I'm a Mover and Shaker

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

"This family doesn't need money. This family doesn't need you to change the world. This family needs you...to be the vine and the heart of the home." My husband, Jared's words towards me tonight. Way to make a person feel guilty.

FB_IMG_1507220246906.jpg

Since I've joined Steemit, I've been spending much of my time here. On Facebook, there is no prospect of payout, no opportunity to meet and connect and discuss with strangers all over the globe. No matter how popular I am. We are poor according to American standards. Not to mention Jared starts his new job tomorrow after 3 weeks of being unemployed. Last week we went to the food pantry because I ran out of meals. (Thank God for food pantries--they sure have changed! We got two cases of yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh meat. It was amazing!!)

He brings out the photo album. "Look here, 7 years ago, this was your world. You lived and breathed and spent all of your time devoted to the children and some day you will look back and wish you devoted more of your time with them. Look how little Javin was...now you orbit away from us and spend all this time on Steemit!" IMG_20171030_193627.jpg

I really can't help it at this point. I feel that I have something of value to add to this place and I feel that this place has something of value to add to me...I want to reach the whole world with my posts and articles. I want to change the world...And I want to prove that I can.

He says, "You say it's about bringing money into this home, but I know you. For you It's not about helping this family monetarily, you want to be big. You want to be a mover and shaker. You want to change the world."

Can't I have both? Can't I change the world and take care of my family? Is there no grey area here?

I spend much of my time as a homemaker caring for my family. Yet I spend much time on Steemit. Steemit has me hooked! Really at this point there is no cure. Just being real.

Oh, Steemit, what have you done.

That said , I guess it's all about finding a balance. I can give my best in both realms if I try my very utmost. That is my conclusion.

Are you a mover and shaker?

Thanks for reading!

Much love, snowpea ❤😘🙂🌸

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 65.0% @glitterbooster upgoat, thanks to @snowpea
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @snowpea to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I've found that late evenings are the best time to work on posts, or early mornings. That way it doesn't interfere with family and work. I could do a better job of reading and upvoting others posts during the day, however. Finding balance is always important. Thanks for sharing.

Early mornings are best for me too. I've been up since 3am so I had plenty of time to respond to comments, get papa-pepper's selfie contest out of the way, ect. 😂

Yes you can have both! Why not?! You rock girl! ❤❤❤

YOu can totally be both. I see what he's saying but I question his vision and intention. Its all about balance. He can't be in control of that balance for you. Its your choice to make. I hope he can see that soon. <3 love from #teamgirlpowa

His hearts in the right place. I think it's just that he's very relational and is getting tired of me tuning him and everyone else out whenever I write a post or make a comment. 😂


I don't want to DIS your hubby, but you are your own person,
And you have a right to spend your time as you see fit. If
You are neglecting them, not having meals ready etc...
If the house is a mess (I'm being very chauvinistic
Here) that would be different, but methinks that
Is not the case. You share yourself with them
Of that I am sure. Don't let anyone guilt you
Into feeling bad about doing something
For your self expression. We all have
Different needs and one of those is
To be able to express your ideas
In your own way, at your own
Pace. Take your time, it will
Be alright, and he will be
Happy he relented and
Let you be you, with
All that entails. Be
Well, know that
You are Loved.

You're comment was very kind and thoughtful! The truth is, I kinda regret this post, as 99.9% of the time we get along just fine, and I was being a bit of a brat. ;P My kids never go hungry, always have clean clothes to wear, ect. I'm not the most organized person in the world but we don't live in filth haha. He doesn't put any restrictions on me, but he is opinionated and had the right to express himself too. ;) It's all good. :)



It's all good, I suppose I was reading too much into
Your words. I am very sensitive to people being
Put down, and that is what I perceived from
What you said, but I also heard the love
You both have for each other, and that
Is a very good thing. 👄 I truly didn't
Mean to impune your partner. I saw
That you had upvoted one of my
Posts, so I came to your site,
Followed you, then read
Your post. I like what
You did say, but I
Am recharging
My vote
Power
So I
Can't
Upvote
Right now.
😞

I can see how my post could get that reaction. Thanks for commenting! :) My vote power is always little to none haha so I just vote on everything I like regardless. :D

Do you use any apps to help keep track or regulate that?
Steem Now is a good one, you can set your vote power to be lower
in a general sense, so that you don't deplete so quickly.
Still, if you upvote posts or comments, it's going to
Go down. https://steemnow.com/

You can see who upvotes what post of yours (back for a week anyway) and how much
Your posts have garnered, for the week.
At the end of the week whatever value a post has comes back to you.

Very useful, but if I understand it correctly, my 100% upvote is worth 0.00 anyway...

That depends on many things, much of it I don't understand
(yet) Here is what mine looks like (remember, I keep mine normally turned down to around 30%= 1¢)

Thanks, I'll check it out!!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

This Post Has Been Quality Verified By @steemthat Promotion Services. This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @snowpea.

For Doing Such A Great Job Let Me Give You A Free Membership To https://SteemThat.com

This post has received gratitude of 15.04 % from @appreciator thanks to @snowpea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40