You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple test for right vs wrong on the steem blockchain... there is more to it than "the code is law".

in #steemit7 years ago

You are invoking Kant's universality. I never thought Kant practical, but in this circumstance, Kant's ethics may be eminantly applicable. I think Kantian ethics are good in prohibiting actions, but fail when it comes to commanding ethical actions.

Sort:  

commanding ethical actions.

Yeah I am against COMMANDS. I don't endorse force. So that was an interesting reply you gave there. I talk about force, choice, etc often but I haven't really remembered the word "command" or "commanding" in my posts. I usually refer to RULES, LAWS, etc. I totally forgot about commands so thank you for reminding me of an important word. :)

I guess the use of rules (regulations) have assumed within it the concept of "command" or "force." I think there is a subtle difference between regulation and law; regulations command action, while laws prohibit action. I am of the thought that unenforceable laws are not laws and impracticable regulations are no regulations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52