You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Steemit Benefits Artists and Creatives

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hey really nice overview of some of the more abstract inner workings of steem for artists. I think that your point about it taking time to build a profile really rings true, it takes time to find all the like minded people.

I think there are a lot of structural changes that can make steem a better environment to cultivate artists. I see a lot of these things solving themselves with time as new interfaces become available, #Zappl is very exciting for the instagram crowd. I believe that the way the network is structured really effects the types of communities that grow around a platform, so i'm trying to find ways to become a community catalyst so we can come together and understand how to best develop our own future (omg user owned networks are so great).

Working towards building community on steem, I have a thread going right now looking for help finding peoples favorite artists on steem. There is a modest SBD reward for my favorites, If you get a chance i'd love if you could post some of the artists you appreciate the most here on steem:
https://steemit.com/art/@solar/best-artists-on-steem-15-usdbd-give-away-help-me-support-artist-on-steem
Thanks again for your thoughts, i'm following looking forward to seeing more of your posts in the future.

Sort:  

Thank you @solar!

Yes, user owned networks are great. BUT, you have to also understand who has the biggest stake and therefore the biggest influence on that network. This fact is programmed into Steemit. After being here for year I have watched various attempts to change things. Sometimes it works, sometimes it just creates new problems, sometimes it creates nasty fights.

I have worked with so many group projects over the years, I kind of have a sixth sense if it is possible influence change.

I think your community building project is a great idea. I'll drop by your thread and suggest my picks. =)

Greetings.

Oh for sure, i'm actually skeptical of the initial inflation that steem went through and wonder if it worked to centralized power for the creators of the platform, rather thatn work to create a fair distribution. However, there have been strides to reduce the power of whales which I think has been good. It's definitely a whole new beast, but i'm excited by what can be possible with networks like these.

Steemit is only the first of many to come I foresee. We get to road test it and be pioneers. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56