You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deceptively Optimistic Self-Shilling Posts Hurt Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It's not. I admit I posted random shit when I first started on this platform, because I just struggled to figure out what to use it for, but I've since decided I'd rather NOT post than post something that I feel has no value.

I still need to figure out what kind of content I want to share(mainly which topics I'd like to write medium-length blog posts about), but until then I'm just not posting instead, and only writing comments and giving upvotes where I feel it contributes in a meaningful way. I don't want to be part of steemit's digital fast food problem.

Sort:  

this is probably wise if you don't have the right connections. Good comments create a good following and earn you some rewards as well.

I agree with you @somergermannerd ( that's a long alias). Anyway, I must admit I also started posting sh*t just to get some followers but then i realized it's going away from the real value of quality content sharing.

Most if not everyone posting crazy stuff just to get the attention of steemit community, to receive that .001 from minnows or if you get lucky some $ from whales.

Everyone is rewarded for simply being here that's great right?, but will also hurt the community in a long term. We don't want to be a community of spam comments. I received comment that doesn't have meaning to my post and I have no way to vote it down so quality comment is up there.

In our business website, we also rewards community members for their actions through points then convert to crypto currency but we also deduct points for spammy comments, bad behavior, etc. And I hope steemit community will have a way to implement this approach.

We all want to make this community succeed, but we need to have quality stories to tell and sanitize comments to keep a healthy community. What do you think?

Thank you @kyriacos for starting this discussion.

Follow me @Yehey

@yehey how about writing a bold warning at the end of every post saying in effect that spammers are discouraged here and every unrelated or spam comment here will be flagged ...and actually doing it? 🤔 🙄 😲


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

The problem with that, as I see it, is the bots and abuse and spam are so out of control here one would effectively use up all their voting power to flag such content (and, in the process, open themselves up to retaliation flagging which is nearly difficult to impossible to defend against without thousands of others supporting you)....
Financial Oligarchy, the struggle is real!

Hmm, got your point. But wouldn't multiple flagging to a spamming bot or user by several users make it blacklisted / inactive? Isn't there any such rule on this platform?🙄 🤔


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

Really seems to be more of an issue of the Value-of-One's-Network being greater than the Quality-of-the-Content.
This seemed to be an issue 11 months ago (New accounts soaring but Steemit use falling, multiple account spam?). Yet I haven't seen much pertaining to blacklisting, more based on what I see going on (the only thing I've seen dealing with @ blacklist has been a couple users complaining they were unfairly blacklisted, yet could still see their posts/comments).
Just doing the math (being as I was nearly 'nuked' myself by one user, I should have read the "White Papers" BEFORE calling him out....) it seems to me the value of one's account has more to do with it than anything else.
If a Red Fish gets hammered with flags and blacklisted it can ruin their account if they give up. If a Whale experiences the same level of flag attack, so long as it's value is high enough and Network strong enough, the suffering is significantly minimal compared to the same actions done upon a Red Fish. I would doubt the Whale in this scenario would even be blacklisted, doubtful since everything relates to the value of the account - the higher the value the more hits it would take to do any damage &the more powerful it's own flag becomes. Know what I mean?
Guess I should start researching the ins and outs of if an account can really be destroyed here or not, if it's more of a situation where an account finds themselves in a position they can not recover from and give up (or create a new one).

Hmm. So what's the story behind your rep slipping to this level? 😲
Upvoted. 👍


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

Observed one user promoting "flag other's high value content, it's great!" while abusively self-upvoting his own posts/comments. Since said user's posts mainly reflect an urging of everyone to join and invest (as well as use a referral link for BitConnect, which is now seriously under scrutany for having no white paper or proof of a trading bot even existing.... yet another crypto-scam), I came to the conclusion he was committing a type of online financial fraud and called him out. He hit me with just 5 flags (brought my Rep of my 2 week old account down from 50 to 5, his wannabe followers hit me with a few flags of their own to bring it down to 3).
Since reading the "White Papers" I realize the abuse and option to commit fraud are built into the system, so now I choose to call out the system rather than the individual abusive users.

Ohh! Sorry to hear this 🙁. It was a really hard way to learn that! Even if one hasn't got enough SP, he/she can always invest some money to purchase whale votes to flag some one. So the whole purpose of flagging can be defeated with enough money! Rich people rules the world ...it's a capitalist economy here too. 🙁
It's heartening to see your courage to labour your way up. Keep it up!👍


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33