Ways to improve STEEMIT the post.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I have some ideas to make steemit a website where everything is understandable and streamlined. It is way to random and for some that can be a total turn off from enjoying this website. I have seen a few problems people have complained to me about which would help out a new user or advance what this website is or what it could be. These could be the solutions.

1. A FAQ page which tells you the ins and out of this website.

I will give a few things that could be on the faq part of this website.

Registration



You create a account you are waiting for a few days
OH YES I AM GOING TO BE ON STEEMIT AND MAKE MOOLAH FOR THE FIRST TIME ON THE INTERNET
WOO GO ME IM MAKING THAT ADJUSTMENT.



Try to log in
Failed
Failed
This user does not exist.

Why not create a FAQ post where there is a link that shows HOW LONG EXACTLY you have till you can be registered.
How many people are waiting
ETC ETC.

2. How this website works completely in and out for everyone to see.


The thought process on why the creators made this website
How witnesses work
The structure of the steemit blockchain.
How does mining cryptocurrency work
How is this sustainable
Past goals and achievements
The future of steemit.
Incentives about helping out steemit by creating different and new things that do not exist for it.
Great people in the community that are tried and true have justice for the whole website.
What minnows are.
What dolphins are.
What whales are.
What are guilds and curators.
What is steem trail
What is steem speak
What are steem trail coins
What is zappl
What is busy.org
A steem store where people sell goods for steem like amazon
A craigslist clone where people offer goods and services for steem
How the fuck do I transfer my money from steem to my currency of choice.
The calculations of how steem power influences post payouts and curation rewards.
What you can do after you are done with steem.
Trading, investing, what other coins are
Avoiding scams

If someone says they are going to pay you in steem for you helping them out and you help them out but they do not pay you what do you do?

Instead of having a post that you have to search for using the google search bar in the corner to find out how something works why not put it in this FAQ section

Have the community as a whole discuss the way to introduce this on the website and have it so if it needs to be updated bring the community together to fix it and make it the most modern and functional and maybe even more easier for a noob to understand.

Also have the community as a whole punish people who scam and who will use others and say they will pay with steem or another currency and THEY FAIL TO DO SO.

have a democratic group that talks with complete transperancy about what is happening and what the punishment is
Vote
Have a steemit court where you put people on trial for wrongs they have commited on this website.

3. A more social experience to a new website

A link to the discords for both steem trail and steem speak and a link to steemitchat on the website

it shows STEEMIT CHAT AND DISCORD IN REAL TIME USING STEEMIT. EVEN TWEETS AND FACEBOOK POSTS AND YOUTUBE VIDEOS should be able to be seen in real time. And this should be interchangeable with this website.
This can be its own page of the website.
Should be categorized by the different websites.
Say you think something is entertaining or whatever you should be allowed to take exactly what is going on those platforms and make a post about it.
i WOULD love to come on this website and see what people are talking about.
Or even going on deeper then that connect steemit with discord and when you say something on there there is a chance you can earn steemit using this website intergration.

Steem Integration with online goods and services.

Got steem?
Want to buy things. Ok you can buy from this website or that website.

A properly indexed library to store documents created by steemians

We should keep track of all peoples works and documents this is a great idea @clevercreator

Live-Streaming

Someone is live streaming content of theirs over the internet. Make a live streaming section where you get steemit for broadcasting or commenting on the stream

A youtube clone.

Sick of all the advertisers on youtube playing every 2 videos.
Fix that by becoming a steemtube person who will never ever be bothered by thinking they will be replaced by advertisements ever again.

A torrenting website where you host files and get steemit for hosting files.

Self-explanatory
Might have legal troubles.

Kodi for Steemit.

Create a program where steemit people can pretty much make their own addons/ make their own television stations with whatever content they feel would fit for their individual needs and wants.
OBV the better the creators = steemit

Music website and art website connected to steemit.

Soundcloud
What is the art equivalent to soundcloud?? anyone?

E-Sports integration with steemit

You follow a video game hardcore on the internet.
You host tournaments on steemit and those who win will win steem.
You have betting
You can do money matches against rivals
You have steemit reward the best players and punish trolls or abusive people.

Sports integration with steemit

Fantasy football
Fantasy baseball
Betting

Game integration with steemit

My ideas about this are in a post right here.
https://steemit.com/gaming/@sinned/twitch-plays-what

You choose what content you see first and foremost.

A way to classify posts

What if you only want to see pictures
What if you only want to see videos
What if you only want to see articles.
What if you only want to see memes

Let people choose within their preferences on this website.

Tag choosing.

I do not want to see this subject on steemit. I just want to see this exact thing I am looking for on this website. I just want to see flowers damnit nothing else.

Why not let people choose the tags that show up the most on the website and let people subscribe to them and get rid of certain tags so people can never see those things ever again if they choose.

