You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1000 Followers on Steemit! Thank You!

in #steemit7 years ago

Wow this was a great story. Congratulations on the incredible milestone.

I can relate somewhat. When I was stationed in Japan I was charged for selling an ounce of marijuana. They wanted me to cooperate and turn state witness or they would throw the book at me, I refused.

I was pretty confident that I had a strong case up until the day my lawyer told the judge that we will be filing for a case dismissal based on a "lack of speedy trial". Based on that info the judge said we could go to trial that day, it was a Friday. We were not prepared and had to ask for an extension. The clock now was running against us and the "lack of speedy trial" motion would be dismissed. The Judge told us to return on Monday.

Realizing that I just got screwed over by my court appointed lawyer and was about to get screwed by the system I decided to head for the border. I flew out of the country. I didnt have any where to go so I flew back home in Brooklyn NY.

Long story short I was tried in abstentia and was sentenced to 6 years and 3 months in a Federal Penitentary for selling an ounce of weed. I was 21 and it was my 1st offense.

One year latter I was apprehended. The rest of the story is pretty shitty. Maybe Ill share a full post about it.

Thank you for sharing and good luck to you.
My voting power is only at 48% but Im giving you 100% upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63286.07
ETH 2472.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66