Steemit curation turned to gambling?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I, among others, haven't received rewards at the rate I was during the initial period of steemit. Nevermind. I am reading some posts of steemers in the same situation and I am kind of amused by the answers they receive. It seems that steemit curation is turned to some kind of gambling, where users speculate on the timing of the vote and the potential of any post to produce rewards, instead of upvoting posts that they consider important for others to read.

After the #introduceyourself frenzy, I guess this is just another stage of our steemit infancy. It also reminds me some experiments performed on chimpanzees. They were provided with food if they managed to decrypt an algorithm of actions in order to release it from a device that was holding it... They did very well and they received a banana or so each time.

Perhaps it may be good for a slogan.

Steemit... The chimpanzeeland!

PS. ...and yes I upvote my posts. I have a vote and I use it at my own cost, benefit and free will.

Sort:  

Only small users are doing this because they want to earn STEEM as they don't have enough STEEM, whales and dolphins are up voting any post that they like without considering the right timing or if it's a post that is going to hit it big.

I myself up vote posts that i like without considering the curation rewards because anyway curation rewards are too small to be cared about.

lol I guess it is kinda speculative, Im not much good at gambling so essentially I wing it hoping for at least 1 cent for my efforts, how others get into the thousands of $ I have no idea guess I just need to wait for my slot machine to hit its streak

Upvote everything you post if you want to and give zero shits about anyone who's got a problem with it I say :)

It's funny to see all this stuff coming into fruition now. I, along with many-many others saw it coming and made posts about it (which practically got ignored... big surprise) and now look at what's happening lol.

You made an interesting and I think extremely accurate remark: steemit is in it's infancy.
I think it has to go through it's awkward stage and grow-up before we really see what it was meant to be. The question is however, will it get there or not?

I hope so, but that's really up to the people who are a part of it to determine.

Not to sound like a McBitch but the way Steemit is right now it has turned into a crapshoot to hope that a whale sees your post. Please view my latest post. It is to help my friend Cyrus who is going to his second Olympics! He needs our help! I upvoted you. This is my most important post and the money isn't going to me. Please consider upvoting it. https://steemit.com/steemit/@brianphobos/an-olympian-needs-our-help-steemit-please-read-this-if-you-have-ever-been-passionate-about-something

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.4 and reading ease of 75%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80