Things Every Steemian Should Know -- Add a comment and resteem

in #steemit6 years ago



There are some things that I didn't learn about Steemit until far later than I should have been made aware, and others that I have discovered only recently, in spite of being on here for over 18 months at this point. I want to share a few things I have on my mind that I feel are important for others to know, but to make this post even more useful, I'd also like anyone else to add anything they consider very important for the average Steemian to know.

Resteem the post to share the knowledge.


Things I would like to add;


  • You can add a # to the beginning of a memo when transferring funds to make the message private (though to what degree I am unsure, it will likely still be visible somewhere on the blockchain, but hidden on Steemit except to the recipient)

  • IPFS is likely to be far more permanent than has been made aware, so you shouldn't post anything on dApps that use IPFS unless you don't mind it being publicly viewable in the future.

  • Most, if not all, of the the early whales mined their fortunes. They did not invest their money as I have seen repeatedly shared in comments on Steemit.



What do you have to add?

Sort:  

The sp gains interest. Whales make money even if they do nothing.

  • The number of followers is just a number

  • Quality content is not always a long post

  • You will most of the time get less rewards that you expect

  • Rewards variate by the price of Steem and the number of users that claim them

  • There is a decreasing reward pool and not exponential inflation

  • If you are here for the money, you will have a hard time

  • Make fun and make friends, one must not exclude the other

Perhaps you should have been the one to start this off. Some decent points there for sure.

Thank you! I will push this up a bit, if you allow me :D

I find steem and steemit to be full of hidden features.
No where is it written what HTML, CSS and markdown features are supposed to work.
And, what is stored, and where, would leave many to wonder.

Everything is stored as markdown, on the blockchain. Markdown is a very used format in which things are written. Articles (comments and everything) are loaded up as a json and these transactions are stored in blocks. The rest is history of the blockchain that I won't talk about here. And Steemit, just as Busy and many others, are just views that are smart enough to know how to interpret these jsons and to present them in a readable way. There is a lot to learn if you really want to get to know deeper these things, I don't know them well even for myself, but if you have the will to learn and understand them, I am sure you will succeed!

Do you think that steem will ever introduce a json.meta data for storing which image to use as the thumbnail?

I hope so, but this kind of changes can be hard to implement for backward compatibility like what thumbnail should old posts have and things like that. Also it is hard to make this change when it is not only Steemit to change its UI to match the new aspect.

And, what is stored, and where, would leave many to wonder.

Well the post is supposed to be about sharing information, not hording it, so do tell.

I feel like i know nothing.

Anyway, it looks like you article is ... an addition? to another article, and i haven't gone searching for that, so i know the parameters.

I don't know what you mean. This is article is not connected to any other, nor is it an addition to, or in response to, any other article that I'm aware of.

That explains why i couldn't find them! From your intro, and then the jump to meat of your post was a bit abrupt, and so, i felt there might be another piece out there. I will see what i can do to write some of the things that i know, that don't seem to be widely related. But, i swear i learned them all by reading posts on steemit.

Yes, I noticed that whilst reading it back but neglected to change it. I will amend it now. Also, I think anyone could find out everything they need through reading this post then that one, at a natural rate. But, at the same time, I feel there are things that I wish someone had notified me of long before I happened across the info.

I didn't knew about the # thing for transferring funds.
I gotta chk it out. Thanks :)

Thank you to have shared, this is very helpful for us beginners

wow, never knew you can use # sign. WIll def try it later.

I appreciate your steemit post
$upvot helps me I am students

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27