Why I think a rude approach to newbie is really a bad way to grow up.

in #steemit6 years ago

This morning I read a posted shared by one of my friend. It's was an "introduce myself" written by a newbie (it was her first post). Nothing strange, I upvoted the content because I know the friend shared it is a nice and wise man who helped to grow many of us here and I'm very grateful for this.

While I'm reading the comments on that content I was surprise (a bad surprise) to see one of the wrost comment that I've ever seen here against a newbie!

The user who wrote that comment used really rude sentences against the newbie, saying to her that she sould use better photos (ehhy, everyone of us use different camera to take pics and has different smartphones to do it, no everyone could buy a new Iphone or an excellent camera!!!) and the user accused her to use a pic (a common image of a kind of gym) not own.

Just to know, the newbie published also some of her selfies.

Maybe I have a soft heart or maybe I perfectly know that a newbie here are swimming in a ocean of different fishes (between some sharks too!),  but I think the best way to approach a newbie that can't know everything about our community could be less rude. 

Sometimes I gave some tips to newbies (as I received tips when I was a newbie) and the best way to welcome them (and to teach them something more about our cozy community) is to give them a warm welcome and some tips. In this case could be something like "Welcome on board! Just a tip: if you use an image from other sources you have to ... etc etc..."

Rude way are just for recidive spammers, plagiarists etc, not for someone who write here for the first time!!!

As you can understand, I hate arrogance and attitude and after I read that bad comment (the user continued commenting to ones were trying to explain that's just a newbie who post her real face here too!) I decided to wrote this content to invite you to think about the difference between "educate" and "un-educate". That user, writing those comments, just teached to the newwbie that people here use rude behaviour, the user doesn't teach her what she can do and what she can't do!

Just a tip: think before to write. What you write on the blockchain, remain in the blockchain forever and ever!

Silvia


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

She’s probably having a bad day. Tomorrow will be better.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think so. Sometimes it happens :D

Being rude to someone in general is bad, but especially to someone who is new on this platform. It could possibly make that person not want to come back to Steemit ever again.

Giving advice in a kind way and helping someone is great, but there is a nice, friendly way to do that, like the one you mentioned.

I totally agree with you! :D

We're all human...we make mistakes...and we're emotional at times. While we should try to be welcoming to new users...some people can sometimes come off as rude, perhaps even when they don't necessarily mean to be.

I didn't see the post, so I can't know exactly what they said, but it does sound like they should perhaps try a bit harder...but they still are just human, so prone to fault.

you are fun and nice to people! - that nasty punter sounds like someone who should stick to fakebook...

but selfies do need to be ultra high res or they don't show all the pimples

IF YOU JUST CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF @SIFT666, I'VE RECENTLY SWITCHED MY MAIN ACCOUNT ACROSS FROM @SIFT666 TO @FROT SO FOLLOW ME THERE FOR A NEW WAVE OF STEEMING!

@frot

www.frot.co.nz

I remember alll the warm welcome I received when I started to blog here and sure, I did some mistakes too, but no ones approached me in a very rude way like that user did with the newbie. Maybe it happened to me when I started, I stopped to blog thinking "There are very rude people in that community!".

oh gosh, that's freaking terrible... most of the introduce yourself posts I comment on I welcome people to steem because I barely see anyone really being rude to each other and criticizing their posts.... That's my favorite thing about steem is usually everyone is so motivating and helpful. Im so sorry that happened, especially to your friend that you probably told her about steem in the first palace. if you ever releasing this users name that recently joined, i would love to go to her account and leave her some nice motivating comments! Most of the comments i get now days are bots always, so when someone goes out of their way to say something mean its even worse.

She's not my friend, she's a friend of one of my friend (a really active an wise man here) and he also tryed to explain to the rude user she's a persone that he knows and that post was her first post, but nothing.
Like you, I also like how cozy are many steemians and I received many useful tips here, I think it's the real spirit behind steemit, not just money :D

we would like to think that's the real spirit behind it all, wouldn't we! I'm keeping my head held high for all the curators out there that really believe in it. and also actively looking for all of them so i can follow them all and be able to more actively interact with them all. But give my apologies to your friend, she doesn't deserve that! no one​ does!

People are people. I do not welcome rudeness either. I try to ignore folks like that. Perhaps some of them had a bad day or are in pain. But no I do not appreciate it either. Thanks Silvia.

We need more people like you Silvia, who have manners and didn't name this rude person

Fortunately many steemians are like me, but I appreciated you noticed I didn't name that person. Thanks for stopping by ^_^

That is very bad behavior and those people are in everywhere. We should not let them behave what ever they like.

They have to understand the respect and other people should protest their bad habit strongly.

Protect your community

You wrote the right word: respect. Here and out of here some people seems to forget it and it's really a sad things. We can say many different things with respect, rude sentences not always (almost never) are the best way in life.

I think when some people make reputation, they think they are great and they can do whatever they want. If other people remind how rude that person then the person could wake up and understand her/his rudeness.

Maybe if there is a chance, this will make a change of his/her behavior.
I would like to say thank you for your point and reminding this to other people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69125.27
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61