be like when it stops being beta ?!

Do you think there are other things that the platform should have? I would like to know your opinion in the comments bellow. What would you add? Do you agree with me on the things I said on this article?

Please share this article if you agree with me, so that maybe it reaches the ears of @ned and maybe he will take our suggestions into account. Better yet, if it turns out that you are the coolest person in the universe and you are a direct friend of @ned, and by chance you stumbled upon my article, please pass it on hehe. ;-) Maybe he has not thought about these ideas just yet , and he is interested (Sure , he already thought about it because he is brilliant, but it would be great for him (me) to know that I think the same as he does haha ​​, and that I approve those changes in the platform ;) )

You can also find me on Instagram and YouTube

See you all next time!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @soykatonline to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hello @soykatonline
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!
You have been determined by a human @soykatonline to be possessing of special gem. Do join the #untalented family!

Abolishing the conditioning attached to IQ tests e.g smart, dull, bum, average and you suddenly give every human a chance to shine!

So e.g if Bill Gates did Microsoft and i can do Macro-hard, arent we both genius? Oh, we both are! Showcase your talents regardless of its nature freely with us in #untalented. Relegate all reservations as flaws are allowed and we sift even the so-called nonsense to find sense therein.

#untalented is an ongoing historical curriculum with initiatives/contests, where each participant wins something. No losers! It is also a core branch of #steemgigs, so please join the SteemGigs community on discord already containing around 700 gifted steemian family members. See this URL for more info

https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers

and also this URL for the discord community

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

If you want to vote a witness, you can vote steemgigs too. Simply go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs into the first search box. Stay awesome!

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.

Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

Actually, you don't need to use Google anymore. You can search the Steem blockchain directly by using https://www.asksteem.com/

You can also search for content by individual steemians by adding @xxx and a keyword. Here I used the word polyglot.

hi! yeah, i had no idea this website even existed! thanks for the headsup!

Yes the inability to search for people drives me nuts!!! And not being able to PM people is crazy! Blessings great post! Upvoted and resteemed

Yeah! that is the most annoying part for me too! searching for people haha!>

Thanks for reading my article, i really appreciate it! i am glad you liked it! .♥

Very good post dear.I am alao thinking that if steenit upgrade some tools than it will more helpful for us.Another thing that their signup process is too slow.Some of my friends waiting for 10 days.So it is so much disgusting for us.

10 day!! what!!! ?? that is a lot!
When i signed up it took me 3 days to get approved... my friend who came after me got approved in to days... i never heard of such thing as 10 days... maybe it is because there might my handling it manually, and it takes them forever to approve all those accounts.
Specially now that there is SO MANY people joining at the same time.

Thanks for reading my article. I am glad you liked it ♥

great post @soykatonline and indeed the seach bar and private messaging would be nice add ons to the steem platform

i am glad to see that you agree. Hopefully those tools will come with all the new changes i am sure will happen soon. Since the developers and still working on it... and there is so much room for improvement.

Thanks for reading my article. I really appreciate it ♥

😍A very informative post. Great job. Keep it up! 😍
OpenMusic Steemit Kiss.gif

thanks!

You have no idea how much I love Emma Watson (Potterhead here!) i was pretty much obsessed with her growing up. I wanted to be just like her! haha!

this one from your gif is pretty much baby Emma. She was so cute back then. Now she just turned into this gorgeous woman!

Thanks for stopping by, i really appreciate it ♥

Some good ideas. But I think the most important thing missing here is Emoji buttons. 😁 😇 😍 😎 😎 😋 😋 😈 😂 😂

ahaha! yeah.. but i think that if you are using your phone you can actually use emojis... but then when you are from a computer, you might not be able to see them.

Yeah, like I said, it would be best to have emojis here, just to make sure. 😂
I hope there is probably someone already working on all this, so I can spam better, more often and effortless.
Anyway, I hope your post gets resteemed by someone important, for more awareness, really important topic. IMHO

Haha! You kill me :) ( my attempt of an emoji laughing out loud ) 🤣

Hah! Thanks!

I totally dig all your suggestions, @soykatonline! I would love to have these options. I find steemit to be full of cognitive dissonance, which does not really entice users to be fully involved... great post! Upvoted!

thank you so much for reading my article! i am so glad that you liked it and that you agree with me... i think the same way.. maybe if it was a a little better there would be more people into it.. but that will eventually happen, i think.

Great post! I know the frustration about some of the things that are not implemented. One tool I use now is streemian to make scheduled posts, that really helps. That way you can dedicate a full day to create content and then distribute the posts automatically during the week :)

Hey! whats up?.

i had no idea there was that tool somewhere! i really need to find it! haha.. thanks for the headsup! .. is it steemian.com ? or what is it?

It's streemian.com try I out it's a life saver

thanks sweetie .. i joined already .. i really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44