Idea goes to @fyrstikken
But I never seen a post about it

Follower choosing

The feed is random and chaotic.
Say I want to choose a certain person who I like to follow.
Would it not be cool to see that persons stuff at the top of your feed.
Or a more advanced way to see someones posts.

Why not show different feeds of similar tags OF THE PEOPLE YOU ARE FOLLOWING so it shows some continuity of content.
Say you like a guys one tag of posts.
Instead of showing all of one users posts this will let you see individuals tags.

General Website enhancements.

Private messaging.

I go and ask a person hey whats up man? Where can I hit you up.
Discord here randomly
Oh I am on facebook you might see me here!
Oh steemit.chat
We can cut all of that with private messaging on here.

Steem.it forums

This would be another nice addition to this website that could help out users and let people talk about different subjects about this website.

Currency converter built in to steemit.

No more of those dodgy ass websites you need to log in when you can just do it from steemit.

Final idea

Buy a abandoned town and make steemit the only currency that can be used in a town.


Declare this town as its own nation.
Get approval by world governments.
If they use any currency other then steemit we are at war with them and we will destroy them with our moon powers.

Any offers
Any good places in the world to do this?
How would you cope with living with a bunch of steemians.

We see economic crisis at every turn in society
Why not make a grass roots society built upon the fundamentals of cryptocurrency.
Everything is paid with steem.
Pay everyone with a online account.
Make stores easy to access and buy without cashiers and lines.
Pick up something scan and leave. It deducts your money from your account and pays the store.
ETC
etc

IGNORE THIS PART frank bacon telepathically transmitted his idea to me i have forgotten about it. But then he showed me this and it sparked a long lost memory of mine.
MAGAllanica
https://steemit.com/creativity/@frankbacon/this-citi-block-doesn-t-exists-where-people-live-with-blockchain

Are the ideas good or bad.
Let me know in the comments below.
Til next time follow me @sinned hope you enjoyed this post.

Sort:  

All great ideas, @sinned. Fantastic to have such development projects around steem. Would love to see this place become the social media hub that it can be.

Video game streaming seems like a good are to venture into and there aren't any issues of copyright that i'm aware of.

Yeah i wish steemit was every website lol

steem it DFS, let's get it

daily fantasy sports

Yeah id love to see competition on here like that!

Buddy. Blasted your link on steemit.chat and those facebook pages.

Thank you you didnt need to do that

Steemspeak. Together. Strong.

Lots of fantastic ideas which can be used to improve Steemit for a better user experience. Thanks for sharing.

Am resteeming this as well

I completely agree! At the moment the steemit page is just a simple blog and not very intuitive to use. Its chaotic in my opinion. And its not a true social network because it lacks all the functions FB has and a user-friendly easy-to-navigate user-interface. Having steemit linked to streams and videos directly would even improve the experience.

were gunna get there one way or another the best way to do it is talk about it and improve!

I think private messaging is the Number 1 step forward!

Sweet post homie. There's someone that made a steem-forum. But I can't find it just now. I hear rumors of a video service. There's a couple blockchains also focussed on vids. And theres a couple music sites. Too. Still, all must bow to the glory of steem. :)
.
You share your posts on Steemit.chat? And there's like half a dozen facebook groups out there too. You got game and I hope your posts get seen more.

I cannot post on facebook because I want to seperate my real account with steem. I made an account made a post and they banned me and I am not allowed to make another account till I show them my id for some reason

I understand. I used to be a hardcore OccupyChicago and ae911truth truther. I was posting stuff and facebook made me give them my id to get my account back. i bent the knee cause i have so many improv friends there.

WHAT ARE YOU SERIOUS THEY DID THAT

indeed they did. then they deleted my other accounts which i was using sometimes so as not to annoy friends with my truther stuff. good times facebook.

Fuck facebook. You can be a truth person on here as much as you want. I used to expose the fact that there is bots that would post propaganda in facebook groups and I would get banned. They warned me but I kept doing it and they still have not deleted me yet I am surprised. One day I might be in that same boat. I would consider myself a truth person as well. We have a few things in common me and you.

These things are coming... think about how much worse the faceslime (facebook) was the first two years. This site is more functional than they were.

Hang in there.

You are right. I just thought id be a nice little reminder! and facebook sucks they are assholes

Tbf, that was 2006-07

TBF?? i do not know internet acronyms lol

To be fair :)

All those ideas sound good to me! I'm new to steemit but I can see it quickly becoming the social media hub of choice for content creators. I would totally move to steemit town but I need more steem first, or I could be the first homeless person that only accepts steem.

It would be cool at steem town. we would want the society to go to the moon!

Great @sinned . It will help a lot of users

It would this website is very confusing at first but when you spend some time learning about it. You learn. You make mistakes. You grow. I just want to make it easier for new people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44