STATEMENT - ๐˜ˆ๐˜ฅ๐˜ฅ๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด๐˜ด๐˜ช๐˜ฏ๐˜จ ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ๐˜ฃ๐˜ฐ๐˜ข๐˜ณ๐˜ฅ๐˜ช๐˜ฏ๐˜จ ๐˜ช๐˜ด๐˜ด๐˜ถ๐˜ฆ

in #steemit โ€ข 5 years ago


Good evening or good day to my dearest Steemians,ย 

as most of you probably already know, @appics is in the last stage before the public launch and we are constantly working on improving the app, onboarding new users, spreading the word and much more. One of my team members was recently contacted because of possible "suspicious" accounts, with a screenshot showing transactions from my account to other Steemians.ย 

I am happy to say, that the mainstream world reacts so open-hearted and is excited to join the crypto space. Unfortunately, Iยดve come across the comment where @logic is asking for external verification otherwise the Steemit community will continue to downvote the new accounts.ย 

This breaks my heart. Weยดve been constantly reaching out to people on social media to make them aware of this new technology and awesome community. In order to verify them here, I will post proof of conversations I had with some of the girls I send steem to, so they donยดt have to wait a few weeks until their account was created.ย 







I am asking you now to not downvote any content just because it "looks" suspicious. The girls already receive tons of bots in their comment section and I was welcomed in a much better way when I first joined Steemit. This community is strong and I hope we can continue to grow and accept people from outside the crypto space who are maybe not very much familiar with this new technology.ย 

Sending much love to you all!ย 

Soldier ๐Ÿ’›ย 

Sort: ย 

@soldier if you post some of the new account names here I will try to help with some upvotes

One thing we, as onboarding projects, have to understand is that since Steem/Appics/Dtube etc are monetization platforms, we have a lot of catfishing and identity theft going on where people just steal pictures from cute women to try and make some easy rewards.

My reccommendation is to suggest these Instagram people Appics is onboarding, to link their steem account with their IG profile (by just putting on their bio "find me on steem as @username or something similar).

I understand your position but I can also understand logic's train of thought given that Steem has a long history of catfishers and ID thefts. That small suggestions would avoid any trouble for Appics AND steem at the same time.

Giving this a 10% @ocdb vote to give it some visibility.

Thank your for this suggestion. I will recommend it to the new Users ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฝ

Lol! I was checking out the #introduceyourself tag and noticed the models onboarding Steem. And then there is this phrase: history repeats itself and I got suspicious as well at first. I checked the recovery accounts, and most of them are linked to @Soldier, and from Germany, so my first bet was: they're onboarding through Appics and their massive network! Nice job.

This can easily be resolved as @anomadsoul pointed out, however, for the skeptical people around us, there "should always be a catch". As for user experience, and users with a big following, ask yourself why you would promote something you haven't tested out yet or had the full experience of? Sometimes, influencers charge big bucks to promote anything in their bio.

A solution to that could be temporarily verification. Have multiple trust-worthy people from Steem (various tribes/groups/initiatives) witness the BIO update ("I'm on Steem: username"), before it can get removed, and of course, that's up to them.

Manual onboarding takes time. I believe it can all be worked out even further to ease things up. Just my two cents for now, great job @soldier keep on going!

Thanks a lot! I appreciate your words and ideas. Weยดll figure something out. ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿผ

For sure! You got this, or else you can hit me up on discord to brainstorm.

The "welcoming" new users receive nowadays really is one of the biggest problems - Mainly stupid bots and useless shittokens :D

I agree ๐Ÿ˜

Keep up the good work @soldier โ˜€๏ธ. Thank you for the on-boarding efforts.

Posted using Partiko iOS

๐Ÿ™๐Ÿผ

Good luck with the onboarding. Perhaps you can do an intro post of all the new people you bring in so we can all find them and make them feel welcome

Thank you for your suggestion. I will consider this idea for the future

Manually curated By @upmewhale Join Our Discord For more information! www.upmewhale.com

But is this effectiive? I just scrolled back 10 days and opened the profiles of about 10 of these onboarded users, and I think a grand total of 2 have left a couple of comments, maybe 3 posts. The rest are one-post wonders, not a single interaction among them.

Is 2 half-kinda-maybe users out of 10 worth this extremely tedious onboarding mechanism of just contacting people one by one through DM? Seems to me it's just using up accounts that become ghosts within the day.

I'm attempting similar myself so it's not an attack that I'm pushing here. it feels like the stereotypical Indian Calling Centre hassling people around the world to buy double glazing windows.

Unless you can hire slave labour, I don't think this method is worth anyone's time. And it's worse than the Indian call centre because you have to expect them to keep coming back.

Traditional ads work, we know this because corporations have spent probably trillions by this point round the world researching it over the years. Can we learn from them?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59232.58
ETH 2523.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47