You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tron and Steemit Join Forces

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

We will mostly have to agree to disagree.

But one last time:

and particularly the one stakeholder with ~1/3 of extant stake, because 30x over representation grants them inordinate power to influence the witnesses.

Except that it is isn't 'inordinate'. In a perfectly fair system, a vastly larger stake should have vastly larger influence. In simple election terms, 51% wins and 49% loses (though in this case it is more like 60% and 40%). We just don't really like that outcome at the moment, so we try to come up with voting rules that gives 49% a chance at some sort of partial win, blunting the influence of the vastly larger stake. This obviously also gives any minority attackers a chance at a partial win, making the chain less secure in general.

Sort:  

I will agree that I am disagreeable. I just tossed you a witness vote BTW. You clearly have the patience of Job and the diligence of Noah coupled to a sincere dedication to Steem to have spent the time and effort to discuss this with me.

Thanks!

Thank you for the vote, though no longer needed as I have decided to step back from full time witnessing. (see @smooth.witness post)

While I am disturbed that this was your preferred option, given the circumstances, I well understand why it was.

Strange, but timing is everything.

I have moved my witness vote thanks to your timely announcement.

Thank you for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65