Fifty-Word Fiction Frenzy: A Community Collaboration - Round Four

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Make a submission or vote for your favourite entry to be a part of Steemit's story. + Prizes



If you would like to get involved with this community project, please visit this page for information on how to proceed.


Thank you to everyone that has participated so far. @meesterboom, @fisteganos, @spark, @aunt-deb, @cobceo, @riskdebonair, @catulhu, @richq11, @ericvancewalton, @ezzy, @marifa, @dreemit, @smalltalk, @nikflossus, @writingamigo, @surpassinggoogle, @generikat, @countzero, @hexdek16, @madlenfox and @scaredycatguide. We have seen an inspiring amount of contribution so far.


The community voted that @generikat's short paragraph be selected for the next part in our story.



It's hard to reminisce about your shortcomings with the barrel of a pistol rammed between your ribs, and I found my attention returned to the piercing stare that Arty was casting upon me. a painful jab from the barrel helped me in my refocusing effort.

"You're gonna do me a favor, Danny." He drawled with no hint of polite solicitation in his glacial tone.

He held my gaze as he reached inside his jacket and withdrew a manila envelope.

Congratulations to you, @generikat. Your words will now be featured in Steemit's first community-written short story. I have transferred 25 STEEM to your account and another 25 to @countzero for an innovative submission. Thanks for taking part.


Round Four







Who would have thought that earning three million dollars could cost me so much. I had gone from rags to riches in scarcely a year, but I'd have given it all back in a heartbeat if it meant regaining all I had lost. Let me tell you how it began.

His name was Arty, he had slid into the train seat beside me, smiling, gold tooth glinting. "Hey, Danny. You wanna get rich?."

What the hell? How'd this guy know my name? I froze as Arty's smile turned into a cold leer. Something metallic shoved into my side. "Because you see Danny... I ain't askin'."

Looking back now, there are so many other choices I could have made. But terror paralyzed me for crucial moments of time. It seems ironic that it was the inaction of a coward that put me on this path, when so many things that came after took absolute fearlessness to pull off.

It's hard to reminisce about your shortcomings with the barrel of a pistol rammed between your ribs, and I found my attention returned to the piercing stare that Arty was casting upon me. a painful jab from the barrel helped me in my refocusing effort.

"You're gonna do me a favor, Danny." He drawled with no hint of polite solicitation in his glacial tone.

He held my gaze as he reached inside his jacket and withdrew a manila envelope.

..... YOU DECIDE THIS PARAGRAPH. MAKE AN ENTRY IN THE COMMENTS SECTION OR VOTE FOR YOUR FAVOURITE SUBMISSION(S) BELOW......................................................



MAXIMUM OF THREE ENTRIES PER PERSON


If my paragraph is selected, I WILL NOT claim the liquid rewards for the post. They will be reserved and added onto the next winner's bounty.


For organisational purposes, I ask that if you are submitting an entry, reply to the comment which says, "SUBMIT YOUR ENTRIES HERE." This will make it easier for viewers to find and read all of the entries and vote on their favourite(s).


Don't forget to vote for your favourite submission(s), even if you have made one of your own.





Resteem. Follow to track the progress of the story.

Sort:  

REPLY TO THIS COMMENT WITH YOUR SUBMISSION(S):

Please remember to vote for your favourite(s).

Something squished in the envelope as I took it. 'Ya don't wanna know Danny, you don't want to put your finger on it.' Arty smirked at that and quickly stood. 'Be seein ya soon,' he said and winked. As he walked away I stared at the envelope in my hand. I knew that address...

Arty smirked, “When was the last time you saw your brother?”

Now I was really confused. It had been a good seven years since Donovan and I had stopped keeping in touch. He hung with the wrong crowd, and eventually I washed my hands of him and tried not think about the inevitable – that he’d end up in prison.

“Yeah, I thought so,” said Arty. “Listen, your twin is my business partner. But I need you to be him, for a little while. Get the picture? And I’ll make it worth your while.”

Arty nodded towards the envelope, and I peered inside. It held a wallet filled with a shit-ton of hundred dollar bills, and a fake ID with my picture and my brother Donovan’s name.

Thank you all so much for the votes! And extra special thank you full of gratitude to @son-of-satire for coming up with this amazing idea!

The envelope thumped heavily onto the table. What the fuck was happening? I looked at it and then to Arty but he was gone. Jesus, I could almost have believed I imagined it if it hasn't been for the envelope just sitting there. I reached out my hand towards it, fighting a rising panic at what could be inside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40