Fifty-Word Fiction Frenzy: A Community Collaboration - Round Six

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Make a submission or vote for your favourite entry to be a part of Steemit's story. + Prizes



If you would like to get involved with this community project, please visit this page for information on how to proceed.


Thank you to everyone that has participated so far. @son-of-satire, @meesterboom, @fisteganos, @sazbird, @spark, @aunt-deb, @cobceo, @riskdebonair, @catulhu, @richq11, @ericvancewalton, @ezzy, @marifa, @dreemit, @smalltalk, @nikflossus, @writingamigo, @surpassinggoogle, @generikat, @countzero, @hexdek16, @jedau, @madlenfox, @skypal and @scaredycatguide.


Previous winners: @meesterboom, @dreemit, @generikat, @sazbird


In round five we had a tie-breaker between myself and @skypal. I had reserved my vote for such circumstances, and I decided to go with @skypal's creative entry. The story has taken quite a turn, which should make the next few rounds very interesting. Below is the winning paragraph that will now be featured in Steemit's first crowdsourced short story.

It was Emerson's Biotech lab where I developed the virus. I began to sweat as I tore the corner and peered inside. Emerson always wore the same ring. This was his finger, there was no mistaking that. My heart began to palpitate. I searched the aisle but Arty was long gone.

Congratulations, @skypal. All liquid STEEM and SBD generated from the previous post has been transferred to your account.




Round Six







Who would have thought that earning three million dollars could cost me so much. I had gone from rags to riches in scarcely a year, but I'd have given it all back in a heartbeat if it meant regaining all I had lost. Let me tell you how it began.

His name was Arty, he had slid into the train seat beside me, smiling, gold tooth glinting. "Hey, Danny. You wanna get rich?."

What the hell? How'd this guy know my name? I froze as Arty's smile turned into a cold leer. Something metallic shoved into my side. "Because you see Danny... I ain't askin'."

Looking back now, there are so many other choices I could have made. But terror paralyzed me for crucial moments of time. It seems ironic that it was the inaction of a coward that put me on this path, when so many things that came after took absolute fearlessness to pull off.

It's hard to reminisce about your shortcomings with the barrel of a pistol rammed between your ribs, and I found my attention returned to the piercing stare that Arty was casting upon me. a painful jab from the barrel helped me in my refocusing effort.

"You're gonna do me a favor, Danny." He drawled with no hint of polite solicitation in his glacial tone.

He held my gaze as he reached inside his jacket and withdrew a manila envelope.

Something squished in the envelope as I took it.

"Ya don't wanna know Danny, you don't want to put your finger on it." Arty smirked at that and quickly stood. "Be seein' ya soon," he said and winked.

As he walked away I stared at the envelope in my hand. I knew that address...

It was Emerson's Biotech lab where I developed the virus. I began to sweat as I tore the corner and peered inside. Emerson always wore the same ring. This was his finger, there was no mistaking that. My heart began to palpitate. I searched the aisle but Arty was long gone.

You decide the next part of the story. Submit your entry in the comments section below, or spare a few minutes to read through the submissions and vote for your favourite(s).




MAXIMUM OF THREE ENTRIES PER PERSON



For organisational purposes, I ask that if you are submitting an entry, reply to the comment which states as such. DO NOT reply to the post itself or the comments section will become too messy and disorganized for others to read through and vote..


Don't forget to vote for your favourite submission(s).





For details on what to expect from this blog over the next week, click here.

Sort:  

REPLY TO THIS COMMENT WITH YOUR SUBMISSIONS.

Please also remember to vote for your favourite(s).

I anxiously returned to the train seat, wondering what to do. Then my cell phone rang. I took a few deep breaths and took out the phone. The number was blocked, but I knew who was calling. I nervously answered, “Hello?”

“Alrighty Danny! Now’s when the fun begins.” Arty’s new york accent was unmistakable. “Like I said before, your gonna make bank. But not unless you do exactly what I say.”

Emerson was always a sneaky guy, but I never thought that he would get himself in so much trouble. He also said that my identity will be kept in secret... Yeah, right.

It was no coming back at that point. I had to look deeper into the envelope. After all, can it be anything worse than a finger?

Well... Now I know that it can.

Cold-horror ran through my veins and I started to sweat in my winter clothes. I hadn't really liked the man, but we'd worked together for four years and I knew him well. The grey buildings slid by and I found myself rising from my seat, Emerson's finger in my pocket.

I've already cast my vote, but I had to tell you that this is really well done ;)

Thank you. It's my first attempt at this wonderful game - I'll try to join in again.

Soon after, the train came to an abrupt halt. We were hurriedly asked to get off it because of some sort of emergency. I couldn't fully grasp what was going on as I was still in shock.
What could have happened to Emerson? It's been three years...

Emerson. He'd promised me that I would be in no danger. He'd sworn that nobody would get hurt. He was smart, and devious, but I doubted that losing his ring and his own finger was part of his plan. Carefully releasing the latch, I removed the tiny scroll from the ring's compartment.

That was an interesting turn! I like it

Yes I think it was rather unexpected. I hope to see your participation in this round once again!

I will give it a bash!

Congrats @skypal! Love the entry, fun turn of events :)

Thanks. This is fun. Thank you @son-of-satire for rewards and for coming up with such a cool idea.

I followed you today and give you upvotes now. You were very generous to me in your comment I read today. I wrote an article today too. We do not always have enough electricity for a use to give it to the computer. Today we have many. I have a new language coach so if I write it will be better.

Thanks for the message. I will give your article a read shortly.

Oh oh, this is fun! I wanna play!! My paragraph:

It had been years since I had seen Emerson and here I was staring at his dismembered ring finger. I hurriedly shoved the envelope into my coat pocket and rushed off of the train. I looked in every direction knowing it would be fruitless. Panic started to take over and I had so many memories flooding back to me at once. Where was Emerson? If he was dead, why would I have his finger? I had to find out, fast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40