Explaining my Curating tactics for anyone that is part of the Greek-trail or not.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow steemians.


Me and @rouketas had a discussion about community support back in summer 2017 and after a long discussion about it we decided to create the @greek-trail project in a way to make some advertisement for steemit at Greece, that way we where aiming into create more interest from Greeks to blockchains in general and steemit in particular.

After almost 8 months the growth is starting to spike up and everyday we are accepting new user requests at our local Steemit Greece facebook page. Never the less I never had the chance to get in depth at the community of my voting practices and as a curator I think it is the best time for me to explain that thoroughly.

So below I will explain just that.

  • Posts that contain just a photo and a copy pasted text are going to get no more than 30% of my vote depending their rep level that might rise, the higher your level is the higher the percentage you get. With a maximum of 30%

  • Posts written in Greeks will get up to 50% in the content is original or just interesting for my tastes.

  • Posts that are exceptional good no matter your level or your following will be 100% upvoted and re-steemed.

  • Paintings do not have to have text for me to give them 100% upvotes if I see something I like it and it is proven not plagiarism I am not going to think twice to give my full support to them. ( I am an art lover so yeah there is that after all making of a decent painting takes far more time than creating a nice written text for blogging, and I know that first hand)

  • Posts that are about Polarized topics like politics and religious will be totally ignored since I don't give a flying s*&^t about that personally.

  • Posts that are plagiarism and looking to reap the reward posts just for the shake of it will be 100% flagged.

  • Authors that I have fully supported and are now independent from my curating. And earn some decent rewards will not get as much vote power as they used to from me in the past, since we are growing I must be fair to all and I always had a soft spot for minnows that where straggling here.

Edit= I will give the upvotes at the 30 minutes or later so I get my curator rewards at least out of that.

Of course exceptions should be expected, if I can see the potential of someone being big for steemit I might go full 100% upvoting their content until they reach out that potential and re-steem them till they get to their audience.

Disclaimer: I am a big fan of arts so that is going to be my most focused topic in the future, but since we luck of mass adoption yet there is little I can do to bring more artists here. Of course I am planning some events that might change that and bring more artists here on steemit in the near future and that will be discussed with the rest of the guys from the @greek-trail.

I will try to upvote 4 out of 7 days per week with a max of 10 100% votes 20 50% votes, I have no cap in mind for the lowest percentages until I get some stats the next week of how that will affect my Voting Power.
the 3 days that are left I am going to use them to cool down my vote power. So starting today Friday Saturday and Sunday will be the days that I am cooling down. I will choose pick my favorites of your posts and decide which ones to curate. I am switching to manual voting because the auto-vote does not feel fair for all in my eyes and giving a 10% to the greek-trail is kinda not making the job done for me. I want to see better content from my fellow Greek-steemians and I think that this change of tactic might result to that. Of course I am supporting the Greek-trail and the Greek context. Since I have the time I want to put a bit more effort into getting to know everyone. My advice if you are a minnow is to support the greek-trail which does what it can for now, with your collective votes. To do so you need to check out the streemian.com app that allows to lend your vote to others on steemit.

If anyone feels like my strategy is not fair feel free to contact me in the comments and let me hear your opinion guys.

*diclaimer this is my personal curating preferences and I do not want to push that agenda to the rest of the Greek-trail members this group was made to provide support and that is what my plans are for the future here, to help and support those that are in need and worth it. If that sounds a bit complicated this is not me about stopping supporting the Greek-trail But giving more of my time and a little bit more effort to get to do that manually so I can get a chance to know everyone that joins here first hand.

Closing I want to thank a couple of dudes that are going out of their way to support Greek authors and help Steemit grow both locally and globally.

@onceuponatime for his Greek heart and his endless support, @liondani and @steemychicken1 for the witness contribution on steemit and support. @rouketas for going out of his way spending his pocket money to create events for all of us to get together and get to know eachother. And last but not least the entire Greek community that is showing its interest into the platform.

My votes are not going to restricted just to Greek content/authors of course my family is global and so will be my support to newcomers.

No need to up-vote but please re-steem.

Best regards
@skapaneas.

Sort:  

#skapaneas gave his point of view, letting us know who he will help and who not (according to the kind of post). I am not clear how he handles a poster who posts on a variety of subject; maybe, for example religion or politics, which he does not like, but the next one a painting and then the next a short story...and so on. Does he exclude that poster because of his religious or political post?

Anyway, my main puprose for this comment is not to discuss him, but to use him as an example.

