How my wallet looks after one week participating in the steemit community.

in #steemit7 years ago

One Week In And My First 'Paycheck' has cleared

One week since my first post and I couldn't be more pleased. The steemit community has surpassed my expectations and has been very warm and welcoming. The members here have been very accomodating and always happy to answer a question or two. The content has been engaging, interesting and well written.

There is something refreshing about the posts on steemit. Somehow there are whispers in the text, sounds that resonate through the words on the page, the sound of the authors voice. I get a very organic feel to the posts here. Set free from the shackles of censorship or conformity, people everywhere are finding their individual voice and choosing to shout out on the steemit community.


I didn't' get into steemit to make millions of dollars, although the getting paid to post was a great incentive! This advantage definitely peaked my interest and I decided to join, and one week on from my first post and I got paid. I know I was lucky to get a few of the right kind of upvotes and managed to make a few dollars on the post. I also received some curation rewards and a prize from a competition. This was exciting to watch as it was the first few transactions my account has seen and the first time I have had steem, steem power and steem dollars in my wallet. It was one of my first, little, personal milestones on steemit.

I recieved 3.1 Steem dollars and 2.59 Steem Power for my first post, which I think had about a $8 estimated value at the time. My first curation and comment was worth another .65 steem dollars and a little steem power.

You can also have a lot of fun if you get involved in the community. I also entered a competition run by @looftee who is definitely worth following. This competition involved writing about What Steemit Meant To You apart from earning money. This was fun to write about and I am happy to say that I managed to win it with my entry here 

https://steemit.com/win10sbd/@silvernova/what-steemit-is-to-me Feel free to have a read.

The reward for this competition was 10 Steem Dollars and that also happened to go into my account tonight. 

So all in all, my first week has been great, I have enjoyed posting some content I find interesting for other people to (hopefully) enjoy reading. I have curated some interesting posts, enjoyed diverse opinions and making a nice little bit of cryptocurrency on the side. It was a highlight in my steemit week to see my account balance gain some ground especially with the future potential this platform still has left to fulfil.


Sort:  

Your excitment is very encouraging for another newbie like me. Great work. You write very well and i have enjoyed your articles. Good for you!!

congrats bro you write very very well. Keep it up

It's an awesome feeling, right? To feel that the author was totally involved with the post:)
Congratulations for your rewards!:) Keep steeming:)

Congrats on making it this far, the earnings, and winning to contest. All good things my friend. Feels good to be the drivers of this new(ish) platform. Keep it up!

Congrats, I'm glad to hear that you are having a great time on the platform so far. It's all about creating good content and engaging with other people... the money works itself out if you are able to be valuable to the community.

"Somehow there are whispers in the text, sounds that resonate through the words on the page, the sound of the authors voice."

VERY TRUE!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95