Creating substemmit or Steemit for small languages would be very hard or impossible

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The first post post convinced me that it would be very difficult, almost impossible, to build a local community on Steemit, especially for small countries such as Croatia for example.

lokalizacijaea185.jpg

Failed call

My attempt to invite interested Steemians to help me in setting up Steemit Billboard ended in failure. Unlike Phostoshop experts I really made and paid for the poster that only awaits its place. Users were supposed to decide about location. Imagine what would happen if the whole post was written in Croatian. The effect would have been even lower.

The lack of voting power

To make the problem even worst I noticed that is required amazing voting power to collect only $5. As a BitShares Forum user I asked some members of BitShares community, who are active here, to help me. I was lucky, some have responded and voted for my post. Despite that one among them has several hundred thousand dollars of the voting power my post got very little.

I'm a little disappointed for the failure of my initiative but much more by the fact that on Steemit is difficult and perhaps impossible to run a local subset.

How to build a local community?

In a country like Croatia where wages are low, calculated in dollars, it's hard to imagine that someone would invested significant funds in Steem. Without voting power and rewords it is impossible to encourage users to write in Croatian or any other smaller language.

Despite my doubts I think it's worth a try. As a journalist, I know that such a platform is necessary, especially now when journalism is in crisis.

Sorry, this text would be a lot better in Croatian :)

Sir in Croatian means cheese.

Sort:  

Following you!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 9.7 and reading ease of 55%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67