Why steemit is loosing so much..

in #steemit7 years ago

I did a little study i have 1000 followers i tagged all 1000 of them (took me 4 hours) in a post and asked them for one upvote in hopes of high curation rewards for everyone that votes. out of all 1000 only 15 have left an upvote. 15/1000 are active and participating on a daily basis. What the other 985 are doing? I dont know but i probably shouldnt count them as followers.

1.5 percent active followers. Its no winder my average post pay out is 4 cents.

Where did our community go?

Sort:  

good point .. the main problem is the voting power.. all are worried about it and using only 10 or 15 votes per day...

A valid point, since hf19 many have been building up their power and upvoting themselves instead of curating quality content from others. Its the human condition really to fend for oneself but this community thrives on sharing, that's where the value is built. I upvote the comments of those I chat with as an expression of gratitude for the conversation. I don't have the luxury of scaling my vote, does anybody know for sure how much steem you need to have to get the scale?

You can check easily here.
81% of my followers have posted in the last month.

Well that is cool as shit lol

Great link Matt, thanks for sharing, I figure a post a month qualifies as a heartbeat.

The pool has been flooded by newbs who cant swim on their own so they thrash around aimlessly pulling others under.

Im not sure what the deal is but i post 3 to 4 times a day good shit i hope to and my weekly payout is less then 2 bucks bro. I uses to have alot of action on my profile all my followers commenting discussing man it was great now i cant seem to get a conversation going for shit and when i do its by a person who never even upvotes the post so its just valueless. I want to add value and your right dude some how some one is sucking the value right out of my feed

The struggle is real, i liken it to an expansion draft in pro sports, the quality didnt improve, just the quantity, it just dilutes the excellence temporarily. I've been rolling my payouts through @randowhale since i arrived mid June. I was told it starts slow but perseverance pays off. Hell I can't complain, in theory i paid my cell bill and internet bill last month thanks to Steemit. I get zero from any other social media.

Haha i know right? I have never used randowhale ive thought about it but just seemed like to much work

Its been a solid investment for me, it doesn't get much easier than copying your post or comment link you want rando to vote on and paste it into the memo section when you transfer 2 sbd or steem. Just make sure the whale isn't napping and your post or comment isn't with the last 12 hours before the payout. My steem i've generated finally exceeds my alottment. =)

Alright im gonna try it real quick

@skinnythames I here all day so I make sure I upvote you stuff you hear me?

Not sure man but I do feel if steem continues is trend of being about the followers and not the content then we will start to see this more and more. I'd rather have ten followers that actually read my content than 1000 who don't.

I get that we are built to get a little excited every time we get a new follower, like, upvote and studies have shown that we get a hit of Dopamine everytime we get a social engagement like that but it still doesn't lead to a very interesting platform and makes it even harder to find great content.

Good luck

I agree and im honestly considering significantly shaving down my followers and my following to make for more personal experiences. I want the followers for the amount of content they can expose me to not there complete absense in my space.

interesting, congrats on 1000 followers but sorry they aren't active. I myself am subscribed to 142 people on youtube but probably only regularly watch 10 or so.

With that many followers it feels like im just playing click bait what title and pictures will get attention and i dont like that at all

That's why it's best if you just find something you love and enjoy and post about it. You will enjoy interacting with the followers that upvote and comment and the entire process will be fun :)

When i first joined steemit the majority of its community were all blockchain oriented now theres alot of other stuff kind of muddying it up. Not that i dont enjoy some of that other stuff i just think these new cats dont have any clue they are actually using blockchain technology when accessing this app it goes along way to kniw something about it

Good comment.
I hear you!

Thats what ive found and here lately ive been loving trading in the crypto world its an adreniline rush like no other sometimes and the few friends i have that interact with me are great and help out a ton i just wish more of the thousand people i networked my ass off for would also

I feel you. 80% of my post are crypto related but i have also been engaged in many different topics. I just got sucked into a thread about evolution, i don't know how but its crazy and enjoyable both. 1000 followers is a major accomplishment, now you have 1001, lol

Thanks buddy and i always try to keep in mind steemit is blockchain so the fundemental users are gonna be blockchain oriented but again same here i was talking flat earth all last week 1000 followers is great but im looking at the 5 or 6 that i see steady on my feed those are the ones i want to talk to and im glad to have you on board maybe we can trade some crypto secrets haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56