I would like each of the greek-trail curators to give us a brief list of what they prefer to curate, so that those of us who want to support them by offering our votes for them to use, can make a choice according to our own preferances and beliefs.

It would not give me pleasure to pass on my votes for them to be used to uplift someone who, for instance, only posts memes or info about cryptocurrencies.

You are a smart man. You can see behind the thin lines of text and see my motives. Thanks for taking the time to read it. and of course that will get you an upvote late but still!

Hey there mister.
I'm not sure if you have noticed but user mariaentela that you and mariandavp have done major plagiarism abuses through google translate.

What's worse, she has been responding to Greek community in comments like this content was hers, like she authored it.

Check up our flags, please.

Thanks it was not her fault actually rather ours. She has no authoring experience I chatted her yesterday and I explained about crediting and so on. Send me the links you have flagged and next time please if you see my vote at something of the likes inform me to take action.

I think it is very important to have a strategy and to be able to share it with the rest in such an honest way.

Thank you to all that in any way have supported me in steemit. I always try to follow back and upvote but my voting is relatively small, so please rest assured that I keep a good track of anyone that has supported me... (and I will support more in the near future)

What is the 'steemian app' that @coolmyll mentions below?

If there is any way that I can assist your project, please do let me know :)

[resteemed]

https://streemian.com/

streemian is an application that you can use to autovote or follow votes of your favorite curators. for minnions that lack of a slider and want to help greek-trail grow it is a good idea to allocate greek-trail to vote for them. of course that does not mean you cant still use your vote as you want.

responsible for voting for the greek-trail for now its @trumpman @ruth-girl @rouketas and my self. that will change as we grow and we will need more super curators for the project considering we will grow bigger in the near future.

We pick the super curators accounting for the rep they have their contribution to steemit overall and their morality standards.

I clicked on your link, but got a 404

I managed to get through, but this is what I found:

Streemian.com and it's services are currently degraded!
Due to changes in the publicly served API end-point and the lack of development resources, the Streemian platform is currently degraded.

Is it still safe to us?

stay away from it for now. it seems the api is changing so you can't tell if something might be compromised by their side. Probably this explains a lot about the reward drops lately at my posts.

Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

i like your article. and i already folow you. if you have time visit my bog @ yulissari

Huh!? Why do you want him to follow your toilet?

Your comment is the wrong way for getting people to even want to follow you - we are not bribed by upvotes and follows. What we look for is good, original and interesting content. Most steemians like to support creative people, so change your marketing strategy if you want to succeed.

have you joined the discord btw? if not please come and say a hi! https://discordapp.com/channels/396209434440892416/396245493073838083

I don't think he is reading any replies, he keeps auto-posting (how & why is this done?) the same comment all over the place .............

Eυχαριστώ όλους όσους με στηρίζουνε ,ακόμα και αυτούς που δεν με στηρίζουνε. Ο καθένας με την ψήφο του κάνει ότι θέλει. Εγώ δεν μπαίνω σε αυτό το τρυπάκι , αυτό ισχύει για τώρα για αυτή την στιγμή. Δεν μου αρέσουν οι περιορισμοί ,πνίγομαι. Το τι θεωρείται τέχνη είναι κατά την εκτίμηση του καθένα!! Η φωτογραφία είναι τέχνη για μένα και δεν μιλάω για τις δικές μου .
Τέλος πάντων κατά βούληση ο καθένας ας κάνει ότι νομίζει. Και εγώ θα κάνω αυτό που θέλω και δεν χρειάζεται να εξηγήσω τιποτα σε κανέναν.

Den mporw na tous parakolouthw olous, idi afieronw poly perissotero xrono gia ayti tin douleia kai skopeyw na afiewrwsw akoma perissotero. dystixos den exei o kathenas pou erxete gnwseis panw stin dimiourgeia
periexomenou kai ti einai swsto kai ti lathos otan postareis sto steemit.

Oloi dikaiounte na ypopesoune se mia lanthasmeni stigmi an den gnwrizoune peri content creation. To idaniko tha eitane na exoume sto steemit mia selida afieromei ws pros to pia einai ta sovara lathoi pou mporeis na ypopeseis san prwtaris sto steemit. Ki egw otan eimouna kainourgios eixa kanei copy pastes kai eixa faei flag apo to cheetah, kai na eisai sigouri den to xanaekana metepeita.

