You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @aggroed interviews Steemit's hightech wizard @gtg aka @gandalf about the future and stability of the Steemit Blockchain.

in #steemit7 years ago

For what it is worth I continue to run a full node (for private use supporting some services I run) on 16 GB of RAM. The performance is okay except for replay/resync, which is annoying but not a show stopper (still hours not days). The system has moderately fast local (not NAS) SSD. As @gtg indicated, the storage does increase at a steady rate and the hardware will need to be upgraded soon (as he did I will probably replace it rather than upgrade, though I could still upgrade if I wanted to).

I'm not saying I recommend this especially for a public node with potentially higher usage level, but it does work.

Sort:  

Yeah, so for all the haters you're gonna have to splurge on the 16GB of ram... Clearly we're about to die.

To be fair it is inconvenient and getting worse if you do have to resync/replay. But no, not a good doomsday story.

Thanks to our special guests @gtg @furion @smooth @followbtcnews for their presence and blessings :)

Excellent post and somewhat a good timing to experience this down time. In result, gtg was able to share us informative solution going forward.

I'm also studying the technical requirements to provide Full RPC Node.
Care to share a good technical howto guide to setup RPC node.

More power to you gtg. I voted you as my Witness. Sharing your knowledge to a wanna be Witness is priceless.

Awesome, very informative thanks a ton!

Yes, Hardware should be upgrade and get replaced if required after an interval.

All plugins activated with 16gb RAM?

May be missing a few of the smaller ones but most are enabled including definitely: a) full node not LOW_MEMORY and b) full account_history with no filter.

Exactly.... Thought of that too... Nice one

@smooth, would you consider allowing me to vote with some of your SP? I noticed that you have not been actively voting lately, and I could use some extra firepower. I have a few projects I would like to undertake on the platform, and would put it to good use. I'm not asking for a handout, just some delegated SP. Thanks for considering.

Most of my SP is delegated out through minnowbooster or a few private deals. I suggest the former as a general resource for obtaining SP to use.

Good of you to come out and comment on this one, I should have looked in here before my recent memo.

Personally I feel the rates at MB and BT are pretty excessive - especially if you have a open plan of action.

Simply.

100,000 SP - you get all my curation rewards - I think I can beat what you would get with MB for that (looks to be $140 a week?).

2 week trial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88