SteemIt Time Management - How To Find The Right Balance?

in #steemit6 years ago

When I look at the clock, I notice that another day has gone by, and I didn't even have had the time to write a post yet...

Steem_It_Time_Management.jpg

Time Management... Not My Cup Of Tea



I might have several talents, but I'm pretty sure time management isn't one of them.

Here I find myself again: the day has gone by and I didn't even got time to write a post yet. Not to mention my little veggies that are waiting to be transplanted - they too will have to wait another day.

For some reason, I always manage to lose track of time. Today that was on Steemit, tomorrow it could be something completely different (although the odds are that it'll be SteemIt again).

I start something early in the morning, and when I look up it is time for my girlfriend to come home and have dinner. And every day again I feel like I haven't been able to do what I had planned. I must admit it's often really frustrating, although I know it's my own responsibility.

divider.jpg

Today

I had so many plans for today. Those plans involved writing on SteemIt, taking care of my baby veggies in their brand new propagator, maybe do a little work around the house for once...

The thing is that I always miscalculate how much time things are going to take.

This morning, for example, I started writing a post about an idea I had to reduce spam comments and educate newcomers. While I was at it, I thought it would be a good idea to submit it to the Utopian.io website. But because they have pretty specific rules about submissions, I ended up rewriting the entire article before I posted it - only to notice that I was still logged in with my old account, which meant that the post would also appear on the old account instead of this one. Stupid of me.

Anyway, instead of taking up one or two hours, it took me all morning to get it done.


(By the way, if you're interested: I suggested to show the FAQ page as a popup to people who sign in for the first time. I noticed there are a lot of people who don't know it exists, just like me up until a week ago.
You can read the article here)





Once I submitted the post, I had to take a look at my replies on SteemIt. Since I'm running a contest, I really need to follow up on the comments.

You can still join if you want to:

[FREE SBD] What Did You Learn About SteemIt Today?

There were quite some more comments than I had expected there to be, so again, replying to everyone took way more time than I had foreseen.

Also, some people who commented mentioned a couple of very interesting resources, which - of course - I had to check out.

It was all very interesting, but it took me all afternoon...
I'm using my last 30 minutes to get this post out, so I didn't even had the time to go out looking for some interesting posts, let alone do something else that doesn't involve my laptop...

divider.jpg

The Solution?

I realize that if I want to get things done, I need a different approach.
But I honestly don't know where to start.

Someone told me today that if you don't know something, you will never know unless you ask.
( @doctorcrypto, I never thought I would be using your words this soon)

So I decided to ask around to find out how other people deal with this.

Do you have a SteemIt time schedule to which you stick?

Do you differentiate between time for posting, time for curating, and time for other stuff?

To the people who have a lot going on on SteemIt: how do you manage to get a life outside SteemIt?

I could really use some ideas :0)


signature2.gif

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


More Posts You Might Like


How To Redirect New Users To The FAQ Page After Signup & Make Sure They Read It

[FREE SBD] What Did You Learn About SteemIt Today?

SteemIt Isn't About The Money... Not Anymore!

SteemThat Is Like A Training Camp For SteemIt.

fight_spam.jpg

Image Sources:
Pixabay

Sort:  

  • If you can't post something, comment on something instead.
  • If you can't comment on something then upvote instead.
  • If you haven't any voting power, resteem instead.
  • It's all about activity (imo) I'm finding it hard to find the time to post anything at the minute, but I can spare five minutes here and ten minutes there to complete one of the options above. :-)

    True. Writing posts sometimes takes me hours. I should yry to use that time to get other things done. Except that commenting doesn’t really pay off.
    (Sorry I don’t upvote your comment. I need my VP to go up again)

    Oh, I wasn't fishing for an upvote.

    Resteems are of more value anyway because it means your post gets to a wider audience than if it just sat in "New" or in your stream.

    Commenting is an import part of Steemit, your interactions (Comments) count towards your Rep score which in turn counts towards your curation. Steemit is all about shaking the apple tree, the harder you shake it the more apples you'll get. :-)

    I take care of my replies first and then if I have time I go through as many of the articles in my feed as I can. I try to come up with ideas for posts and write them down so when I have time to put together a post, I don't have to think of an idea. That being said, I think I spend too much time on here. :)

    Lol - I think that's a general SteemIt thing: spending too much time on here 😉
    I'm going to try it out and take care of my replies first. Who knows those replies give me good ideas for a next article. Thanks for the tip!

    I like @resteembot because it helps me find people like you. Your posts bring value to my experience in Steemit (just perused through a couple) and I am learning from you.
    Keep it up! New follower here .. :)

    As for commenting on this post I am still finding my balance and how to approach the time element in Steemit.

    Thanks for dropping by :0)
    I guess it simply takes time to find the balance. There are so many things I still need to find out about SteemIt...

    As for commenting on this post I am still finding my balance and how to approach the time element in Steemit.
    upvote follow resteem.gif

    I think it just takes time ...

    Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
    The resteem was paid by @bharatcool
    Curious?
    The @resteembot's introduction post
    Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
    Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

    This wonderful post has received a @simplymike 36.27% upvote from @mrswhale. Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/WVJW7AC Please vote with the link below if you support our project. https://goo.gl/1zYDKh

    This post has received a 30.30 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @simplymike. Here's a banana! banana-small.png

    Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
    Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=simplymike
    Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steemit-time-management-how-to-find-the-right-balance


    Want to have your post on the map too?

    • Go to Steemitworldmap
    • Click the code slider at the bottom
    • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
    • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
    • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

    This post has received a 6.68 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @simplymike.

    Just do one thing at a time :) Replies, then reading 5 or so posts to like, then get off, or do your post. You can keep posting comments too, but usually they make no returns or very little.

    Thanks for the tips.
    About the commenting: I’ve noticed that these last couple of weeks my comments are rarely upvoted. People reply to it, but don’t upvote.
    I think I discovered the reason for that today, I’m trying to upvote all good comments I get on my posts. Often it’s just a $0.01 or so, but I want to thank them for noticing me and taking the time to reply. But the more comments you get, the more it drains your VP. I’m at 70-something now and I didn’t even go out to look for posts I’d might like...

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.31
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.033
    BTC 64341.19
    ETH 3145.13
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.00