I Just Learned About Dust Votes

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

How is it I've been on Steemit since last August and I've never heard of dust votes. How is it that I never paid close enough attention to my own payouts, that I didn't realize .01 or .02 votes weren't giving me anything? I just read a post by @thedarkhorse enlightening me to the fact that unless upvotes amount to at least .03, you and I will see nothing for it. You can read his post here.

Personally, this whole time, In order to give a good comment some reward, I've been voting at 100%, giving my 2 cents worth...well it turns out I've been blowing dust at you all!

girls-1149935_960_720.jpg

I apologize to everyone who already knew this, seeing my upvote on your comment was nothing more than a gesture of appreciation.

@thedarkhorse also just informed me that at 100% VP I'm at .04. The problem is I'm usually at 40-70% VP because of my autovote settings on the @thealliance autovoter and the @curie autovoter, so I'll be doing some tweaking there after I write this post. Until my VP is back up to normal, I will vote on one of your most recent posts if I appreciate your comment, or if you have already made at least .01 on the comment, I will piggyback it with my vote.

To @timcliff, who proposed we raise the dust threshold here: NOOOOOOOOOO!!! It may take a bite out of spam, but us little people are important too, and we want our vote to count!

Anyway, I hope you all have a great day!

Love, snowpea ❤

Sort:  

I think this would be my first time hearing it too. Interesting

I have been back and forth with this sort of struggle for a while, while I like to Manually Curate and give a % Upvote that each post deserves - the actual time soak in doing that is tough if you have "Real World" life challenges to also deal with.

Auto vote following a curation trail often means voting on so many posts you can only give a small % to each - but at least it is something.

So the question I do you give a few more, or many less? What is better. If I can spare the time I find manual curation more rewarding because I can take the time to appreciate the post I am upvoting, and provide a comment based on the post comment that I hope the post curator will appreciate.

And that really comes down to the question what does a post creator really want? Upvote value, or comments that show people saw and read their post and really do appreciate what they took the time making.

Personally an upvote of any value still shows someone cares for my work, but the actual comment on my post is far more important because that shows they took the time to look at my work - and of course I remember well the names I keep seeing in my comments.

My biggest struggle right now is replying to comments on my own posts, I'm investing so much time into creating posts and trying to comment on other people's post I just can't keep up with thanking the people who comment on my own posts - and I think that is so important - because again if you thank people for their comment on your work they are more likely to come back and comment again.

So to me an upvote that has little or no value is still appreciation of work, but a comment is the real difference that has true value.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

@c0ff33a, you are the KING of comments, and very memorable! I totally understand the struggle though. Spread the love among many with little effort or really impact a few, sometimes with a lot of effort. For me I appreciate any kind of support on my blog, but the value of large upvotes are the most helpful right now, as this is my only form of income at this time (thank you for the generous upvote on this post btw!!)

I guess people do what they would like done for them, and me giving 100% upvotes to everyone who comments on my posts was my way of thanking them for the support, whether or not I knew what to say back and even though it was a minuscule amount, I thought they'd be seeing at least some reward for it - now I find out they turn to dust and it's a huge revelation for me...

Either way you do things, you will succeed because of the thoughtful comments you make. I have some things I could work on though to become a better Steemian, such as:

  • I often don't know what to say when I appreciate a post or comment, so I just upvote.
  • Not the best at networking and making friends. There is an unspoken etiquette here. Upvote for upvote, comment for comment, follow for follow, but the people who are blatant about it get flagged. (not saying they shouldn't be flagged) For the longest time my best followers were the ones who only resteem, comment, and upvote other people's stuff - with no posts of their own - because I'm so bad at networking.
  • Shy, and although I have tried in the past, it's best if I just avoid voice-chat.

Positives:

  • Written communication skills when writing a post
  • Kind to pretty much everyone

Can't get by on those two things alone here in the steemiverse lol.

Since joining @thealliance and supporting @familyprotection though, I found that having these two groups to focus my attention on has helped. Before I was like a lonely octopus stretching my tentacles out to random places in an almost futile attempt at making connentions.

Anyway, I'm rambling lol. Thanks again for you support, whichever way you choose to give it. ;)

I thought, that the exact opposite is true - meaning, that upvotes are internally calculated in MVests and even some 0-1 cent upvotes will accumulate regarding the MVests value and pay out a certain amount at payout. This is what I have read several times here...

Multiple votes that total a high enough value will payout, but a single small votes is deemed dust and rounded down to zero.

Yes, I thought that too.

I don't know...@thedarkhorse tested it, and payouts only came from .03 or more...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by snowpea from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I am glad you are sharing this info. It is the first I have heard of it.

Well my dear @snowpea... I've also been giving that kind of votes because my SP is too los (unfortunately) and trust me, I wish I had at least 5k SP to give everyone a decent upvote. We have a hard work to be done from now on...

5000 SP would be awesome!! Someday, sigh! Thanks for your comment!

Well I appreciate the upvote, even if it pays squat, but I wouldn't like it if they raised the threshold to benefit themselves. Isn't that what YT did recently?

I'm not sure lol, I don't really follow YouTube...but I agree, raising the threshold would be hurtful to us.

I do hope they do not raise that threshold, I do not get why do we have it like this as it is. Thanks for sharing the information 💚

I'm glad you found it helpful! ❤

Well my dear @snowpea... I've also been giving that kind of votes because my SP is too los (unfortunately) and trust me, I wish I had at least 5k SP to give everyone a decent upvote. We have a hard work to be done from now on...

Thanks for writing this post. I had no idea about this......still not totally sure I understand it but i'm going to read some more about it. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59561.47
ETH 3012.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77