Changes to the @chops.support account (in a good way!)

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

The @chops.support account has now been running for 8 months. June 2018 doesn't seem so long ago but in the STEEM world, it is quite some time.

Things have changed a lot on this block-chain and last June it was somewhat different than it is now.

bigeye.jpg

For one thing, there was a LOT more activity and the price of STEEM was much higher. The @chops.support account has been hammered more just recently which has enforced me to put a limit of 75% VP to stop it going any lower.

Why the surge in posts? Who knows but it made me look a little closer and tweak it a little.

You might miss your vote if it’s too low, and that will be the only reason. I don’t spend too much time tinkering with the vote weights for specific people but it’s time I overhauled it a little.

What function does the @chops.support account perform?

As I mentioned the account was created in June 2018 when I was just a minnow. Like most, I joined Steemit to make money. We all know that really doesn't happen and what you see on Trending is all false.

@chops.support is a passive voting account. I make no profit from it and all curation rewards are powered up to make it larger. That’s it, simple!

What do you @slobberchops get out of this?

Believe it or not, I get a kick out of giving. The lower tier vote is only $0.02, but the number of posts I see where @chops.support is the top voter is many.

Some people, especially new ones get almost no support. That small vote means something to them, just like it did to me when I started.

How can I get on the @chops.support voting list?

Without sounding like a self-righteous, bombastic arsehole I’ll simply say you CAN’T request to be on it. Many of the people who are benefit from the vote, I have known from my first few months of my STEEM life.

Others didn’t ignore me when I had 15SP and a few have delegated some STEEM, sent me some SBI’s or helped me in other non-financial ways.

elephant-2923916_960_720.jpg
Source

I tend to have an elephant's memory when it comes to kindness. If I add you to it or you are already parley to the vote I can see you are doing good stuff on the STEEM block-chain in ways of producing content, or in other ways.

What are the changes are you talking about?

I plan to increase the delegation, adding at least another 1000 STEEM. The weight of some beneficiaries will be decreasing, but the increase in STEEM will result in no loss to your current vote.

image.png
Source

I need to get the VP to be at a sustained 80-90% again. I also want to add some more beneficiaries to the account, this is the other reason for the decreased vote weight in some cases.

Shoutouts

I would like to thank the following people who have delegated to the @chops.support account (without any promise of any kind of reward).

@daan, @steevc, @shanibeer, @preparedwombat, @church-of-piglet

Thank you too for all those Steemians who donated either STEEM or Fiat to support @bingbabe’s London Marathon run courtesy of the charity, ‘Together for Short Lives’

@daan, @steevc, @shanibeer, @preparedwombat, and @pennsif, Thank you so much!

About delegation to @chops.support

I will NEVER request or ask for delegation to this account, I intended right from the start to create the account as a ‘thank you’ for people who gave me support in my first few months.

Please don’t delegate with a motive to get an ROI. I personally get nothing from @chops.support except a vote every time I post.

It's not meant as an investment scheme. Nothing in terms of STEEM is ever removed with everything being powered up.

Is this a vote for life?

Potentially yes, unless you visit the doctor and he prescribes you a dose of arsehole pills, and your stupid enough to consume them.

The future of @chops.support account

The increased delegation of 1000 STEEM will increase this account to over 3500 STEEM. I'm targeting it to become a dolphin in the next few months. If STEEM goes to $3 again (and it will), those 2c votes will suddenly be 20c ones.

image.png

That will put a big stupid grin on my face, knowing someone will have that good feeling attaining a decent vote.

I quickly learned that generosity pays and is a much better trait to display on Steemit with people quickly seeing you for what you really are.

Showing you are willing to give and not take is something that has carried over to other aspects of my life. If you are new to Steemit then take heed of this advice, it has worked very well for me.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Just delegated 250SP to @chops.support. It's not much, but it brings you a bit closer to that 5K SP ;)

I can spare it because I've cleaned up some other delegations yesterday.

Your awesome @daan, thanks so much.. and regardless of what I said in the post I know your not doing it for that reason (ROI).

Indeed, I'm actually trying to get rid of most of my delegations that give me ROI. I want access to most of my own SP again :P

Yes, I like to keep most of my SP for voting people and not gaining an ROI. I have a couple but a true dolphin is one that has 5000SP available for voting others.

In the case of some all that delegation is used in a non-selfish way but I do tend to look and see how people are using their delegated SP, for self or otherwise.

I just undelegated some SP from a couple of things. It won't be big, but I might delegate some to the account in the future. That is awesome that you are going to be able to get the account to dolphin status soon! I might make it out of the minnow pond one day :)

I might delegate some to the account in the future

Thanks @bozz, there's really no need to but if you insist I can hardly stop you :)

You are a great citizen for sure. The slow days here are tough sometimes but those votes really do mean something to the little folks.

If I was not struggling with cash as I build my real life business, I would have invested in more steem for myself and created a similar bot to give back like you do.

Thanks for doing what you do man. I will be in touch when it is time to create the Zeke’s eye bot.

Posted using Partiko iOS

those votes really do mean something to the little folks.

Thanks, I hope they do.. they did to me when I started here.

Well I always enjoy your content and I never knew about this account but it sounds like a nice way of giving back. The only thing I am not sure about is that 3 bucks on Steem. I was here for 7 cent steem, so I lived through the big run. I hope it happens again, but I will be happy to see a buck again!

Thanks about the content, I have to take a break sometimes as it gets a bit much.

RE: the account.. I don't mention it much as it comes over as a closed shop thing but I cant add everyone to it. I would have loved to see 7c.

Great way to go :) I'm building slowly, next mini-goal is voting dolphin - just 750 steem to go, I should get there in about seven weeks - plus delegations.
Small, consistent votes do make a great difference, really appreciated :)
Look forward to eye of chops getting loose again!

Nice one with the usable SP, buy I don't know whether the eye will ever see the light of day again. Those SBI's used to work on comments, but it seems they don't anymore. It could be a reason for a chops post.

Any version of chops will be very entertaining!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 402 (02/16/19)

Thats great that you setup that account, I will have to review my delegations and see if I want to drop any before I can delegate any more but I will keep your support account in mind

Nice!

Yr clearly supporting the more active accounts as my VP's healthy and the stats show a levelling in posting.

Soz I can't add to that charity list atm btw - still got a small income gap atm!

Posted using Partiko Android

Soz I can't add to that charity list atm btw - still got a small income gap atm!

I know your situation, no problem :) Are you going to SteemCamp?

Absolutely heading to steemm camp! Looking forwards to it!

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL... this has been the funniest account run down that I've read! Ah well, good job helping out people in need! We all do our own little things to make this a better place!

great work here @slobberchops and always appreciate the support. Paying it forwards a real nice way to go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99