Oso gia ta votes ennoite tha psifiseis ayto pou se gemizei san atomo. Kai den tha ithela na psifizeis kapws diafwretika. Pote den tha pw se kanenan psifise ayton i ekeinon. An pisteyw oti kapios axizei to upvote sas apla tha kanw re-steem ki opoios to dei to ypostirizei mono ean thelei.

Oso gia to ti einai texni ayto einai oso antikimeniko ginete. Gia polous o mytaras ekane texni gia emena kalikatzoures. Opote den mporoume na symfwnisoume nomizw se kapia standard gia tin texni. Prwsopiki protimisi kathara opote den tithete them antiparathesei alla protimisis.

O stoxos mou me ayto to post den einai na dixasw to elliniko community alla na to enimerwsw gia to pws tha antimetopizw to content pou tha exw diathesimo gia na kanw curate.

Idi gia na frontisw na min meinei kanenas paraponemenos exw allaxei to game theory mou to opoio mou exei stoixisei proswpika kai se followers kai se eisodima. Apla den me endiaferei ayto pou thelw na kanw einai na voithisw to elliniko community na ftasei se ena epipedo pou den tha exei anagki apo upvotes apo falaines gia na parei kapia antamivoi kai na symvei organika mesa apo to diko mas community.

I voitheia pou exw einai poly sygkekrimeni kai idi exw apogoiteytei apo ton tropo pou antimetopizete oti prospatheia kanw kai apo tous megalous kai apo tous filous mou ektos elladas kai apo kapia minnows stin ellada. Polles fores exw skeftei na ta paratisw kai na gyrisw pisw stis palies mou synitheies pou apla koitaw tin party mou kai den me noiazei kaneis kai tipota. Apla elpizw na xeperastoun ayta otan megalwsei to community wste na min xreazete na xalaw ton proswpiko mou xrono gia tipota allo apo to prwsopiko mou symferwn sto steemit. Kai na eisai sigouri oti an to vote mou to moiraza mono gia diki mou diafimisi tha eimoun poly megalyteros edw mesa kai den tha eixa xasei to provadisma pou eixa.

Ypomoni kai kante ayto pou agapate, Egw ayto kanw.
Kalimera

Για το plagiarism επίσης η ταπεινή μου άποψη είναι ότι όλοι κλέβουνε απο κάποιον το πρωτότυπο, ¨"ο κλέψας του κλέψαντος " γίνεται.

Αδερφέ. Τόσο εσυ όσο και ο Γιώργος εχετε δώσει ψυχή και σώμα για την κοινότητα μας. Ξέρω πως οτι και να πω είναι ναι ενα τίποτα μπροστά σε αυτά που έχετε κάνει εσείς. Ένα είναι όμως σίγουρο. Τόσο εγώ οσο και τα ατομα που κάθε μέρα φέρνω θα προσπαθήσουμε να φανούμε άξιοι "λουτσοι" και ακόλουθοι. Ξέρω οτι κάποια μέρα θα είμαστε ακόμα πιο δυνατοί και θα φτάσουμε ψηλά το trail!

Ειναι ωραιο να βλεπεις ατομα απο την κοινοτητα μας να ενδιαφερονται τοσο!

Thats really a good effort but why not religious topics? I feel like we can do wonders if we spread few of religious philosophy, whose ultimate goal is to uplift mankind.

Stay Happy, Stay Blessed, Always :)

I don't believe in Gods, I prefer to put my faith on humans. Science is my uplift and art is my drug.

Seems fair enough. I was confused when I first got here why people don't give full votes but if your vote have so much power it make sense.
I will check the steemian app and report to you soon.

You are one of my oldest friends in my digital life. Since our TF2 days. I know you will be a great human asset for the @greek-trail since I know first hand your community building abilities.

By the time you reach the 60 rank I think you will know all there is to know about how things work. We are not in a hurry, I am going to stick around here for quite a long time.

it is called streemian by the way.

I think all these decisions are good :) Sorry for the small upvote, I am trying to regenerate my vp too ^_^

I know of the percentage everyone gives me. I never judge that and you should not be worry about it. I am not expecting of you to do anything more than you already do for steemit and the @greek-trail

You are a very significant human asset in our community and you are free to have you own standards when it comes to upvotes. I will never dictate what others should be doing. Not my style.

I think you know in which of the categories you are in my list. I believe you have reached your audience and I am more than pleased by it and a 100% upvote would make zero difference at your payouts.

I am not a human

Sorry for presuming things. :/

Happy to see more Greeks in Steemit!