Some tips for newbies and my approach on steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I think it's time to repeat some tips for newbies (but not just for newbies, it's always a good things to think about it even if we are not so new here) , the same tips that I published here some months ago, but they are always actual.

I can start saying that it's really wonderful to meet new people here, to read interesting contents, to have someone who read your contents and other nice things about to stay in this cozy community, but everyone knows that we all started to post on Steemit because we can earn something too. So, even if you are a very good person with good intention and the right spirit, maybe it's useful to reapeat the advices and the good practices ^_^ 

Everyone knows how important is to engage the community to increase your (real and active) followers, but sometimes I see there are some people who have a wrong approach (people who think to earn more money doing nothing and, sometimes,  annoying other steemians with some rude approaches) so these are my advices:

1) only original contents! Yes, Steemit is a cozy community and people will appreciate your original content (even if the text is short and the pics are just good but not excellent) more than a copy/past from other sources. Remember: everything you wrote on the blockchain remain in the blockchain forever, so if you copy/past your contents, don't worry, sooner or later the community knows it and this community don't appreciate copycats or plagiarists.

2) When you start to blog, it's always a good idea to introduce yourself.  Your first post have to be an "introduce my self post". Write something about you honestly, really honestly,  people will appreciate and welcome you. In your "introduce my self" add a pic of you with a sheet where people can read your Steemit's name and the date (this is the way we have to fight the fake accounts, other steemians will appreciate) and add the tag "introduceyourself". Pay attention: write 1 introduction post is good, 4 introdution posts with the tag "introduceyouself" is bad, because it's an abuse of the tag!

3) Link the source! If you need to use some images or some words from the net, you can just if your wrote also some of your thoughts about them and  if you add the link to the source!  Pay attention: write just "I like this pic, please upvote" is not enough.

4) I know, there are some people here that earn much money for every post, but they are just few, believe me. The most part of steemians don't earn 500 $ for post, but we are happy also to earn 5 $, because are 5$ more than how much we can earn on other place just to write contents. So, don't be grouchy and think positive! Write about your interest, your passions, your skills and have fun! 

5) Stay connected with people! Read the contents written by other authors and, if you like what you're reading, use the comments to engage a conversation with the author! Don't copy/past randomly the same comment for all contents that people published,  don't comment using just the link to your post, don't comment just asking to upvote/follow you, it may be considered spamming and Steemians don't appreciate spammers (Pay attention: if you are a spammer, maybe you'll be flagged!)

Why spamming is not a good strategy:    

I'm here from January, now I have more than 1000 followers (in time, you will understand that the number of your follower is not important, the important is to have active and real followers). I have to say that I'm satisfied about the payouts of my posts. I've never asked someone to upvote/follow me. I just published my original contents sharing my interests and my passions, I just read and comments the contents of other steemians in a gentle, nice way. I met some awesome people and I love to read something written by them. I just had patience. I've always chose who to follow and who to upvote, without spamming others.  

Remember: everyone here is totally free to choose who follow and who upvote and if you spam me using the same (copy-cut) words as "plz, follow me" or "plz, upvote my post", sorry, I say no and I explain why:  

- after the last hardfork we have a "determinated" voting power in the 24h, so I can't upvote randomly everything and everyone all the day. Example: if I upvote using the 100% of my power, I can give some steem just to 10 post in the day, can I upvote randomly? Sure not. I have (and I want) to upvote just what I like, sorry.  I follow many nice authors here and every day I discover other nice authors to follow so I use my voting power trying to be generous as much as possible, but I can't upvote everyone who ask me to do it, as you can understand.

- I really want that this community remain a nice and cozy community where I can read quality contents, see nice photos, know a bit about people who live in different countries. I don't want to see more trash contents, copycats or too many spammers here and I think the better strategy to contrast these, is to encourage just steemians who have a correct and honest approach.

I invite you to read some reports of @steemcleaners (thanks to @steemcleaners for all the work against plagiarists and copycats) and pay attention when you upvote a content ;)

How can we discourage the spammers? Ignore them? Flag them? I decided to "talk" to them writing this content. I'll reply the link of this content every time someone spam me, maybe it helps.  ^_^

See ya soon

Silvia
 
 


silvia beneforti

Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up! I've been here for around 20 days and I just focus on being myself, yes money is good; we can deny that but the more you want it the less you have it so it's better to have a good time and think of money as something extra for your effort.

Your thought is the right thought: it's better to tink of money as something extra, so every payouts it will be a great payout ^_^

Thanks for this. I joined steemit today itself :)

You're welcome ^_^

Hi.................@silviabeneforti
Valuable post.
Thanks for sharing.
Followed.
Cheers!

I engage everybody and I accept that some people in all communities will not practice reciprocity and are relentlessly self centered or immature and not in touch with their originality and creative spirit. Business is business as usual and it's wonderful when people can marry a creative spirit and the business of making money. I'm brutally honest and in these cyber arenas I am more watched and observed than engaged by others. Thanks for the tips.

Yu're welcome and thanks for stopping by ^_^ Sometimes, in the cyber arenas, to watch and observe is the better approach that we can have. I love to engage conversations with cozy and interesting people, but for the most of the time I love watch and observe too ;)

Yes that is apparent and very smart behavior and business practice. Stay focused and much success with your work.

How true are all these points Silvia...! ;-)
okay.png Have a wonderful week-end ^_^

Thanks so much, @barbara-orenya ! Have a nice weekend ^_^

Thank you for the tips Silvia! :) This is the example of quality content that I like to read, vote and resteem! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81